PDA

View Full Version : Ancient Lightsaber Forms?


Wild-Wing
09-04-2005, 05:39 PM
is this more of the cut content or am i missing something . its coded and there but havent seen it when i look at my saved game information

stoffe
09-04-2005, 05:50 PM
is this more of the cut content or am i missing something . its coded and there but havent seen it when i look at my saved game information

Remnants from an earlier version of the saber/force form system. The whole saber/force form system appears to have pretty much been scrapped and re-done from scratch in a completely different way at some point during development.

There are some leftover scraps from the earlier system in some scripts and 2DA files though. Nothing that still works and is obtainable while playing.

Wild-Wing
09-04-2005, 06:33 PM
hmm wait it works?

Achilles
09-04-2005, 06:36 PM
Yes, the system that they implemented in place of the original does work. The system that was implemented involves learning the forms from the Jedi Masters.

Wild-Wing
09-04-2005, 06:45 PM
it looks like c++ to me i wonder if they can be resurrected although im the type that would redo the whole game and organize it.

wasa7
09-05-2005, 06:24 PM
Hi, about lightsaber forms, how impossible would it be to create different combat animations to every saber form? Nothig big, just some differences between how the character holds the saber hilt, one combat form to be one handed instead of holding the saber with both hands, stuff like that....
I might be talking nonsense here, but it still worth the shot! Thank you!

Jeff
09-05-2005, 06:59 PM
how impossible would it be to create different combat animations to every saber form?
Pretty impossible.

Nur Ab Sal
09-06-2005, 04:59 AM
Why? People are creating new lightsaber moves for Jedi Academy.

Achilles
09-06-2005, 07:24 AM
Too bad this isn't Jedi Academy then, huh?

Makes me wonder why it is I can't fly when I see birds doing it all the time. I'll be pondering that one for a while.

stoffe
09-06-2005, 09:19 AM
Why? People are creating new lightsaber moves for Jedi Academy.

The reason this is much more of a challenge for TSL than Jedi Academy is that JA has much more official modding support by its developers, with both modding tools and its multiplayer source code released. Thus it's doable for someone with the know-how to make new model animations and import them into the game, and make the necessary code changes to add the new saber form.

In TSL on the other hand, the saber forms are hardcoded in the game engine, which we have no realistic way to alter. As such this is not something modders can add or modify (with a few exceptions).

Also, the current community developed tools don't support importing new animations for creature models into a format the game can use, as far as I am aware.

Slipstreme
09-06-2005, 12:52 PM
If I re-made the game I'd make Kriea a lot less obvoius

Wild-Wing
09-06-2005, 01:56 PM
lol there might be a way to bring them back but im not as skilled with modding than some of you guys/gals out there. i have seen the code and it seems that every module contains their own scripts so that makes it easiey for us to modify them and reintergate them into the module the trickey part is keeping track of all the global vars and making sure that you use the same casing and such. some here have already played around with makejedi.ncs script and made it work. the only problem here is they werent too commentive in their scripting. so im suprised that the game even works.

Darth333
09-06-2005, 02:41 PM
Modifying makejedi.nss or exisiting scripts is not a problem. Look at nwscript.nss: you will find all the scripting functions. However, implementing new saberforms is not a matter of simple scripting. As stoffe mentioned, it's hardcoded and without official support by the devs, there is simply nothing we can do about it.

Darth InSidious
09-06-2005, 04:33 PM
^Also, the sabre style anims don't work. I tried them out....it's like equipping Malak with two sabres....Also, I've read that you learn different forms, like Form X or Form VI from the masters....but I'm pretty sure you only learn the first seven forms.........

Wild-Wing
09-06-2005, 05:10 PM
jesus i just might recode it if i could decifer it. there is absoulutely no organization in their coding. and when u mean hardcoded u mean its in the engine?
Edit:Just found
there were soposed to be upgrades for swoop bikes?!

void main()
{
ShowSwoopUpgradeScreen();
}