PDA

View Full Version : Making Placables out of map models


Blacknadger
10-05-2005, 12:58 PM
As anyone who has looked at the droid planet map files can see, the maps themselves are incomplete. Although some of this cannot be fixed, I noticed the unfinished tunnels at the area exits in 802dro and had an idea. Does anyone know if it would be possible to export the models that make up the half of the tunnel that exists, invert them in a modeling program, then make them into a placable?

Thanks in advance.

General Kenobi
10-05-2005, 11:14 PM
Hee hee hee lord what a creative question..lol

"Welcome To The Forums BTW" ;)

I'm not sure if that's possible or not. If you can walk into them (i'm not a modeler) but I don't believe that they are models as such. I believe they're called modules and I've never heard of anyone wanting to actually say use KOTORtool to place one module section over another which is what I believe you want to do.

Hope that helps answer your question a bit :thumbsup:

:ben:
General Kenobi

brwarner
10-06-2005, 08:13 AM
Were is this 802dro? I dont see it under modules.

stoffe
10-06-2005, 08:23 AM
As anyone who has looked at the droid planet map files can see, the maps themselves are incomplete. Although some of this cannot be fixed, I noticed the unfinished tunnels at the area exits in 802dro and had an idea. Does anyone know if it would be possible to export the models that make up the half of the tunnel that exists, invert them in a modeling program, then make them into a placable?


Keep in mind that I am by no means an authority on this sort of thing, but while you could probably make a Tunnel placeable you wouldn't be able to allow the character to walk inside it unless you place it somewhere on the map where there is already a walkmesh present.

And you'd not be able to prevent the player from walking through the "walls" of the placeable if there is room outside it unless it's possible to make KotOR PWK files (don't know if it is).

But it's probably just a lot easier to block off the unfinished parts of the map with Static doors to prevent the player from seeing it. :)

Darth InSidious
10-06-2005, 10:30 AM
@brwarner:
you have to download the remains of the Droid Planet, and insert the files into your Modules folder - they are incomplete and were cut from the final version of the PC game ;)

Darth333
10-06-2005, 10:58 AM
Were is this 802dro? I dont see it under modules.
You can get them here: http://lucasforums.com/showpost.php?p=1759124&postcount=30

Blacknadger
10-06-2005, 11:08 AM
Thanks for the welcome.

while you could probably make a Tunnel placeable you wouldn't be able to allow the character to walk inside it unless you place it somewhere on the map where there is already a walkmesh present.

I don't intend to make the placable walkable, the tunnel in question is actually on the other side of an area transition. Right now when the player opens the door to the transition there is no wall on the other side of this room connecting to the tunnel, this also allows you can see that half of the tunnel is actually incomplete.

But it's probably just a lot easier to block off the unfinished parts of the map with Static doors to prevent the player from seeing it.

Hopefully the above part of my post explains why this isn't really an option.

So could anyone tell me how I would go about removing the model from the map, then converting it into a placable?

Det. Bart Lasiter
10-06-2005, 12:50 PM
Didn't T7Nowhere extract map models for KT's module editor? Unless I misunderstood, extracting it to gmax or 3Ds Max should be possible.

ChAiNz.2da
10-06-2005, 12:57 PM
Didn't T7Nowhere extract map models for KT's module editor? Unless I misunderstood, extracting it to gmax or 3Ds Max should be possible.
Very possible. ;)

Fred has posted instructions at his site on how to do it (with the intention of assembling maps for KotOR Tool). I'm sure he (and many of us members) would greatly appreciate anyone interested in doing such.

Even if you were to extract a map for your own mod purposes, share the wealth and Fred can make the map usable by KotOR Tool for easier map/module editing :)

http://kotortool.home.comcast.net/assembling_maps.htm