PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible?


Killwithhonor
10-09-2005, 05:04 PM
i was wondering if it was possible to mod for the xbox? I got my xbox in my room and the comp is right next to it and i also have extra ethernet cords lying around, just wondering cause i dont feel like buying it for the pc.
Thnx

The_Maker
10-09-2005, 05:16 PM
Clicky (http://www.tomshardware.com/consumer/20040511/index.html) :)

And btw, I think this section is for Kotor modding subjects... but since this is modding related... eh, maybe it serves a better purpose in ahto space port cantina but w/e

Killwithhonor
10-10-2005, 09:20 AM
Well i wasnt sure so i just picked one, and thnx

ChAiNz.2da
10-10-2005, 09:40 AM
Well i wasnt sure so i just picked one, and thnx
You chose "wisely" ;)

Unfortunately, there's not alot of Xbox modders here (that I know of at least).. but it should be possible to use mods on an Xbox, provided it's a modded-Xbox.

You'll run into difficulties with certain models, as some tend to work, while others don't (usually if it involves animations such as sabers)...

Other than that, I believe it's feasible to mod for the Xbox. Of course you'll need to do the "work" on a PC as the tools themselves are designed for it.. but once done, it's a matter of FTP'ing it to your Xbox to test and such.

The one thing that will really be a problem is KotOR Tool. It looks for the game files on the PC and uses those resources to give us the files we use to 'build' from . If you don't have the game (for PC)... you're going to be very limited if not to the point of crippled due to non-existent 'base' files to work off of.

I'm of course a PC modder, so I'm not sure what other snags you may hit, but I thought you'd at least like to know of that one major one ;)

brwarner
10-10-2005, 01:34 PM
I was also thinking of making some mod capable for xbox and I have the PC version. I went to the site The_Maker put up but I don't get what it's trying to say. Anyway the question I really want answered is If I make a module on my PC is there a way I could use it in kotor on an xbox without alot of hassle.

ModderEarthHAHA
10-11-2005, 04:24 PM
I was also thinking of making some mod capable for xbox and I have the PC version. I went to the site The_Maker put up but I don't get what it's trying to say. Anyway the question I really want answered is If I make a module on my PC is there a way I could use it in kotor on an xbox without alot of hassle.

I'm an xbox-modder (basically only a xbox-modder). If any of you guys would like, I could test the mods for you to see if and how well they work for the xbox.
EDIT: I mean (of course) to test the mods you developed sp you can type in your readme or whatever if it works for the xbox or not. I'm not gonna test the same mod for every single person who'd like to run them.

Here's something to you guys modding for the xbox without the pc-version:
*KotOR Tool will only work with simplier functions such as editing dialogs and 2da-files.
*You will need an additional app to export the bif's.
*You won't be able to compile scripts (correct me if I'm wrong, but I never succeeded without the PC-version).
*As ChAiNz.2da mentioned already, you WILL need a modded xbox.

{snip (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=127725)}LucasForums does not condone piracy under any form.