PDA

View Full Version : What are the modding tools that I really need?


RobQel-Droma
09-26-2005, 11:53 AM
I have read the "getting started on modding" thread by Darth333, but I would just like to know (since I am not really sure what to do) what are all the essential things i need to start modding KOTOR, as in making items, npcs, etc. You are probably going to tell me it is all in the getting started thread, but I just didn't know what I really needed.

tk102
09-26-2005, 11:59 AM
Start with KotOR Tool. It will give you almost everything you need. Later on, depending on what mods you decide you want to do, you might have need for other tools. But KotOR Tool is the one you want to get first thing! ;)

Darth333
09-26-2005, 12:04 PM
You'll need kotor tool. For the rest, it really depends on what you want to do. For specific need, look at the mod categories in my thread to see what additional tools you need.

LSaberDuelist
09-26-2005, 12:08 PM
To create custom items you need Kotor Tool by Fred T. and a gff editor , Kotor Tool has a built-in gff editor, but for editing item properties might want to check out Roboius' Modified Bioware GFF Editor. To make NPCs Kotor Tool is sufficient, I think, you can edit the files and write and compile the scripts with the Kotor Tool project manager.

RobQel-Droma
09-26-2005, 12:16 PM
All right then, Kotor Tool and Roboius' Modified Bioware GFF Editor. Could anyone give me some links? Oh yeah, and what about changing NPC's appearances?

Darth333
09-26-2005, 12:18 PM
Get tk102's K-GFF editor. The links are all in the sticky above and there is a complete list in this thread: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=152392

Fred Tetra
09-26-2005, 02:19 PM
To create custom items you need Kotor Tool by Fred T. and a gff editor , Kotor Tool has a built-in gff editor, but for editing item properties might want to check out Roboius' Modified Bioware GFF Editor.

Is Kotor Tool's built-in Item Properties editor not working for you?

stoffe
09-26-2005, 02:31 PM
Is Kotor Tool's built-in Item Properties editor not working for you?

KotorTool's item editor won't set the UpgradeLevel field for upgradable items correctly, unless you have fixed that bug since I last made an item template. :)

The UpgradeLevel box in KotorTool's editor won't show what value the field is set to in the template, and any changes in this input box won't be stored in the template when saving.

In addition, when setting an "Activate item" property you can't use a "spell" without a name specified in spells.2da, since you can't type in the number of your desired spells.2da row as subtype. Guessing which of the many "****" entries in the dropdown menu is the one you look for is rather hopeless. Much easier to just type in the number in the subtype field with a GFF Editor. :)

(Custom armband, stim or grenade "spells" often have no name set since the name in spells.2da for item activated spells isn't used in-game anyway.)

RobQel-Droma
09-26-2005, 02:55 PM
Ok, I tried to download KOTOR tool and was succesful, but I try and run the setup and it gives me some "unable to run" "are you sure you want to try to run the file", "could be corrupted" stuff. Help, please, cause I really want to learn how to mod!

stoffe
09-26-2005, 02:58 PM
Ok, I tried to download KOTOR tool and was succesful, but I try and run the setup and it gives me some "unable to run" "are you sure you want to try to run the file", "could be corrupted" stuff. Help, please, cause I really want to learn how to mod!

Do you have the Microsoft .NET Framework (1.1) installed on your computer? You'll need that in order to run KotorTool.

If you can't even run the Installer though the file was probably corrupted during download. Try clearing your browser cache and downloading it again.

RobQel-Droma
09-26-2005, 03:04 PM
Where do I get that?

Darth333
09-26-2005, 03:56 PM
There's a link on the Kotor tool website ;)

LSaberDuelist
09-26-2005, 03:59 PM
Is Kotor Tool's built-in Item Properties editor not working for you?

No, it is working and gff editing is the only task I dont use KT, what I like better in the other gff editor is that you can copy and paste the property nodes(there is no way to copy rows in KT from one file to another, is there?). Additionally, robious gff editor has a history of last used files in the file menu and I really like that feature, ah, it would be so cool to have that last used files history in KT;) ;)

tk102
09-26-2005, 04:10 PM
Additionally, robious gff editor has a history of last used files in the file menu and I really like that feature, ah, it would be so cool to have that last used files history in KT
*tk102 also takes notes...*

Fred Tetra
09-26-2005, 05:06 PM
No, it is working and gff editing is the only task I dont use KT, what I like better in the other gff editor is that you can copy and paste the property nodes(there is no way to copy rows in KT from one file to another, is there?). Additionally, robious gff editor has a history of last used files in the file menu and I really like that feature, ah, it would be so cool to have that last used files history in KT;) ;)

While the Property editor doesn't have row copy/paste, it does have the ability to export/import a whole set of properties as XML. I may add the row copy/paste later.

As for the MRU files list, Kotor Tool has had that feature since version 1.0.1752.41487 (2004-10-19).

http://kotortool.home.comcast.net/mru.gif

RobQel-Droma
09-26-2005, 06:58 PM
Thanks for the help, KotOR Tool started up and came up with the little menu thingy like in Fred Tetra's screenshot above. After that, I suppose it has its own help system for getting started?

ChAiNz.2da
09-27-2005, 12:11 PM
As for the MRU files list, Kotor Tool has had that feature since version 1.0.1752.41487 (2004-10-19).

http://kotortool.home.comcast.net/mru.gif
I fondly remember requesting that.. and Fred making my dream come true ;) :D hehehe