PDA

View Full Version : Death of GMax?


cchargin
11-09-2005, 02:52 AM
Hello all,

I did a search for this here, but I did not find any hits. I also don't recall seeing a post about this.

It looks like GMax is getting axed:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?id=5562445&siteID=123112

For the time being you can still download it at:

http://www.turbosquid.com/gmax

Moderators, should this be posted at Holowan also so that all modders are aware?

Darth InSidious
11-09-2005, 09:16 AM
O_o
I wonder why?
Do they think it's detracting from sales of 3dsmax? Cuz at the price they charge, verry little is going to increase sales IMHO....

Darth333
11-09-2005, 10:30 AM
I updated the link in the tools sticky a few weeks ago.

It looks like the abandonment of Gmax has something to see with the recent purchase of Alias (who made Maya) by Autodesk.

Darkkender
11-09-2005, 11:58 AM
This is not surprising in the least bit. I guess this is further motivation to get copies of 3ds Max for I and my friend/business partner for our development of a video game.

REDJOHNNYMIKE
11-10-2005, 02:21 AM
I haven't used it much, and don't know it really well, so are there any related downloads that I wouldn't have gotten with it, that aren't going to be available, or is it just the main program?

Renegade Angel
12-09-2005, 08:22 PM
That sucks. i'm gonna go get it from TurboSquid before they decide to remove it from there too.

Darth_Luminus
10-31-2006, 11:11 PM
Before Gmax has it's last meal, can someone tell me how to export my models as mdl's.

TWENTY-ONE GUN SALLUTE!
:launcher:
:launcher:
:launcher:
:launcher:
:launcher:
:launcher:
:launcher:

One, Two, Three. Okay, Siece Fire! Are you smilies Listening?

*I appologize to any war veterains and anyone else that reads this post. It isn't funny is it.*
*I also appologize for my BAAAAAD spelling.*

Darth333
11-03-2006, 02:11 PM
Before Gmax has it's last meal, can someone tell me how to export my models as mdl's.
Did you read the readme that comes with mdlops?

Darth-Meatbag
12-07-2006, 09:41 PM
Before Gmax has it's last meal, can someone tell me how to export my models as mdl's.

TWENTY-ONE GUN SALLUTE!
:launcher:
:launcher:
:launcher:
:launcher:
:launcher:
:launcher:
:launcher:

One, Two, Three. Okay, Siece Fire! Are you smilies Listening?

*I appologize to any war veterains and anyone else that reads this post. It isn't funny is it.*
*I also appologize for my BAAAAAD spelling.*

That was only seven guns :P.

ONTOPIC: Sad sad sad, SAAAAD, this is what I used for Warcraft 3 Modeling
:(::: . Warcraft map makers are going to fall down and die... Lol

~Darth-Meatbag

jezter
02-07-2007, 03:52 AM
you can download it here

Download Gmax Here (http://dl.qj.net/index.php?pg=12&fid=7091&catid=438)

Dark_Jedi
11-16-2007, 12:43 PM
Can modders replace it with milkshape?
Its not free but its got a low price. I've been wondering this for a while.

Angelus6
03-27-2008, 03:33 AM
you could just go with Blender seeing as its a little harder, but has extensons for .mdl and plugins for all max extensions


f you can flearn to use it that is, cos blender is a nightmare if you havent read tutorials