PDA

View Full Version : Need some question answered


Lando Griffin
09-05-2005, 02:59 AM
I only have one day of freedom until i go to school, but i need some questions answered for some upcoming mods im makin. Because i might not be able to mod untill the week ends.

1. Prime can i use ur movie robes for my MK mod?

2. Im makin a MK mod for TSL, scorpion, sub-sero, reptile, ermac/ mk 3, skins using one of the movie robes, i need to add 4 new pc to the appearance.2da, but i dont know what to call them, their all going to be the balled white guy, i think he is the first white head. I planning on reskining his head black to make it look like a mask. THen i want to put the rebreather on him, the black thing that looks kinda like a gas mask, anyway i want to make 4 so each character will look like the MK characters. But i dont know how to do all this, can someone help?

3. Im about half way done with a mod im makin called Alpha/ Delta mandalorains, Its 6 new skinned Mandalores, but i want to add a 6 new mandalores in the game by editing the appearance.2da. Although i tried it once by copying one mandalore and pasting it to a new line, changed the name of him and he still looked like the old mandalore. So i need to know how to give each one a new skin. And how make them a disguise, like in the uti, i go to disguise, will they come up and i can choose them or no.

4. Im like 94% done with the Old mandalorians, well actually im done, but i replaced the old characters in the game with the new mandalorians, like the rakata, swoop gang member, the people you dont see for kotor 2. But i wanted to make a new pc or mandalorian slot just for them, but same thing as the mandalore i dont know how to make them come into the uti when i try to choose a disguise.

5. I wanted to know how i get rid of the disign on the armor, and make my own do i use a 3d program or do i reskin it?

If anybody
can help me with this i would greatly appreciate it.

Lando Griffin
09-06-2005, 12:18 AM
Can someone please help me out?

JediKnight707
09-06-2005, 12:34 AM
I would, but I hardly know anything about modding

General Kenobi
09-06-2005, 12:17 PM
4. Im like 94% done with the Old mandalorians, well actually im done, but i replaced the old characters in the game with the new mandalorians, like the rakata, swoop gang member, the people you dont see for kotor 2.

I'd make sure this doesn't conflict with Comma & Mono's New Mandalorians MOD. I'm not sure but they are pretty much finished I believe and I'm betting it will be really popular.

As for getting rid of unwanted areas on the graphics and such you'll have to reskin them in a program like Photoshop or Fireworks or Paint Shop Pro (pixel based editing program). You'll need to use KOTORtool to extract the graphics and save them to a spot you'll remember as .tga's

Then open them up in (just say) Photoshop and use the tools therein to remove the sections you don't want by using the clone stamp to sample an area that would be good to replace over your graphic you want to remove from your tga file. You can use that particular tool to do repeat over and over till your (say a dragon emblem) on an armor or the like is gone.

Save the file then back as a unlayered 32-bit tga and drop in your override.

Hope that helps a bit, :thumbsup:

:ben:
General Kenobi

Slipstreme
09-06-2005, 12:24 PM
I can hardly wait to use your Mando armor in the game

Lando Griffin
09-07-2005, 12:57 AM
actually im all ready done with my mando mod. i will upload it to pcgamemods, but the appearance.2da replaces people like rekata, swoop gang, does anybody mind that? Should i make new characters for the mandos( might take 2 weeks) or do they want the mod replacing the old unused characters. And thanx General Kenobi!( THis mod is compatible with the holowan plugin TSL, and i will make a patch or whatever for commas and mono giganto's awesome real mandos.)

Lando Griffin
09-07-2005, 11:56 PM
anyone?

T7nowhere
09-08-2005, 12:00 AM
If you want to ask for permission to use someones work, Please do so through private message. Its easyer all around.

Lando Griffin
09-08-2005, 12:02 AM
all right. But can someone help me with the 2da question?

cry_of_paine
09-08-2005, 12:38 AM
You missed a couple steps. If you're reskinning an existing model, you have to edit the model.

You have 6 new mandalorian skins. You need to copy your mandalorian model 6 times. In each one, use a hex editor to replace the name of the old texture file with your new texture files.

Then you go in to the 2da, add the rows from the mandalorian, and change the model name to the names of your new models.

That's a quick and dirty explanation, so hopefully that helps. I'd do a more thorough explanation, but I'd have to do it myself to be able to give accurate directions, and I'm in the middle of a different project, so it's tough to switch gears right now. If you need more info, I'd suggest searching for "reskin" or "retexture" in the forum. As I recall, there was a pretty good tutorial listed in the links on this page. (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=124284) If you can't find what you need there, come on back and I'll see what I can dig up.

Lando Griffin
09-09-2005, 09:46 PM
in the appearance.2da what do i call the New mandalores( theres 6) for their texture file or the file that gives them their own tga. And row is it in the 2da?

cry_of_paine
09-09-2005, 10:13 PM
I'm not sure what you're asking, and I've got the time this time, so here's the step by step, just in case.

First, you find the mdl file for the model you want to retexture. Extract that file, and then copy it however many times you need it. 6 new textures, so 6 new models. Open each file with a hex editor, and search for the name of the original texture file. Change that name to match the filename of the new texture you want to use.

In some cases when I've done hex editing, you have to make sure that the new information has the same number of characters as the original information. So I'd play it safe and do that here. In your example, you'd look for n_mandalorian02 (if I've found the model file you're using) and replace it with something like n_mynew_mand_01 (so that has the same number of characters). That should be the name of your new texture file. Make sure your new mdl name is also named that (easier to keep track of, plus I'm not sure how the 2da works, so better safe than sorry).

From there, save the file, recompile it (there's plenty of tutorials on how to use mdlops, so I won't get into that here).

In the appearance.2da file, make a new entry, and for the modela column and texa column, put the name of the new mdl and tga file (which should be the same). You shouldn't really need to bother with any of the other model or tex columns.

For all the rest of the columns (other than name of course) it's easiest to copy from a similar row (like the original mandalorian row).

You'll need to do this for every one of your textures - 6 new models, 6 new 2da entries, etc.

Hopefully that's everything.

Lando Griffin
09-09-2005, 10:26 PM
thanks, but im askin about the row and column for where i put Mandalores tga file, MY New Mandalores( theres 6) They each have different tgas, but i dont know what i change in the appearance.2da to make that happen. Like the mandalorians, i just go to racetex and call it something else, but what do i do to make the Mandalores have their own tga?

cry_of_paine
09-09-2005, 11:37 PM
In the appearance.2da file, make a new entry, and for the modela column and texa column, put the name of the new mdl and tga file (which should be the same). You shouldn't really need to bother with any of the other model or tex columns.

For all the rest of the columns (other than name of course) it's easiest to copy from a similar row (like the original mandalorian row).

You'll need to do this for every one of your textures - 6 new models, 6 new 2da entries, etc.


One of us must be missing something. If that didn't answer what you're looking for, then I'm afraid I misunderstood what you're trying to do.

Lando Griffin
09-09-2005, 11:55 PM
no no, not for makin new or mandalore, this is for like copied ones, (i will edit it later to make them have their own row in the 2da but that will be later, when i have more time) like replacing swoop_gang03, something like that, i replaced it with the mandaloe row and renamed it swoop_gang03. what do i call the racetex, to give it their own tga. or what other column do i fill to make the mandalores have their own tga? I want to replace it because i lost my hex editor and i have dial-up and i dont want to redownload something thats 15 mbs, thats a long time. And i just testin my skins, just for today.

masterchief2491
09-10-2005, 12:18 AM
if your just testing the skins why not replace the normal mandalorians so that u noe they work? u can find out what the exact name of the file u need to put in the overried would be by searching through kt. then once u noe the skins work do exactly what cry_of_paine said the very first time. that sounded good to me so it should work.

Lando Griffin
09-10-2005, 01:05 AM
nooooooooooooooooooooooooo! I am talkin about the Mandalore, i copied his row in the appearance.2da 6 times, to make 6 mandalores(not mandalorians, mandalores) i want to make a tga for each one. Each of them replaces one of the original characters like the rakata, but what do i do to make each one have their own tga, so they all look different. im doing this so its easier to get them into a item because i dont have a lot of time. like in the racetex column for the original mandalorians thier skin is called n_mandalorian01,n_mandalorian02, n_mandalorian03. BUT HOW DO I MAKE EACH MANDALORE( which replace the old characters like rakata, and swoop_gang) HAVE THEIR OWN SKIN, TGA FILE?!!!

Lando Griffin
09-11-2005, 01:54 PM
thank u! thank u! thank u cry_of_paine!!!! I got my new mandalores and mandalorians, but now how do i select them for a disguise for the item?

Lando Griffin
09-11-2005, 03:45 PM
F**k. The new mandalores have the same skin as the regular mandalore. I named the texa the same as the model, and they appeared the same as teh old mandalore.Help please?

Lando Griffin
09-13-2005, 08:53 PM
help please, anyone?