PDA

View Full Version : Computer Help


RoxStar
08-03-2005, 11:11 AM
Hey, I'm back from vacation, but before I post all my vacation pictures, I have a problem. I recently installed Windows XP Professional on my computer, and I selected the Full instal (not upgrade)l option when I did. I thought that this would remove my previous operating system, Windows 2000, but it did not. So somehow, Windows 2000 and XP Professional both boot from the same partition. Is there any way for me to uninstall windows 2000 without having to reinstall XP?

Sabretooth
08-03-2005, 11:21 AM
There might be an 'Uninstall Windows 2000' option in the Add/Remove list. If not, you're in deep dino doodoo.

RevanA4
08-03-2005, 11:51 AM
Hey, I'm back from vacation, but before I post all my vacation pictures, I have a problem. I recently installed Windows XP Professional on my computer, and I selected the Full install (not upgrade)l option when I did. I thought that this would remove my previous operating system, Windows 2000, but it did not. So somehow, Windows 2000 and XP Professional both boot from the same partition. Is there any way for me to uninstall windows 2000 without having to reinstall XP?

no there isn't a way to uninstall 2000

the only way to do it is to do a clean install of XP wiping your HD completely

I have only seen this a couple of time but there is no other way

the only altenative is to get a new harddrive install xp on that one and grab all the data off of your current harddrive other wise most software will get confused and not work if you leave it the way it is

manoman81
08-03-2005, 02:08 PM
Huh....Anytime I installed XP Pro, it always wiped the hard drive before installing.... Check out www.tweakxp.com (http://www.tweakxp.com) and see if they have an answer.

RevanA4
08-03-2005, 02:13 PM
Huh....Anytime I installed XP Pro, it always wiped the hard drive before installing.... Check out www.tweakxp.com (http://www.tweakxp.com) and see if they have an answer.


um There is no solution to his problem other than what I already stated I've seen this problem many time and there is no real fix for it but what I just stated

-jedigoku pc specialist