PDA

View Full Version : How do I add new meshes to OPTs or DXFs


TK421
05-02-2000, 05:23 AM
How can I add new meshes to my OPTs or DXFs? I'm creating a StarTrek series of ships but am using 3D Studio Max and all my DXFs show up as a single Mesh!

Could someone with AutoCad be able to load my DXFs and re-save them as multi-mesh DXFs? Would this work?

-----------------
"The force is strong with this one..."

decoy
05-02-2000, 01:09 PM
I'm not that good with Max but try putting the meshes on diferent layers, naming the layers Mesh00, Mesh 01 and so, and so. Thats how it works in Rhino.

------------------
SOB KNIGHT 1
Time Zone Gang forum time + 6 hours
"Only feel sorry about things you didn't do"
Star Wars Space Sim Guide (http://swssg.jedicore.net)

TK421
05-02-2000, 04:48 PM
Thanks decoy, will try it out

In the meantime I found a viable solution, I just hex-edit the DXF and re-name the 'MeshXX' line for each face I want in a new mesh - tedious but it works!

My Constellation-class starship is 90% complete, just need to fix one or two points in it.