PDA

View Full Version : Where is the Mandalore without helmet tga?


Lando Griffin
08-30-2005, 02:28 AM
I looked all around the kt and i cant find the Mandalore without helmet. Can someone help me out?

Commas
08-30-2005, 02:38 AM
helmetless mandalore and regular mandalore use the same texture file: P_MandB ;)

at least for the armor, mandalore's head uses a different textureP_CandH03

although with a little 2da editing you can make him use any head you want

Lando Griffin
08-30-2005, 02:49 AM
I want to use his armor and replace the head with the Latino head, then reskin his armor, how do i get rid of the helmet?

Commas
08-30-2005, 03:37 AM
to replace the head go into appearance.2da and change the value in "normalhead" to the number for whatever head you want to use (the numbers for the heads is found in heads.2da, its the line number) and then make and item (like armband, belt, armor) that has the disguise property and disguise yourself as Mandalore_No_Helmet (at least i think thats what it says, either way its pretty close to that) or if you are using K-GFF you'll need the line number for helmetless mandalore from appearance.2da

you can also make the armor wearable (like normal armor) by replacing, say the dancer outfit or reven's robe models with the helmetless mandalore model. then just make an armor that uses whatever you replaced (i.e. dancer outfit) as the baseitem.

i'm sure i'm leaving something out, cause i'm kinda sleepy right now, but i hope that helps

Lando Griffin
08-30-2005, 03:48 AM
Which column in the appearance.2da is the dancers outfit, And how will i put it on a dude if the armor is for the dancer outfit, which only goes on the women.

Commas
08-30-2005, 04:05 AM
well, the gender restrictions are in the uti, not the model, so it doesnt really matter. but if you want to use a model thats not already used by the game, i reccomend the Starforge robe slot just put "P_MandaloreBD" in the "modelj" column and make your items baseitem "Revan Armor" give it whatever stats you want and then use the giveitem to get it ingame and see if it worked.

Lando Griffin
08-30-2005, 04:14 AM
Im tryin to make this compatible with the Holowan Plugin like the rest of my mando mods, so ill go for the dancers outfit. Goin to try it right now

Lando Griffin
08-30-2005, 04:30 AM
okay i put the P_MandaloreBD in the modelj slot, but next to that slot is the texj. I have no clue what to put there.

Commas
08-30-2005, 05:29 AM
try "****" (no quotes) and hopefully that will work

and by the way modelj and texj are the columns for the starforge robes, if you want to use the dancer outfit, i think its modelL and texL. the armored flight suit is also a good model to replace.

can someone else verify that i'm explaining this right? i keep feeling like im forgetting something.

in the meantime here is a link to stoffe's appearance.2da walkthrough (i found it in the 2da tutorial forum at the top of the main holowan forum.) http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=148638

Lando Griffin
08-30-2005, 05:49 AM
thanks dude, ill try it , its hard to work on 2 mods at the same time.

Lando Griffin
08-30-2005, 05:02 PM
Alright I made the dancers outfit the mandalore armor but how do i reskin the mandalore armor, I know how to normaly reskin it but do i paint the helmet, or do i just paint everything?

Mono_Giganto
08-30-2005, 05:16 PM
can someone else verify that i'm explaining this right? i keep feeling like im forgetting something.


You're the best guy for this explanation. How many times have you done this exact thing in the last month or so? ;) Looks right to me.

Jackel
08-30-2005, 05:39 PM
Alright I made the dancers outfit the mandalore armor but how do i reskin the mandalore armor, I know how to normaly reskin it but do i paint the helmet, or do i just paint everything?
Should just be able to paint the whole thing and have it change how you want it to change. Ie if you want the body red with green stripes paint the body with red and green stripes :D

As you are changing the head/helmet you wont likely need to paint that to your new design, but heres a quick idea for you you may like: make a new mask that uses the full helmeted Mandalore model as a disguise and that way when you put on your new mask you can look like Mandalore.

Lando Griffin
08-30-2005, 05:46 PM
I already made 6 skins of Mandalore, But for the head and helmet, you mean use the disguise for the a_helmet_04 or somethin to make him look like Mandalore, thats what im doing,or are you talking about makin a new Mandalore helmet, which i cant model, and i think that would look really wierd

Lando Griffin
08-30-2005, 05:52 PM
what would i call the Skins, like would i call them P_MandaloreBD01.tga P_MandaloreBD02.tga for them to work i mean.

Lando Griffin
08-31-2005, 12:29 AM
What do I do to the baseitems to make it replace the dancers outfit, instead of it saying dancers outfit, it would say Mandalorian Alpha Armor? and what do i call the tga, like for the heavy armor its like PMBH09, what do i put for the Dancers outfit so i make more armor?

Lando Griffin
09-01-2005, 01:57 AM
anyone? please help.

Commas
09-01-2005, 07:48 PM
sorry, i've been kinda busy lately

and now i'm going to try to explain how to make Helmetless Mandalore's armor a wearable armor.

Now, since i want to try to explain this in a way that won't have to add a new baseitem we'll do it by replacing an existing model in appearance.2da and for the purpose of this tutorial i'm going to suggest using the slot for starforge robes, since they are not found anywhere in the game.

First in appearance.2da find the line for Helmetless Mandalore (Line 639) scroll over and you'll see that in all the modelx columns (modela, modelb, modelc etc.) he has P_MandaloreBD. This is the name for the helmetless mandalore model, which is basically mandalore, with no head.

the "modelx" (where x is a letter a-n) columns determine what body model is used when characters equip different types of clothing. similarly the "texX" (again x is a letter a-n) states which textures should be used when the model of the same letter is used. more information on this can be found in stoffe's appearance.2da walkthrough (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=148638) Popular columns to use when replacing models are: Starforge Robes: modelj/texj Armored Flight Suit: modelk/texk Dancer's Outfit: modell/texl Zesion Sha Armor: modelm/texm

Now the next thing you'll need to do is find the listings for your party members (These are all the entries in appearance.2da that start with "Party_NPC" so for example "Party_NPC_Atton") and find the column marked "modelj" this is the column for the starforge robes. for all of your party members change the value in this column to P_MandaloreBD (remember, this was the name of the helmetless mandalore model which we found earlier)

If you are going to make mulitple armors that will all use the helmetless mandalore model but all use different textures you will need to put something in the "texj" column as well. you can make this pretty much anything, but to make this easy we will make it "MandArm" don't forget what you used, cause we will be coming back to it later.

the next step is to do the same thing for all the PC's this can prove to be a tedious process, as the Player Characters are all the enties in appearance.2da that start with P_MAL_ for the males or P_FEM_ for the females. now that you've found them, do the same thing you did for the party memebers and replace the value in column "modelj" with "P_MandaloreBD" and "MandArm" in the "texj" column

this is all the 2da editing you'll be doing, so you can breathe a sigh of relief

now its time to make the uti files.

T7 has already written a tutorial explain the process of making custom armors which can be found here (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143176) that will explain the main fields in KotorTool for editing uti's. This tutorial will explain how to give the armor custom stats

The important things to remember when making your uti's are:

We did not make a new baseitem, we used an existing one. the baseitem you use depends on the column where you put the new model in appearance.2da. in this tutorial i used column "modelj" which you can see in the tutorial by stoffe i posted earlier that that colomn is for the starforge robes baseitem. so this is what you must reference when making your uti. Underbase items change the value to "Revan_Robes" DO NOT USE A CUSTOM BASEITEM, IT WILL CRASH THE GAME even tho you are using the revan robe baseitem, since you replaced that model for all characters who could possible equip it with the helmetless mandalore model, that is what they'll use.

The second important feild is the texture variation. for every armor you make that is using the helmetless mandalore model they must each have a different texture variation. this becomes especially important in the next step: making your textures.

The texture for mandalore is "P_MandB" its the same file for regular mandalore and helmetless mandalore. if you are using helmetless mandalore you dont have to bother texturing the helmet, since it wont show up anyway. you can make youre custom textures using a program like Photoshop or GIMP. save them as a tga, 32 bit. Here is the important bit: Naming the tga file. do you remember that value we put in appearance.2da under the "texj" column? it was "MandArm". do you remember the numbers you put in the Texture Variatoin feild when making your uti's? because now you will combine the two. Name your textures MandArm01, MandArm02, MandArm03, etc. The number at the end of the file name should correspond to the Texture Variations you used in the uti's.

and hopefully when you equip your new item in the game it should look like Mandalore's.

Lando Griffin
09-01-2005, 10:43 PM
Problem. OK i did everything u said and it crashed when i selected the item, the tga is called MandArm02.tga The item is called g_danceroutfit_2, Im guessin its the item, what did i do wrong?

Lando Griffin
09-02-2005, 03:48 AM
ok i fixed the problem ,i didnt put the P_MandaloreBD and the MandArm for the hispanic dude #2, but now the armor comes out like this black/shiny/ chrome armor, on both helmet less armor and full body suit. I borrowed a txi from the chrome vader helmet fix, primes clones, named i P_MandArm02.txi and they all didnt work. what do i do?

Commas
09-02-2005, 04:18 AM
hmm, did you make sure the texture variation in the uti file and the number in the texture name add up?

can any other modders please verify if what i wrote up there is acurate?

Lando Griffin
09-02-2005, 04:25 AM
the item is like this
Template ResRef-g_danceroutfit02
Tag-g_danceroutfit02
baseitem-slave outfit
texture variation-2
Name- Delta #1 Armor
i didint make a icon yet because i didnt thought i needed to.

ChAiNz.2da
09-02-2005, 05:37 AM
the item is like this
Template ResRef-g_danceroutfit02
Tag-g_danceroutfit02
baseitem-slave outfit
texture variation-2
Name- Delta #1 Armor
i didint make a icon yet because i didnt thought i needed to.
Change the baseitem value to "Revan_Robes" instead of "slave outfit" ;)

Lando Griffin
09-02-2005, 05:39 AM
im using the slave outfit not the revans robe, or is that why the tga doesnt appear right?

ChAiNz.2da
09-02-2005, 05:43 AM
If it's a male PC, it doesn't use the "slave outfit" baseitems(.2da) column, column J is default "Revan_Robe" baseitem value for males...

Lando Griffin
09-02-2005, 05:45 AM
oooooo, is that why the tga becomes black and shiny?

ChAiNz.2da
09-02-2005, 05:55 AM
oooooo, is that why the tga becomes black and shiny?
Which .tga? I R confused :xp: hehehe...

You mean the armor's .tga itself? If so, check your alpha levels... they may be set too high. Mandalore's Armor has a shader within the model itself so it's naturally shiny... any tweaking of the alpha channel will adjust it accordingly (dull or shinier)...

Also, is the armor itself black (your armor skin)?

Lando Griffin
09-02-2005, 05:59 AM
both of them are shiny black like the vader helmet mod(without the fix) and how do i edite the alpha channels, i use gimp, I didnt use soft light on soft light,(which usually causes this) can u help me?

Lando Griffin
09-02-2005, 06:01 AM
When i used this skins for the Party_Mandalore they came out perfectly. I checked the alpha and it said everything is above 70%.

locoguano
07-04-2006, 07:51 PM
Would it be possible to mod Mandalore's armor so that his helmet can be on OR off? From what i've read it seems you have to set one or the other...

Princess Artemis
07-04-2006, 09:47 PM
Would it be possible to mod Mandalore's armor so that his helmet can be on OR off? From what i've read it seems you have to set one or the other...

The way I've done that is through a dialogue. I made two scripts, this one takes his helmet off (and incidentally unlocks his armor, although he'll always appear to wear the same armor unless you change appearance.2da...
void main() {
object oMand = GetObjectByTag("Mand");
ChangeObjectAppearance(oMand, 639);
}

This script puts the helmet back on...
void main() {
object oMand = GetObjectByTag("Mand");
ChangeObjectAppearance(oMand, 462);
}

I attached the scripts to dialogue choices, so he could wear it or not, change it whenever he was in the party.

The ChangeObjectAppearance is just shifting which appearance.2da row he uses; 639 is the helmetless row and 462 is the normal row.

There's no need to modify his armor to get the helmet off. If someone else wears Mandalore's armor, it shows up as shiny blue helmetless armor, very similar to the other Mandalorian armor in K2.

It would be a bit more involved if you wanted to make custom armor that looked like Mandalore when someone else wears it.