PDA

View Full Version : Droids and melee fighting


Prime
11-03-2005, 12:05 PM
I'm pretty sure I know the answer, but do any of the droids in KOTOR/TSL have melee animations where they could use melee weapons?

General Kenobi
11-03-2005, 04:41 PM
Nope non that I'm aware of buddy. :(

I tried everyone I could find one night and found some REALLY interesting unused droids, BUT at best they would only do the "hitting attack" like the droid T3 picks a fight with in Vogga's warehouse does. I couldn't even get them to show anytype of melee weapon in their hands when equipped.

Hope that helps a bit :thumbsup:

:ben:
General Kenobi

Darth InSidious
11-04-2005, 07:02 AM
Yeah there are some interesting droids, in particular "Droid_Nul" in appearance.2da....

Prime
11-04-2005, 11:35 AM
Nope non that I'm aware of buddy. :(I suspected as much, but that is disappointing. I was contemplating doing a IG-100 Magnaguard mod. Oh well...

Darkkender
11-04-2005, 12:38 PM
I think Oldflash has made some forward advances with animations of different sorts maybe he might be able to take a look into droid animations and try to add them in. It's just a thought and I might be giving him alot more credit than is warranted.

oldflash
11-04-2005, 06:48 PM
HK47 seems to have most complete animations integrated in mdl/mdx but not for melee weapons. I give him abities to use melee weapons and lightsabers but it freeze when is try to use this.
:( Sorry to give you bad news.

General Kenobi
11-04-2005, 09:05 PM
HK47 seems to have most complete animations integrated in mdl/mdx but not for melee weapons. I give him abities to use melee weapons and lightsabers but it freeze when is try to use this.
:( Sorry to give you bad news.

Yep did the same. :D I so wanted HK to be a double saber wielding droid jed master :D

:ben:
General Kenobi

svösh
11-04-2005, 11:36 PM
It’s a VERY long shot and just a wild idea, but .. if you take Hk , and you take a normal player .mdl / .mdx model you use the old player model to compile with your ascii hk. Take an armour models as it won’t have any cloak anims , it just might compile using the player anims on hk , or you will get a hell of a mess of faces and verts in game similar or worse then this http://svoshsphotos.fotopic.net/p5817321.html

But hey it’s worth a try ;) Skin mesh can be very picky.. :| but basically it should be the same number of bones, I’m just not sure about the head anims... but it’s a long shot from the get go so don’t put too much thought in to it.

svösh

oldflash
11-05-2005, 03:44 AM
Look what I get by mixing female robe model (ascii) with male robe model (bin).
http://q-net.netfirms.com/cmd/06.html

I was thinking to something else.
To replace human mesh with hk mesh. I will try when I get home.
I don't think will work compiling hk ascii with other bin.
It's something odd with aurora base
http://q-net.netfirms.com/clipboard01.html
I need to take a close view on this.

MdKnightR
11-05-2005, 05:10 AM
Look what I get by mixing female robe model (ascii) with male robe model (bin).


Oh my GOD! That is weird, but funny!

svösh
11-06-2005, 08:41 PM
After closer inspection of Hk the only way to do this is make an identical bone rig to humans . Hk’s torso, pelvis, and thighs, “are” his bone meaning the tri mesh is the bone , the rest of him moves from helpers and pivot points, and key framed animations. The only part of him that is skin mesh are a few tubes , basically in order to do this you would have to build a full bone system just like humans or copy one ;) , the bones are also used to create the drop shadow. So their geom. should roughly resemble each body part of the model. Next you would need to weight all his mesh as skin mesh to all the new bones, if all the bones are named exactly like humans could you get hk to compile with a human model and be able to use melee weapons.
He would also require all the other body helpers especially light saber hook, and hand conjure helper like all the other body models he could use his driod powers like force users do . A few lines in Animation2da for hk and possibly appearance.2da, might have to modified as well.

svösh

oldflash
11-07-2005, 03:29 AM
Until now all tests have fail.
To equip melee weapons I was need to change race from droid to human. No animation!
I added "hand conjure" dummy and recompile model with HK47 bin base. Model crash!
However, all melee animations seems to be linked to hand conjure or al least that's how look to be set in animations.2da

REDJOHNNYMIKE
11-08-2005, 02:13 AM
Ha, you're speaking greek to me, but I've gotten sabers to work on some droid appearences before, by using KSE to change party members appearences, it can be a little glitchy, but it's droids with sabers:D

JediKnight707
11-08-2005, 02:35 AM
I suspected as much, but that is disappointing. I was contemplating doing a IG-100 Magnaguard mod. Oh well...

That would be ****ing sweet :)

Prime
11-08-2005, 11:43 AM
Unfortunately it sounds like the idea is dead! :D

Darth InSidious
11-08-2005, 11:47 AM
Couldn't you make a very, very thin person? Say, collapse them down to the right size?

RobQel-Droma
11-08-2005, 11:55 AM
Boy, I wish you could do this. Maybe they will do this in KotOR III, although probably with only certain droids.

coaxmetal
11-08-2005, 09:06 PM
If HK-47 would be too hard to recreate, why not just build a humanoid droid mesh from a regular or unique model which works with the melee animations?
Yes, it'd be a lot of work, but since you wouldn't have to rebuild his skeleton and whatnot if you designed it well enough, it might be easier than working with the mesh.
The wookiee odels might be quite useful for that, as they give you big models to start with, so it might not be imposslble to make something large and robotic out of that. Might be easier if you use the mod that makes Zaalbar into a regular furball wookie and then mess with his custom mesh. This also has the benefit of prohibiting the use of headgear, since neither droids nor wookies can use the stuff, but since that's governed by the subspecies stat...yeah, not too hard to mess around with it.
I'd like to try it myself, obviously, but don't have the modeling skills yet.

oldflash
11-09-2005, 03:29 AM
If HK-47 would be too hard to recreate, why not just build a humanoid droid mesh from a regular or unique model which works with the melee animations?
Yes, it'd be a lot of work, but since you wouldn't have to rebuild his skeleton and whatnot if you designed it well enough, it might be easier than working with the mesh.
The wookiee odels might be quite useful for that, as they give you big models to start with, so it might not be imposslble to make something large and robotic out of that. Might be easier if you use the mod that makes Zaalbar into a regular furball wookie and then mess with his custom mesh. This also has the benefit of prohibiting the use of headgear, since neither droids nor wookies can use the stuff, but since that's governed by the subspecies stat...yeah, not too hard to mess around with it.
I'd like to try it myself, obviously, but don't have the modeling skills yet.

A human model doesn't matter how much you will edit It will move like a human. And we talk here about all animations not only combat anim. About body models editing: we could edit-it. Light edit. Move to much any vertex or edge and you will get what svösh's get. At least it was lucky I never was able to get a screenshot. All view was full of odd polys. I doesn't like what I tell but making a droid who can weild melee weapons is impossible for me. I still look forward if anyone will do that.

Darkkender
11-09-2005, 12:11 PM
When I was playing with T3's body mesh for the prototype R2 unit I discovered there are numerous vert coords that are not welded together that no matter how hard you try you seem to always have stragglers for hours of painstaking detail of going back and forth of changing. There is just so much meticulous locating of various vert coords and moving one by one when you start messing with a body model that a mind can handle before screaming.

svösh
11-09-2005, 06:55 PM
Coaxmeatal has a good Idea to use wookies bones for hight but they would also be to way to bulky. The bones on these models are like low poly shapes as large as the render able mesh , they do this to project the drop shadows, skin mesh can’t drop shadows.

For the mask to show on a character the model must have the mask and or goggle helpers on their head model or if it’s a one piece model then on the bodies head. The .uti doesn’t fully restrict it , if the model is without those hooks then all the .uti is doing is giving you a heads up. That would also mean unique sized models specifically for wookies , they would have to be larger then normal mask for the pc and npc’s and more work for the devs….

Dk the welding error a bunch of you guys have spoken about is nothing to worry about and if you used nwmax 0.7 then you don’t ever see it it’s a sanity error check that can be turned off in the sanity checklist, that for some reason is checked on by default in nwmax 0.8.

Hk’s mesh is 98.99 % tri mesh , like a gun or sword. Human‘s mesh is 100 % skin , it has a full bones system, however if we bone hk up and weigh him as mostly rigid skin mesh he would move like humans but he would also be stiffer in his movements.

That pic I posted above of Bastila was a test of removing her flaps , the flaps bones had nothing to weight and as you can see it caused a big mess and that was my first skin mesh test long ago … since then I and others haven done many test and changes on bodies successfully.

Any way you look at this it’s a fair bit of work. ;)

svösh