PDA

View Full Version : Model animations


Wild-Wing
09-11-2005, 05:21 PM
now some are going to right off the bat tell me no way. well i just downloaded the latest NWMax for 3ds Max 7.0 and extracted HK-47 model and clicked on one of those green boxes and saw on the timeline animation marks. i just wanted to tell those that want to know
EDIT:
So far it just seems hk-47,t-3m4 has the animations

svösh
09-11-2005, 06:25 PM
Yes most models can decompile with there animations , it’s a mater of recompiling them .. WE CAN’T because our only Model compiling softwear , can’t.

A perfect example for you are sabers, decompile with anims, and import with anims, then select the saber dummy and hit play to watch the saber spin around in your view port, now you modify it replace it or not… and export it. The only way to make the blades and animations function is the replacer tool that copies the new model over from the new file and replaces the old hilts mesh. Using the original anims , we can’t break this cycle. Just like we can’t produce multi mesh saber hilts. And We can’t compile New animations.

svösh

Wild-Wing
09-11-2005, 06:55 PM
hmm. now i understand y. but y only some models?

Achilles
09-11-2005, 10:06 PM
Why only some models what?

JediKnight707
09-11-2005, 11:32 PM
Jeez svosh, kinda the put down person are we? Nah, I'm just playing with you

Achilles
09-12-2005, 12:21 AM
I don't think Svosh put anyone down at all. Being undoubtedly the most talented modeler in the community, I imagine that inane modeling questions get under his skin more than anyone elses. Especially those that have been addressed repeatedly...in the gazillion other threads that have sprung up over the last week re: roughly the same topic.

This is a great community and the more modders the better. It would be nice if noobs spent a little more time reading the forums and a little less time trying to tell the veterans what should or shouldn't be possible. West-wing seems like he/she knows his/her way around max, however Svosh didn't post anything that someone who took the time to read the mdlops readme couldn't have figured out on their own.

JediKnight707
09-12-2005, 12:37 AM
I know I was just playing around with him :(

Jene<3
09-12-2005, 10:43 AM
Jeez svosh, kinda the put down person are we? Nah, I'm just playing with you

I think he was just kidding Achillies. ;)

Det. Bart Lasiter
09-12-2005, 06:14 PM
hmm. now i understand y. but y only some models?

Some animations have no rotations, like the saber ones, and that is still (I think) the only thing cchargin (mdlOps' creator) hasn't figured out. Other models, such as masks, don't have any animations, so it doesn't affect them.

cchargin
09-12-2005, 09:01 PM
Hello all,

The problem with animations right now is that almost all of them have a rotation that I don't know how to interpret yet.

If you extract a model and watch the animations in gmax you will almost always see one piece of the model rotate the wrong way, or not at all, or worse it flies completely off the model.

If you want a good laugh watch the large rancor animations.

Fred Tetra
09-12-2005, 11:28 PM
Hello all,

The problem with animations right now is that almost all of them have a rotation that I don't know how to interpret yet.

If you extract a model and watch the animations in gmax you will almost always see one piece of the model rotate the wrong way, or not at all, or worse it flies completely off the model.

If you want a good laugh watch the large rancor animations.

Back in April, I think I figured out how some of the rotations are done; they are apparently using Quaternions (http://mathworld.wolfram.com/Quaternion.html and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quaternion). The problem is that they're represented in the data in an odd manner. Trial and error editing of the footlocker and door models has been revealing how this is implemented, (if you looked at the sample m02aa.mod on the Kotor Tool thread, you can see an example), but there appear to be several more styles that do not match what cchargin and I have worked out so far. Believe me, it's harder to figure out than most, as there even seems to be redudant, albeit useless, data contained in the models. Quite the pain!

Wild-Wing
09-13-2005, 04:50 PM
thanks for the explanation.

AVol
09-13-2005, 09:32 PM
I now work at the my Vader mod. A question: why I can't use standard supermodel with Nihilus's model? The structure of bones at them is identical...

Mono_Giganto
09-13-2005, 10:30 PM
I imagine that inane modeling questions get under his skin more than anyone elses. Especially those that have been addressed repeatedly...in the gazillion other threads that have sprung up over the last week re: roughly the same topic.


You've basically just read his mind. ;)

Det. Bart Lasiter
09-13-2005, 11:07 PM
Believe me, it's harder to figure out than most, as there even seems to be redudant, albeit useless, data contained in the models. Quite the pain!


00000000 8088083D 00000000 00000000
00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000

I see a pattern in that one...