PDA

View Full Version : A minigame Sithmechs vs Republictanks


REDJOHNNYMIKE
09-17-2005, 02:00 AM
Ok, I was playing with KSE a while ago, editing appearences, when I found that your characters can take on the form of giant robots (tried it while on citadel, results not pretty:D)
SO I was wondering would it be possible to make something similar to the arena mod where you can take the form of a mech (like transferring PC control to other party members) and do battle against other sim mechs in a computer environment, since it's a game and not actual combat, you wouldn't have to use arenas and instead could use any outdoor environment with enough space.

Your ponders pleez:D

Ancharos
09-18-2005, 11:59 AM
Their are tanks in the kotor seris, and there accessible by KSE!?!? why haven't I seen this!

REDJOHNNYMIKE
09-18-2005, 12:13 PM
If you ever went to the underground complex on Telos ( the one that wasn't finished and had a reactor at the end) you fought a "tank" the big dude with two legs and a flamethrower.
The other one I can think of off the top of my head was one that looked like a giant spider, there were others I just don't remember them,
I did it in citadel station and the were about as high as the ceiling, so they would give you a powerful feel in mechcombat:D

Jackel
09-18-2005, 05:16 PM
This would proberly be completely possible. Maybe talk to stoffe about her arena mod and how she did it then try convert her souce code (with her permission) over to what you want to happen and the characters you want in the mod. You will probably have to make some new utc files for the "tank mechs" but that shouldn't be to hard.

General Kenobi
09-18-2005, 05:28 PM
Pretty good idea JRM but you'd also have to have the ability to switch on or off the appearance as when it changes appearance it also changes models as such. Meaning a giant shark or robot or rancor would not be able to fit through most doorways as their walk around distance/clearing distance changes with each appearance. ;)

:ben:
General Kenobi

REDJOHNNYMIKE
09-19-2005, 12:15 AM
Yeah, I probably should ask her, since she'd know the most about it, kinda figured she and anyone else involved with that stuff would've seen this thread:D

@General Kenobi,I'm not sure what you mean?
This is going to be a minigame accessible in arcades in my story, It will work like a mix between controlling your other party characters (Mira vs Hanhaar, where you are no longer the PC) and swoop or turret games,
You'll take on the role of a mech with completely different stats and attack forms and compete with other mech owners for prizes glory and Gambling,
you will be able to upgrade you mech like you would a saber or suit of armor, I would like to make upgrades as detailed as mech games but that probably won't happen, I'd have to have a new model for every weapon swap.
And I won't have to worry about doors, I'd use the telos beach, with the exits cut out and a permanent "Doid view static blue" even when not in look mode, the only thing I'm really confused about is the fact that the view height is really low for mech combat, I would need to raise the thrid person camera considerably.

I may also make a similar ingame scenario with two opposing armies (about 20-30 guys and a few droids each) in the same location, does anyone think they would seem too similar to keep both?

Ancharos
09-19-2005, 11:02 AM
the only thing I'm really confused about is the fact that the view height is really low for mech combat, I would need to raise the thrid person camera considerally.

I've done that before with one of my mods, the kotor camera view one. its farely simply acctually, heck, you can probabbly use the camera setting in my mod to do that.

stoffe
09-19-2005, 01:37 PM
You'll take on the role of a mech with completely different stats and attack forms and compete with other mech owners for prizes glory and Gambling,
you will be able to upgrade you mech like you would a saber or suit of armor, I would like to make upgrades as detailed as mech games but that probably won't happen.


This could probably be done by adding your "Mech" as a temporary party member and switch player control over to them. Any upgrades could then be applied to you by a script (or, if they are items, equipped normally).


the only thing I'm really confused about is the fact that the view height is really low for mech combat, I would need to raise the thrid person camera considerably.


Unfortunately the cameraheightoffset field in appearance.2da only works for the out-of-combat camera, so you'd probably either need to edit camerastyle.2da, which would affect the whole game, or change the location of the camerahook helper in all the droid/mech models.


I may also make a similar ingame scenario with two opposing armies (about 20-30 guys and a few droids each) in the same location, does anyone think they would seem too similar to keep both?

You should be careful with having too many creatures active at the same time. It will be a lot for the game graphics engine to render, you would probably get quite a few AI time overflows, and the game's pathfinding code (which is horribly resource consuming) would probably slow your framerate down to the Seconds-per-Frame scale rather than Frames-per-Second if you have 60 people doing battle and moving around on screen at the same time.

REDJOHNNYMIKE
09-20-2005, 12:18 AM
@Ancharos, I'm sorry but which mod, I haven't been paying as much attention lately:(

@stoffe,
"This could probably be done by adding your "Mech" as a temporary party member and switch player control over to them. Any upgrades could then be applied to you by a script (or, if they are items, equipped normally)."

Yeah, that's pretty much what I figured, since you can already do it during the game with your party, and I want to be able to equip items normally, but with a droid interface, I don't know how to actually add weapon models though for switching between a gatling laser and a rocket pod,
And I'd want to be able to have a shop (in another thread I'm discussing the possibility of using larger ships as alternatives for the EH) in the ravagers bay where you can actually work on and upgrade your mech (work on: like increasing T3's intelligence) (upgrade: add from a choice of uogrades used on weapons at workbench, but hydraulics, servos, increased ammo containers, etc instead of the standard wepon upgrades)

Could I make an entirely different 2da that is only used in that one module/minigame?

Yeeeah, uh, I kinda got carried away with my plans for an epic that would put TSL to shame and forgot about slowdown:D
Maybe it would be about ten high ranking soldiers, a couple heavy droids and one Ubermech apiece,
that might actually make bringing down a mech seem more important than if there were more of them, but would that be a low enough number to keep it decent?

A tach gland for your thoughts:D

stoffe
09-20-2005, 06:51 AM
And I'd want to be able to have a shop (in another thread I'm discussing the possibility of using larger ships as alternatives for the EH) in the ravagers bay where you can actually work on and upgrade your mech (work on: like increasing T3's intelligence) (upgrade: add from a choice of uogrades used on weapons at workbench, but hydraulics, servos, increased ammo containers, etc instead of the standard wepon upgrades)


One way of handling upgrades of other types than items that can be equipped is to make a series of items that won't do anything by themselves, and make them buildable at a special workbench or purchasable in a store.

Then add a conversation to your mech creature (with the computer interface appearance) which checks which of those upgrade items are present in your Inventory, and then let you "install" them in your mech. Installing the upgrade would then remove the item from your inventory and set a variable indicating that the upgrade has been installed.

Then when you enter battle you check the variables for which upgrades are installed and apply effects to the mech which grants the properties the upgrade is supposed to have (via a script).


Could I make an entirely different 2da that is only used in that one module/minigame?


A different 2da for doing what? :)



Yeeeah, uh, I kinda got carried away with my plans for an epic that would put TSL to shame and forgot about slowdown:D


With 20 or more creatures in action at the same time on screen I experience a noticable slowdown (though granted my computer isn't exactly the fastest one available), particularily if they are armed with blasters and grenades/rockets.

However, I would advice you to focus on one thing at a time when making your mod, and when it's working acceptably start with the next aspect of it. If you get into "feature creep" mode where you constantly get new cool ideas for things to add and work on, chances are you will never get finished with any of them before you get bored of modding the game. :)

To give some perspective, the Combat Sim Arena mod I made took me about 2 weeks to make (2 weeks of vacation with particularily poor weather and not much else planned to do), and it's just one small area with 3 NPCs where you do nothing but fight/watch a bunch of combatants. Granted I'm hardly the fastest or most experienced modder around here, but nevertheless these kinds of things can take quite some time to do. :)

REDJOHNNYMIKE
09-20-2005, 11:58 PM
I haven't learned the tech stuff behind what you were saying, but I do understand what you're saying I should do.

You said the camerastyle.2da would affect the whole game, so I asked if it's possible to have a second modified file that is only used for that minigame?

I guess that is to many guys onscreen, mine slows down too (man I wish it didn't)
But I guess "feature creep" is my current sickness, I'm trying to fill out the story while dreaming up features so if I find out I can't do something I can adjust without a huge problem.
And two weeks huh? I'm in trouble, I'm planning on having twice as many planets as TSL:D hybrid module planets and planets that will completely change when you return to them...

Fuu
09-21-2005, 12:48 AM
<snip> I'm planning on having twice as many planets as TSL:D hybrid module planets and planets that will completely change when you return to them...
yargh call me in a year when its done :marx1:

doing that would drive me :nut: !

REDJOHNNYMIKE
09-21-2005, 01:35 AM
Well, I'm already nuts so it's not that bad (probably because I have a tendency to leave hammers on top of ladders:D)

But one thing I didn't like about the game was the limited replayability of the already few maps, so I'm gonna try and double that by having almost all planets change hands at least once, like if you could go to kashyyk after the wookies take over and actually have something worth doing.

Darth InSidious
09-21-2005, 06:13 AM
Sounds fun :D

REDJOHNNYMIKE
09-23-2005, 02:22 AM
hmmm, fun, as in YEAAHHH I WANNA GET MY HANDS DIRTY AS SOON AS YOU GET A STORY OUTLINE!!!:D

REDJOHNNYMIKE
09-30-2005, 12:44 AM
I just got my KSE 333:D sooo....

"Their are tanks in the kotor seris, and there accessible by KSE!?!? why haven't I seen this!"

If you haven't actually tried it for yourself, here's the idea,
BOOM!!!
http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/7721/k2000676qh.jpg
http://img328.imageshack.us/img328/4567/k2000704xk.jpg
my two favorites:D

and just so I don't marr my thread with a 56k label, these are just links:)
http://img240.imageshack.us/img240/9355/k2000610kn.jpg
http://img281.imageshack.us/img281/5066/k2000623uu.jpg
refbot prototypes:D
http://img270.imageshack.us/img270/6668/k2000645xa.jpg
http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/8053/k2000669fg.jpg
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/4200/k2000656ru.jpg
http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/2900/k2000694df.jpg

So if you have KSE this is what you can do [/shameless plug]
:D
These are some of the mods possibilities:cool:

DuffmanDan
09-30-2005, 02:03 AM
this.............if nothing else.........looks like it could be a very interesting idea.

REDJOHNNYMIKE
09-30-2005, 02:12 AM
Thanks, I strive to make my ideas interesting:D
of course it will look different than those shots, that's just to give an idea to anybody who hasn't tried that yet:D