PDA

View Full Version : Armor Mod Problem


fresnosmokey02
09-19-2005, 12:07 AM
For some reason I cannot get my armors to set on the baseitems line number correctly. I have the armor ready to put in the game (and adjust the skins once I can get it into the game). I have the new line on the baseitems.2da. However when I use the GFF editor to change the baseitem number it changes the baseitem box in the armor.uti file to a red box and when I change it back to the proper base item and save the armor.uti file it changes the baseitem line number back to the original number in the GFF editor. Now I downloaded the new KOTOR Tool (v1.0.2084.15886) just recently (it's probably not all that new) the old one was working just fine, but I ran across this and installed it and I uninstalled the old one. Now I have this problem. I can't find the old KOTOR Tool version-whatever-it-was to check if that might be the problem, although that's pretty unlikely. Any help would be appreciated. Thanx.

ChAiNz.2da
09-19-2005, 02:15 PM
1) Make sure your edited baseitems.2da is in your override folder

2) Make sure you have the option in KotOR Tools set to "look in override for existing .2da's" (or something like that...) ;)

3) Make sure your edited baseitems.2da is in your override before you open KotOR Tool...

That's always worked for me :)

fresnosmokey02
09-19-2005, 03:39 PM
Thanx for your help. I am such an idiot. I had my baseitems.2da on my desktop for adjustment and hadn't saved it back into the override folder. What a moron. I've been doing this long enough that you'd've thought I'd have figured it out. DUH! :swear:

ChAiNz.2da
09-19-2005, 03:43 PM
Don't beat yourself too hard about it.. we've all made mistakes...(the smaller ones are the most aggravating)...

How do you think I knew what to suggest... :o hehehehe

I had many a :headbump before I figured out what I was doing wrong ;)

General Kenobi
09-19-2005, 09:46 PM
I see ole' ChAiNzIe already helped ya so I'll just say good luck! ;) It will be nice to see some new armor in the game :D

:ben:
General Kenobi

fresnosmokey02
09-20-2005, 09:37 AM
Sorry, General Kenobi, but those armors were for my own use. I suppose I could post them if somebody wanted me to. I just reskinned and re-attributed Drakkonen's JedivSith armors. But as I wanted to keep those armors in the game I had to give them their own slot on the baseitems 2da file. Well I didn't HAVE to but I did anyway. I still haven't figured out how to model totally new armors and since there are plenty of armors in the game already I didn't see the point in posting the ones I only altered. Besides, they are so powerful they just about make the wearer impervious to all damage. A lot of people don't like their items to be so powerful.

RedHawke
09-20-2005, 11:44 PM
Besides, they are so powerful they just about make the wearer impervious to all damage. A lot of people don't like their items to be so powerful.
If I may add something here, you should not care what people say about your modded items, because believe me for every one person complaining about overpowered items there is a hundred others downloading and happily using it. Besides with KT those who are complaining can always easily nerf the items all they want on their end. ;)

Just some food for thought! :D