PDA

View Full Version : Glitches?


Zetz Darke
08-17-2005, 08:41 AM
Uhhh...was it just the copy I rented from Blockbuster or has anyone else had trouble with odd glitches in this game?

Problems I've had.

* It freezes if I accidentally jump on one of the villains in the Meat Circus.

* I have had problems with characters getting stuck IN objects...or...uhhh...I guess it's the other way around when using TK. (Once when Crullers teaching him how, I accidentally stuck a trash can inside Ford, and durring the bull fight, Raz somehow ended up with one of the pens stuck in him...but...apparently didn't notice it.)

* In the clip right after Raz frees Lili All of the voices got knocked off by a few seconds. (The characters mouths weren't moving to the dialogue.

* In the last video all of the characters voices were full of static and were very hard to make out. (I had to move closer towards the TV to hear what they were saying.)

MrManager
08-17-2005, 10:50 AM
Is that a PS2 copy? I didn't experience any of that with the Xbox version.

Thrik
08-17-2005, 10:55 AM
Nor me with the PC. :~

Zetz Darke
08-17-2005, 10:56 AM
yea it was the Ps2 copy. Some of it might have just been the fact that it was a blockbuster rental. (I have a lot of trouble with blockbuster rentals.)

SailingToNorway
08-17-2005, 11:18 AM
I got stuck in those thorn plants in the Brain Tumbler experiment. Y'know, the ones that hiss and move push you back out...well, it didn't.
When I tried walking up the stairs to the second elevator that brings you to Laboto's lab, Raz just completely froze in the middle of it.

Yes, my copy is also for ps2

Zetz Darke
08-17-2005, 11:46 AM
Sigh...I really need o get a better comp so i can get the PC version of this game.

Rubacava
08-17-2005, 01:00 PM
I also had the 1st and 3rd problems you posted there with my PS2 version. Oh well...

MrManager
08-17-2005, 01:43 PM
Sounds like the Xbox or the PC version is the way to go then. ;

Joshi
08-17-2005, 02:15 PM
I once got stuck on the PC version. probably just my stupidity, but in trying to get a psi-card on my way up the asylum, I sort of had to jump across a huge cavern and float the rest of the way. Only problem was, once I got to the other side, I just sort of hung there, let go of float, but the floating ball was still there and I couldn't move, it wsa like i was stuck on something, had to quit and start again from a save. Needless to say, it didn't happen again (and I got the psi-card) but it was weird.

Zetz Darke
08-17-2005, 02:48 PM
Unfortunately i'm gonna have to stick to the Ps2 version...unless I want to wait a year or two to even own the game.

Smon
08-17-2005, 05:24 PM
BudCat screwed up big time, good thing DF did it right! If only they were the ones to port it.

torgothewhite
08-18-2005, 11:21 PM
I have the PS2 version and I just beat the game with minimal glitches. I found it to be a great game. I'm willing to overlook a few minor glitches for the chance to play it. I would never be able to afford an Xbox or better PC on my current income, and graphics don't really mean that much to me.

Zetz Darke
08-19-2005, 06:29 PM
I have the PS2 version and I just beat the game with minimal glitches. I found it to be a great game. I'm willing to overlook a few minor glitches for the chance to play it. I would never be able to afford an Xbox or better PC on my current income, and graphics don't really mean that much to me.

Yea...I'm not complaining too much...Psychonauts is excellent with the autosave so that starting over isn't that big of a deal anyway. I just thought the glitches were...odd. And the static in the last video did really bum me out.

AgentArcana
08-21-2005, 10:17 PM
My PS2 version was full of Glitches. The lipsinc was off in several cinematics, the game froze in several spots. (Including one spot in the meat circus that took me several hours to get to. GRRR) and in the reception area raz got stuck behind a bush.

Zetz Darke
08-21-2005, 11:35 PM
My PS2 version was full of Glitches. The lipsinc was off in several cinematics, the game froze in several spots. (Including one spot in the meat circus that took me several hours to get to. GRRR) and in the reception area raz got stuck behind a bush.

Lol...stupid bushes.
Yea...my game froze in the Meat circus right after I FINALLY got through that first part with little Olly. I had to do it again...I wasn't happy.
I never got stuck in any bushes, but a bull pin did stick in Raz...and I accidentally stuck a trashcan in Ford Cruller.

AgentArcana
08-22-2005, 04:32 PM
Lol I almost forgot. in Black velvetopia everytime I used confusion but got hit by the bull i found that raz was unable to move until the bull woke up and hit him again.

sherid999
08-24-2005, 12:01 AM
(spoilers) I play on XBOX and have noticed a few glitches such as you describe--getting stuck in places in the game and having a hard time getting unstuck. The major glitch I found in my game was on my second runthrough--somehow, when I had started sasha's shooting gallery, the game got stuck where I couldn't boost the level of censors produced. I tried every trick in the book to unlock the machine that allows you to boost up the censor level (to 6+) (punching the machine and Sasha in frustration, was fun, btw). Anyway, I went about psi blasting the censors with total boredom on level one until the game gave me a message that I had killed all the censors possible at this level and told me to boost the level; at this point, the censor cranker stopped producing new censors. When I tried to talk to Sasha, he just told me to stop fooling around and go "blast him" (there was nobody to blast! This is where I got mad and punched Sasha a few times). This was frustrating. I stopped, went out and came back in, with no different results. This glitch was weird--the only way I could resolve it was to start the game over entirely. I'm not sure what I did that produced the glitch, but on my third runthrough, it went as expected. The only thing I figured I might have done to cause it was maybe getting further along in rank (by collecting psi cards, arrowheads, etc.) than I was supposed to be at this level of the game.

Smon
08-24-2005, 02:58 AM
Hm.. well this is DF's first game... a few glitches are to be expected! Still an Xbox glitch.. did not expect that... *head kerplodes*

Prosky
08-24-2005, 12:22 PM
you people do realize that every game has glitches, right? And budcat did the best they could to port a game that was developed for the Xbox, to the PS2. I really think your expectations may have been a bit too high.

Smon
08-24-2005, 02:03 PM
Yeah, yeah, at least it wasn't anything major.

Murray the Chao
08-24-2005, 05:42 PM
In the cutscene "Psychonaut Showndown" the wrong talking pict for agent Cruller is used.

Thrik
08-24-2005, 05:47 PM
Which one is used? I don't normally have those on.

Zetz Darke
08-24-2005, 09:37 PM
I was just curious if anyone else had them. I don't believe I was expecting anything in particular of this game. I thought it would be good, it was great. The glitches I can live with.

Smon
08-24-2005, 10:17 PM
Yea...this game has a few... issues... but it is fun!

p.s. I posted this from a PSP!!!

Murray the Chao
08-25-2005, 03:58 PM
Which one is used? I don't normally have those on.


It used fordjanitor_sayline when it SHOULD have used fordninja_sayline.

meheeners
09-05-2005, 02:09 AM
This was intentional, but still fun. In games where you can move the camera around freely, I always try to get camera glitches. In the ps2 version I managed to get a pantsless Raz by standing under the ramp thing near the main lodge and tilting the camera up and in circles. I laughed myself silly afterwards.

Smon
09-05-2005, 03:04 PM
This was intentional, but still fun. In games where you can move the camera around freely, I always try to get camera glitches. In the ps2 version I managed to get a pantsless Raz by standing under the ramp thing near the main lodge and tilting the camera up and in circles. I laughed myself silly afterwards.
O.o ok....