PDA

View Full Version : i could really use some help ...


411
08-24-2005, 12:44 AM
well you see i love mods and skins even more but after a while i started to want to make my own and so i looked through the tutorials DLed all the things and messed around, thing is i have no clue what files have the models what bifs and gifs and whatevers are so u think u could spend a day trying to help me learn how to skin?

PS: talking about KOTOR 2

Lando Griffin
08-24-2005, 02:57 AM
Well what kind of paint program do u have? If you have gimp I can help you there.

Achilles
08-24-2005, 03:12 AM
The good news is that you can learn and that this modding community is always willing to help. The bad news is that learning to skin and/or model takes a significant investment of time, effort, and patience. Your best bet is to take some time, read the existing materials, use Google to find web resources that will help you expand your understanding, and use this community for questions that you cannot find the answers for.

411
08-24-2005, 04:29 AM
yea i got gimp

411
08-24-2005, 04:30 AM
and achilles if its time i need i got plenty of it cause im on vacation in canada yet i still play KOTOR (how sad :p)

Darth333
08-24-2005, 09:54 AM
thing is i have no clue what files have the models what bifs and gifs and whatevers are so u think u could spend a day trying to help me learn how to skin?

Did you donwloaded the tools? Just open Kotor tool and you'll see where the BIFs are ;) I stongly suggest that you start exploring the files a little bit with Kotor tool. To get the tools you need, check this thread: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143421

Always follow a tutorial with the tools in hand otherwise you won't understand anything. If after doing this, you still don't understand something, just post your questions but try to be specific and we'll be happy to help.

You have nice tutorials that tell you how to extract textures in order to make skins here:
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=144809
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=150469

Lando Griffin
08-24-2005, 02:01 PM
Do you know how to extract the .tgas to a file. When you open gimp you should go to my documents and one of the files in there. So just make a new folder into the your documents, and choose one of the .tga. so put your reskins to the new folder in your documents , by when u use the kotor tool it will have the screen with all the names like PMH13, or N_Mandalorian03.tga. When you double click them another screen will come up, at the bottom of the secound screen it will say write file, save it buy using the write file into your Reskin folder, or whatever you want to call the folder thats in your documents.

Darth InSidious
08-24-2005, 02:17 PM
semi-OT, Lando, how do you get a colour swatches menu to come up in gimp?

411
08-24-2005, 03:31 PM
ok well i got paintshopre and messed around alot and used the turorials so i edited my first robe now how do i return the file?
what i did was extracted the robe to paintshop pro edited but now how do i return it the file before it?
btw i saved it as tga on my desktop

Achilles
08-24-2005, 03:34 PM
Just make sure that you save it as a 32-bit .tga file. Rename the file to match the texture that you are replacing and drop it in your Override folder.

Lando Griffin
08-24-2005, 03:41 PM
Do you mean to put it in the override, or back in the folder, its allready going to be in your folder the same way you got it. Because you saved it on your desktop, to put it in the game just put it into the Override, if you dont have one go to program files-LucasArts-Swkotor2-oVerride. Then find out which robe u skinned. Or you can use the kse to get all the robes and wear each one to see which one is yours.

Lando Griffin
08-24-2005, 03:44 PM
Darth Insidioius, If you mean how to change color then just click on the color box, its above paintbrush optioins, well theres two boxes, one is the color ur using and the other is a secoundary color its mostly white.

Darth InSidious
08-24-2005, 03:44 PM
Ohh. okay, thanks!