PDA

View Full Version : Virus


Darthrevan_3
11-09-2005, 09:09 PM
Whenever i try to download a mod from u guys, my computer gets a virus. Could u please check ur mods over for virusus. please. and the Kotor tool and the other thing have viruses too. could any1 please fix that?

Jeff
11-09-2005, 09:12 PM
I can assure you that the mods are not what are causing the virus'. Neither is KT. Thousands of people download the mods people here make, and I don't think any of them have gotten a virus from one.

I would recommend doing a virus scan on your computer and if you do have a virus or two (or more), you'll be able to see where it's coming from.

Darth333
11-09-2005, 09:14 PM
I've been downloading just about every mod that is being made and never got a virus. Check your settings.

Darthrevan_3
11-09-2005, 09:17 PM
i have. I had to wipe my hard drive. omg that took so long... then i downloaded them again and virus scan.. theres a trojan. oh well.. :dozey:

Darth333
11-09-2005, 09:31 PM
Well I can assure you that it does not come from the mods or Kotor tool.

Mono_Giganto
11-09-2005, 11:07 PM
Yeah, I had about a gig of mods in each override folder before I got a new computer. Not one virus. It's not us.

90SK
11-09-2005, 11:11 PM
Are you sure there isn't something else on your PC that's letting them in?

RedHawke
11-09-2005, 11:30 PM
Like Mono stated, I have over a 1.5 gig's of mod zip's and rar's and not one virus.

Likely Darthrevan_3 you have a nasty Trojan on your machine, one that might effect all files you download, this would allow the virus to spread itself.

Because it isn't our files.

JediKnight707
11-10-2005, 01:41 AM
Yup, I have never put a virus in my downloads, nor have I ever recieved one. Its something else man :)

oldflash
11-10-2005, 02:10 AM
Never heard about a virust in .tga files or .mdl/.mdx or .uti even if they are in zip format. You must have something who dl some viruses instead of requested archives but with same name. Check if your dowloaded files are same size as they should have (in mod informations you will find "File Size:").

General Kenobi
11-10-2005, 03:55 PM
I agree with RedHawke up there ;)

It's most likely a virus or worm that has embedded itself in something hard to clean like your system restore points and the like and is evading your capture. Also it might simply be your virus scanner sees script files or the like inside of a .rar and thinks them a virus.

I have Mcafee Enterprise installed which is the best they offer and it does catch EVERYTHING even joke programs and spyware & I've never in several years of downloading mods EVER gotten one through a maker who cut his teeth at Holowan.

Some worms are indeed intelligent enough to automatically "embedd" themselves in all files coming in or going out. One comes to mind I had once called "Pate" I believe it was. It was so hard hitting it infected faster than my "On Access Scan" could keep up. 13,000 and some odd instances in a matter of minutes!!!

When you say wiped do you mean literally zeroed out your hard drive with a program like AutoClave or the like first or did it with Windows CD or did it by pushing down an existing image of the machine?

The reason I ask is all of those things have different levels of "wiping or erasing" the HD. If you do keep having the problem I'd recommend first trying downloading and installing both Ad-Aware (from their site not a hacked version) and updating it. Then download and install Spybot Search & Destroy as well. Both programs do the same thing with similar results. But the compliment eachother in the sense I've found is one program will catch something another misses.

I'd also recommend getting a pro level virus scanner. I don't know your surfing habits but porn sites, warez sites are both very very notorious for embedding these everywhere on their sites. A pro level virus scanner like Mcafee Enterprise is much better at cleaning and preventing these types of infections than their cheaper "general consumer" counterparts are.

If you do have to wipe your pc again I'd recommend downloading autoclave first and putting it on a floppy or CD. Then before you install or format your drive for your OS, run autoclave and set it to zero out the HD about 4 levels deep. NASA uses 4 levels and if they think it's securely wiped. ;)

Then once that's done reinstall your OS with your CD or image.

If you are using an image to rebuild your machine, make sure your image is dated far enough back before you ever saw this problem arise or it could be already cloned in the image.

EDIT: As for the pics like tga, jpg, tiff, etc. having them in them YES they can indeed if done right but highly unlikely. They are extremely hard to make and a good spyware cleaner will find them most every time anyway.

I'd also recommend if your on wireless a "secure" wireless connection since if you live close to strangers they can easily connect to your "network" through your open access point. Also check other pc's in the home if yours isn't the only one in the workgroup or domain (depending on what you've set up for yourself)

Hope that helps a bit and good luck :thumbsup:

:ben:
General Kenobi

SITHSLAYER133
11-10-2005, 04:16 PM
i dont think modders are either that crazed or stupid to actualy send out a virus into the comunity

DarkExcalibur42
11-10-2005, 04:53 PM
if they did i don't pity them for the lynch mob that would hunt them down...

But I know all about viruses. My computer has received FAR TOO MANY OF them in the past. Darthrevan_3, i'd believe jawas could fly before this site or it's mods gave you viruses.

You might want to look into what other sites you're visiting. This place is clean.
*rubs finger over counter-top*
*SQUEAK*

General Kenobi
11-10-2005, 05:26 PM
I agree DarkExcalibur42...BUT....

I'm actually REALLY surprised that regulars on here downloaders/posters/modders etc. haven't gotten anything from anyone yet. Considering I've seen just about every country with a computer's citizens on here posting at one time or another.

I figured for sure by now there would be some actual hacker try it since it would be pretty easy. Given the fact that there are some people out there who bought a pc say from Wal-Mart or the like that had a 6 month Norton Anti-Virus install and after that you'd have to pay to update it; I'm amazed someone hasn't unknowingly done just this.

I'm not sure but I'm betting also the server the forums runs from has up a firewall or an Anti-Virus or even both.

Your right though if someone sent something to mess up someones files they'd prob. literally hunt them down...lol ;)

I agree as to your "other sites" as well. Most all leave cookes or the like on your pc. I've been to several myself that put some pretty nasty ones on there for tracking purposes and they were reputible businesses.

I'm convinced somewhere in some back corner of some office building at MS headquarters there is a disgruntled employee saying, "Ooh yeah how about I open up a hole a quarter mile wide so we'll need ANOTHER 100MB plus service pack."

Like someone has enough time (or most don't even have high speed) to be expected to keep a PC safe with 200-300 MB worth of downloads. I'm thinking the download for SP2 for XP would take ooh 2 days or so at 20K or the like. :rolleyes:

I say BLAME MICROSOFT...lol ;)

:ben:
General Kenobi