PDA

View Full Version : tutorial mission 1 freezes after about 5 minutes


sanderke
01-19-2006, 02:36 PM
Well ok, I've downloaded the demo overnight, twice actually, one torrent and one ftp just to be sure I got one to install from even if one of the downloads would fail. (since another download of mine went corrupt 60% through)
Either way, it finished, I installed it this morning, almost got late for school thanks to that but meh, that's not the point.
I came home after a long schoolday which felt even longer for my want to play the demo when I got home.

So I come home, go upstairs, turn on the comp, start the tutorial, and bam! after about 5 minutes it freezes.
Ok so that was a disappointment but nevertheless, I rebooted and tried again, bam! same thing happened at about the same time.
(note: not triggered by something ingame, I was slightly farther on this time thanks to knowing what to do)
Ok so I figured I'd update my drivers, just did that, turned down the graphics somewhat just because I was cautious and still, when I started the tutorial, bam! and my system froze.

System info:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Nvidia Geforce 6600GT 126mb (AGP version)
1024mb DDR-ram
onboard sound

Can anyone help me? I've been anxious to play ever since the big let down in december so you can figure how I feel about this :(

DarthMaulUK
01-19-2006, 03:02 PM
At a guess - Im betting on graphic card drivers. Although your PC/graphic card might be new, you will have to update them. Also, install the Direct x9c that comes with the demo
>> drivers www.nvidia.com

DMUK

sanderke
01-19-2006, 03:04 PM
Ok so I figured I'd update my drivers, just did that
Also I did update my directX when the install asked me to.

DarthMaulUK
01-19-2006, 03:14 PM
Have you tried to re-install the demo? Also, make sure that when you re-install that all background programs like anti virus are switched off

DMUK

sanderke
01-19-2006, 03:16 PM
Will be trying that now, expect an update in 15 minutes.

[edit]
ok so it was longer then 15 minutes, I reinstalled and everything is working fine now.
The only reason it took so long was that I couldn't pull myself away from the game. xD