PDA

View Full Version : PC/Internet question! (Quick Response appreciated!)


Acrylic
10-17-2005, 09:06 PM
Alright, I have a question here, and I'd like it to be answered as quickly as possible, since I'll be going to Best Buy in an hour.

Okay, I have my new computer in my room and all, and downstairs, my dad has the other computer. I have the cable modem up here, and I gave my dad the wireless internet downstairs. He got fed up and mad after the fact that i would only connect for about 10 seconds after trying 5 minutes to get it to work.

So, wireless is out of the question.

Now, the thing is, that I want a constand (cable) connection in my room, and my dad wants a constant (cable) connection downstairs too. I talked to Kjolen, he said I can't have two cable modems. I would be willing to buy another one just so there can be two constant connections throughout the house, but apparently, that's not possible. Now, the other solution is to have a hole in the wall with an ethernet cable going down the wall downstairs, and having an ethernet jack in the wall downstairs to connect my computer to. But my mom A.) doesn't want holes in the wall and B.) doesn't want to pay for labor (even though I'm willing to pay for it).

Now, my question is, WHAT CAN I DO?! What are my options? Since we both want a constant connection.

A quick response is appreciated!!!!

Thank You!

-Acrylic

TiE23
10-17-2005, 09:16 PM
Get the cheapest switch or router you can find.

I don't know if the switch would work, but I think so.

And does the wireless router have jacks for ethernet cables in the back? Cause you can use those.

Kjølen
10-17-2005, 09:25 PM
Yes, Tie, the problem lies on how to get the ethernet cable across the house onto another floor.

Acrylic
10-17-2005, 09:26 PM
And does the wireless router have jacks for ethernet cables in the back? Cause you can use those.

Yeah, I could. See, thats the thing I was talking about, where I could connect it through the wall,but my mom's opposed to holes in the wall, and labor costs...o_0

TiE23
10-17-2005, 09:43 PM
Arr, well, umm, get wall mounts and stuff? >.>

Or just make really clean and un noticable holes and do the job without telling your mom, and tell her how harmless it was. But if you mess up, she'll be pissed and you will have to go get some plaster and a plaster knife (depending what kind of walls you have)

And I have no idea how you can fish wires through walls.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v123/Tie23/11crazy_smilie.gif

Edit: Radio shack would have better choices and people who know more.

shukrallah
10-17-2005, 10:31 PM
Can't you just set up a network?

You can buy roles with hundreds of feet of network cable... then just add on the RJ-45 connecters....

I think the wire configuration was orange-white, orange, green-white, blue, blue-white, green, brown-white, brown.

Slide em' in the rj-45 connector, close it up and you have custom network cables... pretty simple. :) ... oh yeah, you'll need a switch too... or a router... ;)

El Sitherino
10-18-2005, 01:26 AM
Small pipes to run through molding.

Or you can kill your mom and find an obedient woman to replace her, pay for plastic surgery to make her look exactly like your mom.

Char Ell
10-18-2005, 03:18 AM
What do you have for walls in your house anyway? RF shielding? I'm using 802.11a and it works wonderfully. No probs. It's so much better than having to fish Cat 5 cable through walls and attics.

toms
10-18-2005, 09:16 AM
I'm confused about why you can't use wireless?

edlib
10-18-2005, 11:07 AM
Get an antenna/ repeater for the wireless to boost the signal. Walk through the house, find the spot where the wireless signal is strongest, and place the antenna there.

Kjølen
10-18-2005, 06:09 PM
Get an antenna/ repeater for the wireless to boost the signal. Walk through the house, find the spot where the wireless signal is strongest, and place the antenna there.

Wouldn't you try to place it inbetween the computer and router? Because, chances are, the strongest point will be on you rrouter. Putting the antenna near your router would be useless.

shukrallah
10-18-2005, 07:38 PM
Hmmm... Well, I was thinking about attatching the cable to wall (just staple it near the floor/carpet.... won't look too tacky) with the long length you can string it all the way down stairs and to the other computer.

Personally, I would rather do that than cut the walls... and... yeah...

RoxStar
10-18-2005, 08:29 PM
Yeah, I could. See, thats the thing I was talking about, where I could connect it through the wall,but my mom's opposed to holes in the wall, and labor costs...o_0

I pulled the wire to my room myself...

Wheres your room relative to your basement/crawlspace?

Ya, buy a router, and then a swtich for next to your computer. Routers are also good for blocking against spyware and stuff.

edlib
10-18-2005, 08:58 PM
Wouldn't you try to place it inbetween the computer and router? Because, chances are, the strongest point will be on you rrouter. Putting the antenna near your router would be useless.
Well, I expect a certain level of logic and reason to it. :rolleyes:
If the signal is strong in the living-room that's halfway between the router and computer, then that would be the ideal place. Usually the top or bottom of a staircase is sufficient.

But pulling wire is still the best solution.

Acrylic
10-18-2005, 11:46 PM
I'm confused about why you can't use wireless?

Because I don't want it, and my dad doesn't want it. 'Nuff said. :-p

Anyways, I found a cheaper/easier way to do this myself, of which I don't feel like explaining at the moment, but I will tomorrow.

BCanr2d2
10-25-2005, 04:43 AM
What about Ethernet over electricity cables??!!

Acrylic
10-25-2005, 07:05 PM
Oops, forgot to post in this thread again.

I forgot to tell everyone what I did.

I converted Cat5 phonelines that i'd never use anyways into an ethernet line basically. i had to buy ends, and different wall plates, but yeah. It works great now!

I'm happy, and my dad's happy.

I mean, we got over 35 feet of cable, 6 end connectors, and 2 wall plates for $15. Compare that to how much I'd have to pay for someone else to do it.

It took me about an hour to do, since I've never done something like this before, I had to kinda watch out. Luckily, the guy at the store spent like, a half hour of his time explaining how to do this. But yeah, it works great! :)

El Sitherino
10-25-2005, 07:13 PM
Re-wiring, always fun.

Acrylic
10-27-2005, 12:18 AM
Re-wiring, always fun.

I hope you were being serious.

Because it actually was pretty fun.

It was new and cool to me!

And I wouldnt mind doing this type of stuff for people.

It's just grand! :D

Captain Wilson
10-27-2005, 12:54 AM
When we had this problem, my dad gave me a drill and told me to wire up a network, knowing full well im crap at DIY. My older brother was given the wonderfull task of patching up all the holes in the celings (We had to get wire up 3 floors).

El Sitherino
10-27-2005, 01:24 AM
I hope you were being serious.
I'm always serious.

Re-wiring is very fun.

MTV2
10-27-2005, 11:36 AM
can't have two cables? thats odd, cuz i have like 6 cables running threw my house w/ 3 modems and like 2 routers...