PDA

View Full Version : Modeling Program


Lando Griffin
09-03-2005, 03:40 AM
I want to start modeling but i dont know what program to get. I dont have any money, and i tied gmax, but it wont let me use it i double click the icon and it says u need to register, when i already did, so is there any other programs to model kotor 2?

Doc Valentine
09-03-2005, 04:13 AM
Well if you have no money, Gmax is all you can use.

And if you for some reason you cant use Gmax. Then i suggest a reinstall of it or your computer.

3ds max is another option and you get 30 day free trial for it and you can get the Student Licence for 150 dollers, i THINK thats how much it is.

~Gsccc

Det. Bart Lasiter
09-03-2005, 04:21 AM
^^^^
I wish that were so, the student license is $650.

Lando Griffin
09-03-2005, 04:22 AM
it would be better if it was free.

Lando Griffin
09-03-2005, 04:24 AM
do i register on turbosquid first or do i install it first.

oldflash
09-03-2005, 05:10 AM
do i register on turbosquid first or do i install it first.
after
follow the link when you are prompted for Identification Code

maaneeack
09-03-2005, 10:19 AM
blender is free...isn't it a modeling program too?

oldflash
09-03-2005, 11:39 AM
blender is free...isn't it a modeling program too?
yes, like anim8tor and is another programs at low cost like milkshape, truespace...
it's only two big problems:
1. importer/exporter plugin for kotor/kotor2 models
2. how good are this programs for modeling? (except truespace)
from my part, best editing program is 3dsmax (if you have enought money) and gmax (FREE).

Doc Valentine
09-03-2005, 01:44 PM
^^^^
I wish that were so, the student license is $650.


Yes you are correct :p. I was thinking of the Torque GPU license. Oh well.

I would suggest you do the 30 day trial, it is limited but at least you have SOME time to get it done :).

~Gsccc

Lando Griffin
09-03-2005, 07:08 PM
can i use milshape to model kotor 2? where do i get this program blender you speak of?

oldflash
09-03-2005, 07:40 PM
can i use milshape to model kotor 2? where do i get this program blender you speak of?

I don't think so. If I remember right there is no import/export plugin for milkshape who can be use for kotor/tsl ascii mdl files.
and belive-me best program (power/price) is gmax.
after all, gmax is a recompiled form of 3dmax5

maaneeack
09-03-2005, 09:18 PM
so, how do you import kotor/tsl mdl/mdx files? my dialup is still chugging at the help exe for gmax.

Lando Griffin
09-03-2005, 09:56 PM
i have dial up and i downloaded gmax like 3 times but everytime i register it always says u need to register first.

maaneeack
09-03-2005, 10:50 PM
Turn cookies on, allow that site to set one, and if you're behind a proxy see about bypassing it. You just have to give turbosquid login/password and a bit of info then they email you the code.

Lando Griffin
09-03-2005, 11:03 PM
i got the code and already registered and when i double click the icon it says:
This copy of gmax has not been properly registered. To register you cop of gmax through the web, please visit.
http://www.descreet.com/products/gmax/register
after web registration competse, please press continue.
I went to the site and it said u need to register and i already did

ChAiNz.2da
09-04-2005, 09:33 AM
the plugin for GMAX and 3dsMAX can be found here :D

http://nwmax.dladventures.com/

maaneeack
09-04-2005, 02:00 PM
Thanks chainz, I found the skinning & modelling thread last night right after I posted my question.

Lando Griffin
09-04-2005, 05:27 PM
what does it do, and how will it help me?

Lando Griffin
09-04-2005, 05:45 PM
that really didnt help me at all, it says the same thing as last time.

svösh
09-04-2005, 06:08 PM
what does it do, and how will it help me?

What does what do ? Nwmax you mean , it allows you to import and export ascii .mdl files to and from gmax or 3dsmax

Please be more specific. Anyways, I highly suggest you look at the modeling skinning forum http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=595 , I sure don’t write modeling tutorial’s for my own benefit.

How to register gmax go to this thread post # 9

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143818&highlight=register+gmax


I also suggest you get nwmax 0.7 , from what I have been told from a few fellow modelers, version 0.8 causes a sanity error about non welded vertices even if all your verts are welded. It’s easy to fix if you know what to look for, but 0.7 works just fine so I haven’t made the change.

This post gives you a break down of the tools you need and a few tips and restrictions to adhere to for successfully modeling for both kotor games

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=134510

There is no other support for other modeling packages, milkshape sucks as a modeler compared to 3dsmax’s little brother app gmax, not to mention the price… free. While milky still cost’s 20 bucks, sure it has model converters but none that will help with kotor modeling.

svösh

Mono_Giganto
09-04-2005, 07:22 PM
I also suggest you get nwmax 0.7 , from what I have been told from a few fellow modelers, version 0.8 causes a sanity error about non welded vertices even if all your verts are welded. It’s easy to fix if you know what to look for, but 0.7 works just fine so I haven’t made the change.



The santity check error is more of a little bugger than an issue, it won't affect the exported model as long as you've ResetXForm-ed and the pivot points are okay. ;)

oldflash
09-05-2005, 02:59 AM
The santity check error is more of a little bugger than an issue, it won't affect the exported model as long as you've ResetXForm-ed and the pivot points are okay. ;)
Do all modify right (read tutorials for that http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=595) and you never be prompted about santity check

Don Vito
09-06-2005, 10:00 PM
dont you hate it when you ask for help and all people do is stare and walk away or just post a link

svösh
09-06-2005, 10:51 PM
dont you hate it when you ask for help and all people do is stare and walk away or just post a link
Cough* wtf NO? Lets see I spent on average 1 hour on every tutorial I have written on modeling in the Modeling and skinning forum, why should I even bother in the first place? and for that matter why should I repeat myself to people to lazy to read or look for themselves ?

My post above not only pointed him to the proper forum to read up on the information already written and stuck, I even went the extra mile to *search* for the old thread in which I gave explicit instructions on how to register gmax.

Any other brain waves you would like to share? Or is it time to Wake up and get off the couch … next time read the full thread before you post. :smash:

svösh

oldflash
09-07-2005, 02:17 AM
dont you hate it when you ask for help and all people do is stare and walk away or just post a link

this is a joke, right?
more help then that I saw in matrix series (see neo's training part)

*** sorry for not posting any link to that movie
:lips1:

Mono_Giganto
09-07-2005, 02:16 PM
dont you hate it when you ask for help and all people do is stare and walk away

You're doing this right now.

or just post a link

Not at all, but I do hate it when I see a friend's effort belittled. Svösh spent a lot of time making those tutorials, and there's no reason to re-write it, they're there for reference. So the requester has been referred.

Fuu
09-07-2005, 03:36 PM
I am personally very gratefull to Svosh....and you should be too "Don Vito". Without the links he posts many of us would'nt know anything about modding. I've seen all of the major modders here show great attention to helping people. If you ask a SPECIFIC ( "what does that do" is not specific at allllll) question someone always helps (this includes Svosh!).


Please refrain from dissing peoples methods, ESPECIALLY the people who have spent more time helping than you have.

Don Vito
09-07-2005, 08:13 PM
{snip}

Don Vito
09-07-2005, 08:14 PM
{snip}

Don Vito
09-07-2005, 08:15 PM
-bye!-

Det. Bart Lasiter
09-07-2005, 08:22 PM
I have no idea what your last 3 posts contained, for instance we're the "retarded dumbass", yet you can't understand a straight-forward tutorial because you are quote "a retard". So next time you have a thought, go back to "Sleeping on someones couch", as a favor to all of us.

Darth333
09-07-2005, 09:01 PM
Calling our members "retarded dumbass", "stupid nerds" & other names is not tolerated here.

Some of our members have spent many hours and efforts helping others and making tutorials to make the job easier for those who have questions or want to get started. When help is offered, it should be welcomed. If something is not clear, questions can be asked in a civilized manner. Insults and flames are definitely not the way to thank people for helping out or encourage them to help out in the future.