PDA

View Full Version : Help with custom jedi robe please


AnakinSolaris
10-20-2005, 05:10 PM
I have KOTORTool to create a custom jedi robe for the exile, which I have named a_robe_31, by using copying one of the master robes and changing the attributes. I have edited the texture, but what do I need to name the .tga file?

Second question is related to the placement of the item. I want the robe to appear in the Exile's locker on the Harbinger together with the Exile's armband. I've looked through all the Harbinger locations using KOTORTool, but can't seem to find the location of this locker. Does anyone know please?

Thanks

Achilles
10-20-2005, 05:54 PM
Is the texture going to be added to a unique robe are you overriding an existing file? In other words is this a brand new robe or are you gutting an existing robe and modding it?

If it's a brand new robe, then you'll need to change the texture variable of the robe to match the new number that you've assigned the texture file itself. If you're writing over an existing robe, then simple rename the texture file to match the name of the original file. Pretty simple.

As for the placeable, you're going to have to script it in. There are a few mods that utilize this placeable. If push comes to shove, you could probably find one and reverse engineer it to figure out how it's done. I would offer more advice but I haven't used any of the aforementioned mods and my scripting skills...well, they're non-existent.

I hope that I could at least get you started. Good luck with your mod.

AnakinSolaris
10-21-2005, 05:56 AM
Its a brand new robe, based upon Master Robe 25, but I have named it Master Robe 31 (a_robe_31). Does that mean that I need to re-name the texture file to a_robe_31.tga?

Sorry for my ignorance, but I am a total noob at this

Darth333
10-21-2005, 09:29 AM
You simply modified the *.uti file? If so, no, you don't need to change anything else. You could name your robe whatever you want such as thisismyrobe.uti (as long as it has less than 16 characters) and it would work.

Bob Lion54
10-21-2005, 09:42 AM
At the bottom right of the UTI, there is a field labled "Texture Variation." Change that to 31.
The texture you made should be named PMBN31 for male and PFBN31 for female.
The "M" in PMBN stands for male, and the "F" stands for female.

Lets say you were working with was PMBN02, which is the texture for master robe "25". (We know this because it has a texture variation of 2.) Just backspace the "02" off and type "31". Really, it dosn't matter which robe you used, as long as the TGA had PFBN or PMBN as the suffix, as the "N" stands for the master robe.

For the icon, you want to name it "ia_robe_31". The "i" stands for icon and the "a_robe_31" should be the same as the name of the UTI.

Its easy to make both the female and male versions. You don't have to redo the texture. Just make a copy of the completed texture and either change the "F" to an "M" or the "M" to an "F".

Drop in override and you have a new robe!!
BTW, the giveitem cheat will be whatever the UTI is named. In this case, it would be a_robe_31.

Hope that helps!

EDIT: ack! I was already typing, when Darth333 posted. hehe

I was under the impression that you had already made a new texture, if not, then just do what Darth333 said.