PDA

View Full Version : how to un-cache saved info?


cry_of_paine
08-15-2005, 12:33 AM
Ok, I got a little ambitious after seeing how well my first mod worked, so I tried to do a recruitment mod for KOTOR II. I wanted to try and recruit Luxa. Unfortunately nothing I tried seemed to work, until I made fighting her an either/or situation, rather than the talk-fight-talk situation I've seen so many others use. I managed to recruit her, but then I wasn't able to continue on with the Czerxa quests.

So now I'm trying to go back to a previous save, fight her the normal way, and see what the differences are in the globals. I assumed that removing all the modded files would force the game to use the default ones. Nope. Instead, when there wasn't anything in the override dir, she wouldn't appear at all.

So then, I just straight saved the original into that folder, without making any changes. She still acted like the modded version.

The problem is that it doesn't matter what I do, it still acts as if it's got my mod in there, even though I've totally removed all those files. It's as if that information is cached somewhere in the save files, but I don't have a clue where. I'm even using a save from before I entered that area, and it still doesn't work.

Is there any kind of cleaning utility for save files that removes all cached info, and forces the game to rebuild all of that? Or does someone know why it's behaving this way? I'd rather not have to redo the entire level.

stoffe
08-15-2005, 05:16 AM
The problem is that it doesn't matter what I do, it still acts as if it's got my mod in there, even though I've totally removed all those files. It's as if that information is cached somewhere in the save files, but I don't have a clue where. I'm even using a save from before I entered that area, and it still doesn't work.


The modules you have visited (and all dynamic objects within them) are saved in the savegame file, and are only cleaned out as indicated by the modulesave.2da file.

If you open the SAVEGAME.sav file with an ERF editor you will see that it contains one .sav file for each module that has been visited (but not yet pruned).

Each of those contains the ARE and GIT file for the area containing the state of the area (and contained objects) in your save, and the module.ifo file for that module. You can edit those files just like you could edit the module/area blueprint files when creating a new area. The GIT file is the one containing object instances for all dynamic objects (creatures, placeables etc...) existing in the area.

cry_of_paine
08-16-2005, 01:50 AM
:3pdance::clap2::rock::worship::yoda3:

Yay! You're a lifesaver (or at least, a several-hours-saver). Not only did that fix my problem, but I'll bet that's why no matter what I did I couldn't get the script to fire in the first place. And, as an added bonus, I got an excuse to use a whole bunch of smileys. ;)

I'll test out my theory tomorrow about whether or not it's because her uti was cached that the mod didn't work originally, but based on the behavior, I'm sure that's why. If not, expect a new post within a day or two.

Thanks!