PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Joystick.


Nute Gunray
05-23-2000, 09:01 PM
Why would my comp say that my joystick is connected, even though it is? I mean, my brother is physically pushing the thing into the port and holding it there and it's saying it's not connected.

------------------
Better to live one day as a lion, than a hundred years as a sheep

ViRGE
05-24-2000, 01:56 AM
What stick, sound card, drivers, ect?

Nute Gunray
05-24-2000, 02:03 AM
Gravis Blackhawk Digital. I don't know what sound card, or why that would have anything to do with it. The drivers for the stick are whatever came on the disk. Those worked fine til yesterday. I got the same error yesterday and thought I fixed, but it just refused to work today

------------------
Better to live one day as a lion, than a hundred years as a sheep
redstormvfa87@icqmail.com

K_Kinnison
05-24-2000, 08:23 PM
are you using a game port or USB? and how is t suppose to be connected to the computer?

Do you have an updated driver, or is there a program that needs to be run?

Lastly, some times ppl like to bend the connecters a lot, that causes the little wires inside the cord to..well, break

Another trouble shoot you can do..is buy a cheap 5 t o10 dollar joystcik and usre it...if the problem persists it is the port, if the cruddy cheap-o joystcik works..you might have to say good-bye to your Gravis Blackhawk Digital

------------------
Has the mass media reached a verdict yet?
BOW DOWN BEFORE the Official Forum Pun-isher

Nute Gunray
05-24-2000, 08:36 PM
I literally have no idea. I don't know hardware at all. It's probably just a dead joystick. It's been making a grinding noise recently on occasion. We've been thinking about getting a new one for a few months. Maybe now's the time.

------------------
Better to live one day as a lion, than a hundred years as a sheep
redstormvfa87@icqmail.com

ViRGE
05-25-2000, 02:03 AM
The Blackhawk Digital uses the PC gameport, which is part of your sound card. So, we have to know what soundcard and drivers you have if you want to be helped Nute. http://www.xwingalliance.com/forums/frown.gif

Nute Gunray
05-25-2000, 07:50 PM
Uh, it's a SB AudioPCI 64V.
It's on the latest drivers, as I updated it back when I was trying to get Roger Wilco to work a few months ago. It's a very quirky card.

------------------
I will kill Nute with my semi-pornographic rifle!--Poor Bastard
redstormvfa87@icqmail.com

ViRGE
05-26-2000, 01:07 AM
Humm, stop by http://anandforums.gisystech.com/ , you should be able to find some help there.