PDA

View Full Version : When packing my modules and override folder!?!?


The Source
10-26-2005, 01:28 PM
When packing my modules and override folder!?!?

Since it has been a while, I have forgotten about this issue. When I am packing my modules and override folder, so I can finish up a mod, do I place the .UTI files, for robes, lightsabers and armor, in the override folder or do I pack them in my module file?

Pavlos
10-26-2005, 01:37 PM
I think you just keep the .uti files in the override, unless you only want them to be in the particular .mod you have made. I THINK

Darth333
10-26-2005, 02:29 PM
It depends: you can put them all in the override folder and it will work. However, it's a messy method.

You can pack all the items that are module specific into the .mod file. Per example, if you want a unique lightsaber to be given to your pc during a specific quest in module A (like the sith lightsaber in the Naga Sadow tomb in K1), then you can pack it in the module.

Fred Tetra
10-26-2005, 02:31 PM
I think you just keep the .uti files in the override, unless you only want them to be in the particular .mod you have made. I THINK

I pack everything into the .mod file. The resource manager in the game engine looks for referenced items first in the override directory, then in your .mod file, then in the .bif files, so if your .git refers to UT* file, it will find it in your .mod file.

Pavlos
10-26-2005, 03:05 PM
Hmmz that is odd a key I created wouldn't work when I put it in my .mod but did in the Override, I'll mess around with it later but right now I'm pleased that I got it to work.

The Source
10-26-2005, 08:04 PM
I pack everything into the .mod file. The resource manager in the game engine looks for referenced items first in the override directory, then in your .mod file, then in the .bif files, so if your .git refers to UT* file, it will find it in your .mod file.

It depends: you can put them all in the override folder and it will work. However, it's a messy method.

You can pack all the items that are module specific into the .mod file. Per example, if you want a unique lightsaber to be given to your pc during a specific quest in module A (like the sith lightsaber in the Naga Sadow tomb in K1), then you can pack it in the module.

When it comes to upgrading items, would I have problems with the items if they are in the modules?

I am placing items in the inventory of characters and placeables.

TheOssusKeeper
10-26-2005, 09:31 PM
you should'nt have no trouble upgrading any of the items in the module... they should work like normal...

Fred Tetra
10-27-2005, 12:29 AM
you should'nt have no trouble upgrading any of the items in the module... they should work like normal...

So... that means he will have some trouble, then? :)

TheOssusKeeper
10-27-2005, 02:29 AM
So... that means he will have some trouble, then? :)

huuuuu??? :eyeraise: I don't get it!

you won't be able to upgrade any of the items that get packed in a module?

Fred Tetra
10-27-2005, 10:07 AM
huuuuu??? :eyeraise: I don't get it!

you won't be able to upgrade any of the items that get packed in a module?

I was referring to your use of a double negative. Saying someone should not have no trouble is saying that they likely will :)

TheOssusKeeper
10-27-2005, 02:57 PM
I was referring to your use of a double negative. Saying someone should not have no trouble is saying that they likely will :)

Oooohhh, ok... :D

I guess I should have said... "you shouldn't have any trouble upgrading the items in the module..." which would be proper english... ;)
but I wasn't thinking about that at the time, hehehe...
the funny thing is, I know my english (proper english), but I rarely use it, :lol:

The Source
10-27-2005, 04:45 PM
Oooohhh, ok... :D

I guess I should have said... "you shouldn't have any trouble upgrading the items in the module..." which would be proper english... ;)
but I wasn't thinking about that at the time, hehehe...
the funny thing is, I know my english (proper english), but I rarely use it, :lol:

Hehehehe... :)

To All: THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP!

Now, I can finish the mod I am working on...