PDA

View Full Version : Problems with editing unk44_evilbast


Nur Ab Sal
09-16-2005, 04:00 PM
Since I was always dissatisfied with the weak version of Bastila, Bioware set against me on the Temple Roof, I decided to replace her. I edited and extracted unk44_evilbast.utc, placed it in the override folder and... nothing happens. All the time I have to fight with pathetic bioware Bastila which wears those ugly dark robes and has ugly red lightsaber. What have I done wrong oh Great Holowan?

Darth333
09-16-2005, 04:01 PM
Reload the module from before entering it for the first time.

ChAiNz.2da
09-16-2005, 04:02 PM
When you altered the .utc.. did you load a savegame prior to her being spawned?

The changes won't take affect unless you load a game beforehand. Try a save just before reaching the Temple "roof" (where you confront her) and see if that helps :)

*curses Darth333's nimble fingers* :fist: :xp:

Nur Ab Sal
09-16-2005, 04:20 PM
I'll try this! Thanks Ohh Great Holowan! :yodaball:

cry_of_paine
09-18-2005, 11:49 PM
I will never understand how, with all the knowledge and skill around here, the answer everyone gives is "go back and do it all again".

If the information you're changing isn't changing because it's cached in the save file, you've got two options. You can either go back to a prior saved game and replay all that again (which is very frustrating if you don't get it right the first, or second, or 3rd time through).

Or, you can save the game just prior to the change you've made (such as, on the top of the temple, just before you talk to her), then go into that save, and remove the cached information. Pull out the module that she's a part of, and the game will reload all that data as if it were your first time there.

If that doesn't work, you can save the file just before you enter the top level, and edit that.

For more info, check out this thread. (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=150955)

One note, if you do any editing while you have the game open, make sure you close the game before trying this. It did some weird things the first time I did this, but once I restarted the game (and the computer), it worked.