PDA

View Full Version : Help with video card


Sithman1138
01-15-2006, 10:39 PM
System Requirements

* Intel® Pentium® 4/III/II/Celeron™, AMD-K6®/Duron™/Athlon™/Athlon™ XP or compatible with
* AGP 4X (1.5V), 8X (0.8v) or Universal AGP 3.0 bus configuration (4X/8X).
* 128MB of system memory
* Installation software requires CD-ROM drive
* DVD playback requires DVD drive

these are requirments for a radeon 9950 video card. what does it mean and can it work with my pc. I have a intel pentium 4, but was is the AMD-k6 things. And what is the AGP 4X thing. any help?

popcorn2008
01-16-2006, 12:26 AM
Alright try these steps for me and I can help you out:

Go to start -> run and type in dxdiag and then push enter.

When the screen loads find out how memory you have, its on the first page. You have a good processor, so no need to worry about that. Now im assumming your updating a desktop computer, correct? If you have more than 128 MB of memory your all set.

Do you have a CD Drive? I would assume so :)

Then final thing is do you have an AGP slot on your motherboard. I would assume you do, but you do have to make sure. Someone else on here can help you with this part, because the only way I know how to tell if you have one involves opening up your computer. ;)

Hope that helps out.

Sithman1138
01-16-2006, 12:29 AM
My pc 's good on those aspects. What's a AGP slot?

edmendduke55555
01-16-2006, 01:47 AM
Here's the AGP Slot

http://www.cheapcomputersandparts.com/Images/Parts/Motherboard-AGP-Slot.jpg

Xyvik
01-17-2006, 05:48 AM
What that diagram fails to tell you is that AGP stands for "Accelerated Graphics Port" (if I recall) and is an older method of connecting graphics cards to your motherboard, although not as old as the original PCI. Most of the new graphics cards are PCI-E but AGP is still extremely common. If you have an after-market graphics card, or your computer came with one that wasn't on-board, the chances are good that it is AGP.

Sithman1138
01-17-2006, 07:51 AM
Well, it looks like mypc, a HP Pavilion 743c, is good to go with those above specs? And is that a DECENT card that will run most games?

Xyvik
01-17-2006, 06:35 PM
Well, it looks like mypc, a HP Pavilion 743c, is good to go with those above specs? And is that a DECENT card that will run most games?

Looks like you should be pretty okay. My 9700pro lasted me this long (recently upgraded though) and could handle Battlefield 2 on medium settings with good FPS(frames per second). You should be able to at least handle the game, but I can't guarentee what your visual qualities would be like.

Sithman1138
01-17-2006, 09:55 PM
GOT THE CARD!!! Ended up gping with a GeForce 6200 OC. The people at the Geek Squad said it will run games up to about Quake 4. I also got a upgraded RAM. I GB BABY!! Thanks for all the help guys. Glad this ordeal is over. Thanks again. Mods, you can lock this thread.

quickymart
01-17-2006, 10:13 PM
oh god the geek squad! RUNNN!!! they suck, dont listen to anything that works with/near best buy...they also suck

back to topic...

popcorn2008
01-17-2006, 10:43 PM
Glad you got everything worked out =)

:lock: