PDA

View Full Version : game crashing


DarthRevan2102
12-04-2005, 02:21 AM
everytime i try to play the game... it kicks me off to the desktop as im trying to get to the endar spire. (KOTOR 1) any reason why?

The Doctor
12-04-2005, 11:53 AM
This is how I fixed this problem:
Right Click > Properties > Settings > Advanced > Intel(R) Extreme Graphics > Graphics Properties > Open GL > Flipping Policy > Flip (not Blit).

DarthRevan2102
12-04-2005, 12:18 PM
where is open GL?

The Doctor
12-04-2005, 12:52 PM
It should be one of the tabs at the top of the window.

DarthRevan2102
12-04-2005, 12:54 PM
The tabs at my graphics controller properties are Devices, Color, Schemes, Hot Keys, Rotation, and Information. I dont see an Open GL...

The Doctor
12-04-2005, 01:14 PM
Then that might be your problem. You need open GL 9.0 or higher installed for the game to work.

DarthRevan2102
12-04-2005, 01:23 PM
i cant find where to d/l it.... all i get is stuff talking about it.... would you be able to have a link where it can be downloaded?

The Doctor
12-04-2005, 01:45 PM
Sorry, I don't have a link. It should have said it needed to install it when you first installed the game. If you have any saves, back them up, then uninstall the game and reinstall. It should give you the option to install it.

DarthRevan2102
12-04-2005, 02:40 PM
it doesnt ask to install anything about open GL.... then the game quits on me everytime....

DarthRevan2102
12-04-2005, 08:06 PM
anyone have any input at all? getting quite aggrivated.... buy a game to watch it sit on the desk next to me.

RedHawke
12-05-2005, 02:07 AM
DarthRevan2102, please read this thread Read this before posting your problem!! (http://64.20.36.211/showthread.php?t=146050) then follow what is says to do for posting your problem here! ;)

If you don't then there is nothing we can do to help! :)

stingerhs
12-05-2005, 08:30 AM
Then that might be your problem. You need open GL 9.0 or higher installed for the game to work.umm, both Kotor games only need OpenGL 1.4 to be installed. to get the latest OpenGL driver, just simply update your video drivers.

and as a note, OpenGL is only on GL 2.0 right now. :^:

DarthRevan2102
12-05-2005, 06:10 PM
how do i do that? sorry if im coming off as retarded... i dont game much on my computer.

The Doctor
12-05-2005, 06:49 PM
umm, both Kotor games only need OpenGL 1.4 to be installed. to get the latest OpenGL driver, just simply update your video drivers.

and as a note, OpenGL is only on GL 2.0 right now. :^:
Then I must be thinking about a different program... it might be directX....

cry_of_paine
12-05-2005, 09:31 PM
When you're talking about a solution like the one The Doctor mentioned, those can give clues to a solution (lower your graphics settings), but shouldn't be taken as a specific solution unless you have the exact same hardware.

Most games use DirectX, not Open GL (at least not directly). Open GL is a lower level interface typically included as part of the video card drivers. So let's stop chasing this wild goose.

You really need to go back to the basics on this. Start with the link Redhawke posted. We need specific info on your system - hardware, os version, background running apps, etc.

DarthRevan2102
12-06-2005, 07:05 PM
everything on my system meets requirements and prefferred things.... how do i update my drivers? maybe this will clear up the problem.

The Doctor
12-06-2005, 08:08 PM
You should still post your specs anyay. I got yelled at once for not doing so even though I stated that everything met requirements: you can still miss something.

stingerhs
12-06-2005, 10:28 PM
everything on my system meets requirements and prefferred things.... how do i update my drivers? maybe this will clear up the problem.its rather simple, really. just goto the website of the Video Card manufacturer (usually ATI (www.ati.com) or Nvidia (www.nvidia.com)) and look around for drivers. just make sure you get the right one for your operating system and then run the executable that you download. its that simple. ;)