PDA

View Full Version : Help :S (script problem)


ZuZo
11-24-2005, 10:00 AM
Hey.

I'v having problem with a script i'm making. When I'm pressin compile It comes:
error:syntax error : expected string; found IDENTIFER

Line:
affect < $rotadoor1$, ¤FLUSH$ >


Does some one know what to do??
plz help


ZuZo

melord
11-25-2005, 03:28 AM
Well I really couldn't tell you why though I fear you may not get a response soon.

You can ask your question here:

http://forums.filefront.com/forumdisplay.php?f=122

as well.


Hope you get the info you are seeking.

StaffSaberist
11-27-2005, 12:10 AM
You will have an answer soon... please post the entire script. I may be able to help out.

ZuZo
11-30-2005, 04:04 PM
I didnt see the post befor now. . . :P :( but shpuld i upload the script file??
I'v made it with behaveED

StaffSaberist
11-30-2005, 07:24 PM
Well, no. Here's what you can do:

1) Highlight all of your lines in BehavEd.
2) Click 'Copy'.
3) Make another post, and make [ code ] [ /code ] tags without the spaces.
4) Press Control and V. All the code will be there. Submit the post.

It may be a good idea to preview before you post, to make sure the [ code ] tags are working. It should look like this:

Your code from BehavEd would go here.

ZuZo
12-01-2005, 09:46 AM
ok here it is

//(BHVD)
rem ( "opens swings doors" );

affect ( $rotadoor1$, $FLUSH$ )
{

task ( "drota1" )
{
rotate ( < 0.000 90.000 0.000 >, 2500.000 );
}

do ( "drota1" );
}


affect ( $rotadoor1$, $FLUSH$ )
{
do ( "drota1" );

task ( "drota1" )
{
rotate ( $0 -90 0.000000$, 2500.000 );
}

}

wait ( 7000.000 );

affect ( $rotadoor2$, $FLUSH$ )
{

task ( "drota2" )
{
rotate ( < 0.000 90.000 0.000 >, 2500.000 );
}

do ( "drota2" );
}


affect ( $rotadoor1$, $FLUSH$ )
{

task ( "drota2" )
{
rotate ( $0 -90 0.000000$, 2500.000 );
}

do ( "drota2" );
}




its a script for rotating doors

StaffSaberist
12-01-2005, 10:56 AM
Ah! I see a problem right away. I'm not sure how you did the affect, but the affect should look like this:
affect ( "rotadoor1", /*@AFFECT_TYPE*/ FLUSH )

I think what causes kooky problems like that is that you may have the paths set to the wrong place.

OK, my paths are like this: I have JO installed to the default location. Also, I have BehavEd set to be installed in a Tools folder in GameData. Your mileage may vary.

OK, technically, it's JA I have BehavEd set up for, but it works for JO, and I do own both. Let me modify the paths:

1. Location of scripts:

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Base\scripts

2. Location of IBIZE.EXE:

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II \Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools\IBIze.exe

3. Command description file:

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools\behaved.bhc

4. Source Files path (IMPORTANT!!!)

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools\SourceForBehavEd

This assumes that BehavEd is in GameData\Tools\BehavEd.EXE. If not, let me know. Anyway, after setting the preferences, do you get a whole crud-load of errors at the bottom? If so, the paths are not correctly set. If you set the prefs the way I do and you get any errors t the bottom, let me know where you have BehavEd installed. :)

Good luck; scripting's a real pain in the wazoo sometimes.

ZuZo
12-01-2005, 11:43 AM
i'm just getting $ in front of my "rotatoor1" :( i dont know how to get it work :S could you do it for me?? :( *-) plz




And where should i put this: *@AFFECT_TYPE* ??
I'm nwe in scripting



ZuZo

StaffSaberist
12-01-2005, 07:12 PM
What? Setting the prefs didn't work? Where do you have BehavEd installed to? Please tell me the full path. I'll see if I can help after that.

And the affect type should be on the same line. It's all part of the Affect. Notice it was affect type, then flush.

ZuZo
12-02-2005, 06:09 PM
ok, here is the path: C:\Program Files\LucasArts\GameData\Radiant-1.4\behavEd
I put it to Radiant folder, becous the tutorail said i should to that, i downloaded
the program without the rest of the tools :P

StaffSaberist
12-05-2005, 01:30 AM
Sorry I've been gone so long. I was... busy. ;)

OK. Here's what you should do:

In BehavEd, go to Prefs.

Set your paths as follows:

1. Location of scripts:

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Base\scripts

2. Location of IBIZE.EXE:

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II \Jedi Outcast\GameData\Tools\IBIze.exe

3. Command description file:

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Radiant-1.4\behaved.bhc


4. Source Files path (IMPORTANT!!!)

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\Radiant-1.4\SourceForBehavEd

Let me know if that makes it work. Keep in mind that you will need to redo the Set and other commands. Good luck.

ZuZo
12-05-2005, 10:30 AM
I'v set it like you said. but it still dont working :S I cant change the name on the affect. . . :S

StaffSaberist
12-05-2005, 11:12 AM
What if you create a new Affect?

ZuZo
12-05-2005, 12:46 PM
Should it be like this

//(BHVD)

affect ( "rotadoor", /*@AFFECT_TYPE*/ FLUSH )
{
}

ZuZo
12-05-2005, 12:52 PM
yeeehoo!!!! I got it work!!! Thnx Staff!!!


//(BHVD)
rem ( "opens swings doors" );

affect ( "rotadoor1", /*@AFFECT_TYPE*/ FLUSH )
{
do ( "drota1" );

task ( "drota1" )
{
rotate ( < 0.000 90.000 0.000 >, 2500.000 );
}

}


affect ( "rotadoor2", /*@AFFECT_TYPE*/ FLUSH )
{
do ( "drota2" );

task ( "drota2" )
{
rotate ( < 0.000 90.000 0.000 >, 2500.000 );
}

}

wait ( 7000.000 );

affect ( "rotadoor1", /*@AFFECT_TYPE*/ FLUSH )
{
do ( "drota1" );

task ( "drota1" )
{
rotate ( < 0.000 90.000 0.000 >, 2500.000 );
}

}


affect ( "rotadoor2", /*@AFFECT_TYPE*/ FLUSH )
{
do ( "drota2" );

task ( "drota2" )
{
rotate ( < 0.000 90.000 0.000 >, 2500.000 );
}

}

StaffSaberist
12-05-2005, 07:29 PM
Hey, you're welcome. :D