PDA

View Full Version : Corriaban Cave issiue KOTOR II


CrimeScene
10-15-2005, 10:08 AM
The only mods I am running is holowan I have ver 1.3 and the patch for it game is all patched (auto patch).

I go to enter the cave and my game crashes,tryed 10x now no luck, I got this error message=

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16"?>
<DATABASE>
<EXE NAME="swkotor2.exe" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_PRIVACY">
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="binkw32.dll" SIZE="347136" CHECKSUM="0x468E384D" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.5.21.0" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.5.21.0" PRODUCT_VERSION="1.6b" FILE_DESCRIPTION="RAD Video Tools" COMPANY_NAME="RAD Game Tools, Inc." PRODUCT_NAME="Bink and Smacker" FILE_VERSION="1.6b" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright (C) 1994-2003, RAD Game Tools, Inc." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x0" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.5.21.0" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.5.21.0" LINK_DATE="12/10/2003 03:57:42" UPTO_LINK_DATE="12/10/2003 03:57:42" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="launcher.exe" SIZE="477696" CHECKSUM="0x8775BAFD" BIN_FILE_VERSION="2.0.0.0" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="2.0.0.0" PRODUCT_VERSION="2.0.0.0" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords" COMPANY_NAME="Obsidian Entertainment, Inc." PRODUCT_NAME="Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords" FILE_VERSION="2.0.0.0" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="" INTERNAL_NAME="Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT=" 2004 Lucasfilm Entertainment Company Ltd. or Lucasfilm Ltd. All rights reserved. BioWare Odyssey Engine 2001 - 2004 BioWare Corp. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="2.0.0.0" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="2.0.0.0" LINK_DATE="01/18/2005 02:10:33" UPTO_LINK_DATE="01/18/2005 02:10:33" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="Mss32.dll" SIZE="374272" CHECKSUM="0x6C7E9BC3" BIN_FILE_VERSION="6.6.7.0" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="6.6.7.0" PRODUCT_VERSION="6.6g" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Miles Sound System" COMPANY_NAME="RAD Game Tools, Inc." PRODUCT_NAME="Miles Sound System" FILE_VERSION="6.6g" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright (C) 1991-2004, RAD Game Tools, Inc." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x0" VERFILETYPE="0x1"

I know this is the plug in doing it,it runs ok with out it,I played this a few times without the plug in,but if I remove the plug in I have to reinstall
everything.

Any idea how to fix this?

CrimeScene

kdsphantom
10-15-2005, 02:02 PM
hiya Crimescene
man that is just one great mod ) darkender and crew are just pure genius
did ya check out this thread
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=149994
and read i know its a long long thread, getting to the last pages there is a known issue there and a fix ) check that out and see if that doesnt fix you up.

If its the issue I think your having then I had it too, and the fix will set you up :)
kdsphantom

cry_of_paine
10-15-2005, 02:40 PM
[Edit]It figures there'd be a fix for it. Oh well, if that doesn't work, you can always give this stuff a try, and hopefully some of this info is useful anyway. [Edit]

Ouch, that's a real head scratcher. There's not much to go on, so I've tried to be as thorough (read - long-winded) as possible.

First off, which version of Windows are you using. Also, your hardware info might be useful (video card, sound card, etc.) And the version of your drivers for them. But definately if nothing else, anytime you have an error, you want to post the version of Windows. My guess based on the format of the error is that it's XP. If so, is it home or pro?

I've done some searches. Here's a list of possible offenders:

Firewalls (no idea why, but you might try disabling it)
Windows Blinds (a theme utility for Windows XP)
Wallpaper manager (something to change your Windows background)
Multiple Monitors - if you have dual monitor output, try disabling one of them

In addition, you might try a few of the old standards. Go to Start, Run, and type "msconfig" (without quotes). Then, change it to Selective Startup, and uncheck Load Startup Group Items. Finally, go to the Services Tab, check the option that says to Hide All Microsoft Services, and uncheck whatever's left. When you reboot, check the option on the dialog that comes up (something about don't display this message or start Windows configuration utility). It's the only check box on that window.

I don't know if you've used this before, but that will disable all of the 3rd party stuff that loads when you load windows. You don't need any of it to run, although a few of your bells and whistles might not work. If that solves it, you have two options. Trial and error - go in, reenable some of the items, try it again. If it works, reenable some more and repeat. If not, disable some of the ones you just reenabled, and try again (the real world version of Minesweeper).

Option two if unchecking that stuff works, is to leave it that way. Like I said, it doesn't effect how windows runs (except to make it faster since it doesn't have all that stuff running in the background).

Standard 2 - update your drivers. Next to garbage in the background, this is the biggest cause of problems. A few of the issues I've found in my searches mention this being an issue with GDI+ (Graphics Display Interface). So updated video drivers might help.

Standard 3 - goes along with #1, but try disabling your anti-virus. Certain ones (I won't mention any names, but it starts with N and ends in orton) especially are almost as bad as the viruses they protect you from. Can't tell you how many problems I've seen that were caused by those. Some of them are even more invasive than the viruses themselves. Rather like hiring a 24 hour bodyguard to protect you from a stalker - instead of a crazed fan invading your life, you have a protector invading your life. Either way, you end up tripping over someone on your way to the bathroom. :xp:

A couple questions. First, it mentions the bink & smasher, as well as the miles sound system. Do you have either of those utilities installed? If so, it could be some kind of conflict, though why I have no idea.

Second, did you download the latest release from Obsidian, the updated movies/sounds? I've found that after doing that, most of the fmv's are acting a little twitchy.

You might try disabling the movies and music in your options. I don't recall there being any kind of fmv when you enter, but I don't have that mod, so they might have put one in. And of course, the music is always going.

You say this happens when you're trying to enter the cave on Korriban. How far do you get? Do you see the splash screen where it's loading the area, and if so, about how far into the load does it stop? Also, are you talking about when you enter the cave from the valley, or are you talking about when you go off on your own into the special section?

CrimeScene
10-15-2005, 06:02 PM
It crashes when I try to enter the special cave,it loads about 3/4 of the way then crashes.

All my anti-virus stuff is off.
All my drivers are up to date.
My system is up to date,not some year old dell stuff,theres to much to list,I can run any game at max settings smooth and high frame rates.
WIndows XP.
I have no idea what a bink and smasher is and I use a SB Card.
Disabling movies does not help
I have the lastest ver of the game,according to the auto update

CrimeScene

CrimeScene
10-15-2005, 06:31 PM
Ok I found the problom,it was a tga file that is messed up.

Thx for all the help and response.

Crime

maaneeack
10-16-2005, 05:41 PM
It took us weeks to find that offending file, but because of it you are able to get it fixed quickly, so enjoy. I honestly like trying to figure problems like that on out, I'm a bit of a masochist it seems, heh.

Out of curiosity, do you have sp2 on your windows xp install? Bink and Smasher refer to the in-game video player (cutscense) I believe.

Jackel
10-17-2005, 12:07 AM
bink is the file format the movies are in. If you download bink from Radtools.com you can watch the movies outside of the game. Nice way to see the movies you didnt see or to just rewatch those ones you liked.

CrimeScene
10-17-2005, 02:46 PM
Yes,I have SP2,im good working ok now thx,

CrimeScene