PDA

View Full Version : Making a Helmet a head


Doc Valentine
08-12-2005, 12:35 AM
This question is more for Prime since he did it with the stormtroopers making the sith trooper head a storm trooper helmet. I need to do the same in my mod because when more than one of my soldiers wear their helmets the helmets end up disappearing. But with the head thing it works. So if you can give me a step by step tutorial on that or something of the like. I tried to use his STHA04 mdl as a base and just delete the storm trooper helmet and import my own but the head wasnt there, my soldier had no head! :p. Any help would be hot thanks.

-GSCCC

Darkkender
08-12-2005, 02:25 AM
I would also like to get this information.

mattcrowston
08-12-2005, 05:03 AM
What about a head into a helmet. If there is any tutorial around that would help me do that I would really like to know where it is. Or any tips. That would be great. Thanks


MattC

Prime
08-12-2005, 12:20 PM
I wish I could be more help, but that part of the mod was done by bneezy back in the day. So I'm not sure about all the steps he used, sorry. I never really inquired too much about it at the time since I was busy doing the other parts of the mod. I believe he basically imported the helmet into whatever modeling software he used and just added a neck. This was then exported and added as a new head to heads.2da. Note that the head won't have any animations...

I wish I could be more useful for you guys. :(

T7nowhere
08-12-2005, 02:18 PM
Creating a mask as a head is a fairly simple matter, basically all you do is remove what you will not need from an original head and link your mask to the aurora base and compile with mdlops(this will ofcourse kill any head animations). It really is a 5-10 minute job :)

But what I'm more curious about is why you can't equip the mask on multiple npc's, perhaps the npc's that your trying to equip the masks on do not have mask hooks on the head model. This is assuming you are using multiple appearances and not just one appearance that you're euiping the mask on.

Doc Valentine
08-12-2005, 02:32 PM
Creating a mask as a head is a fairly simple matter, basically all you do is remove what you will not need from an original head and link your mask to the aurora base and compile with mdlops(this will ofcourse kill any head animations). It really is a 5-10 minute job :)

But what I'm more curious about is why you can't equip the mask on multiple npc's, perhaps the npc's that your trying to equip the masks on do not have mask hooks on the head model. This is assuming you are using multiple appearances and not just one appearance that you're euiping the mask on.

About the inablility for Npc's to epuip masks, If one of them does it it is fine (and this is something i had trouble with when I was making multiple storm troopers) but when a few of them do, it dissapears, some times no, but when you are coming from another module it happens. The npc's have a new appearance I have given them, their heads are that of one of the PC characters so they can wear helmets, but for some reason eventually, they just stop wearing them. If anyone knows what might be causing this, please tell me as it would do me much good to know.

Edit:BTW they all have the same appearance, I would hate to have to make a new appearance for 25 soldiers.

-GSCCC

ChAiNz.2da
08-12-2005, 02:39 PM
could it possibly be a "conflict" with normalhead and backuphead (do they have a backuphead entry?) :giveup:
Seriously, I have no clue, but it might be an option worth exploring :)

Doc Valentine
08-12-2005, 09:34 PM
Creating a mask as a head is a fairly simple matter, basically all you do is remove what you will not need from an original head and link your mask to the aurora base and compile with mdlops(this will ofcourse kill any head animations). It really is a 5-10 minute job :)

But what I'm more curious about is why you can't equip the mask on multiple npc's, perhaps the npc's that your trying to equip the masks on do not have mask hooks on the head model. This is assuming you are using multiple appearances and not just one appearance that you're euiping the mask on.

I tried what you said and I linked the helmet to the neck like bneezy did, and in the end they appear headless, when i re extract it with mdlops and open it in 3ds Max, jsut the neck is there, the only thing bneezy had different was part of his helmet was named head_face and the other head. Do I need to do this too?