PDA

View Full Version : No CD?


Nute Gunray
06-04-2000, 11:45 PM
Is it at all possible to play this game without the CD? I have a full install, if that helps. What is left on the CD that is needed?

------------------
keep dreaming your dreams and never stop trying, even if you do feel that you keep failing at everything--Lisa
redstormvfa87@icqmail.com

TK421
06-05-2000, 12:17 AM
Ok Nute what you need is the v2.02 No-CD crack (I have it so I can email it, only 70kb). Then you only have to do is

1) copy the MOVIES directory from CD1 and CD2 to your XWA directory

2) Copy the WAVE directory from CD1 and CD2 to your XWA directory

3) Copy the file DISK2.ID from CD2 to your XWA directory

Execute the file REGSETUP.EXE that comes with the crack. This modifies the registry settings to allow No-CD playing.

Remove the READ ONLY attribute from XWINGALLIANCE.EXE (if it has it)

Execute the XWACRACK.EXE file to crack XWA.

From now on run the XWINGALLIANCE.EXE to play, the Launcher can still be started to change settings and pilots but it will no longer start the game.

I strongly suggest you backup XWINGALLIANCE.EXE to a new backup directory first.
------------------------------
If you use ACE_DXF to make OPTs it will have a problem that it cant detect XWA this is easily fixed. All you do is reverse what is done by REGSETUP (which itself can be done manually).

Before you crack the game, run REGEDIT from the Start Menu. Open HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, open SOFTWARE, open LUCASARTS ENTERTAINMENT COMPANY LLC, open XWING ALLIANCE, open V1.0

Make sure V1.0 is highlighted and click on the file menu at the top and click on Export Registry File. Change the settings to SELECTED BRANCH and select a name to save as, I use RUN ACE.reg. Now Crack the game to No-CD settings. Repeate the above but save as RUN XWA.reg.

Now when you want to use ACE, double click on RUN ACE.reg, click YES, click OK.

When you want to play XWA, double click on RUN XWA.reg, click YES, click OK.

This only has to be done when you switch from one to another, not every time you use ACE in a row or everytime you play XWA in a row.

It uses just under 900megs on my machine but Ive got a LOT of additional OPT files so yours may be less. I think you'll agree the improvment in mission loading times and the improvement in movie performance is worth it. Some things like sound-file playback are more reliable too.

------------------
"No no son, you gotta hit 'em in the head so they stay down, like this! *WHACK*"
TK's OPT Factory (http://www.ozemail.com/~richtersg/)

Nute Gunray
06-05-2000, 12:34 AM
Okay, what if I don't copy the movies? Would it just not play them (like jedi knight with no cd)?
Send me that file. I guess that's legal, since I have the game already.

------------------
keep dreaming your dreams and never stop trying, even if you do feel that you keep failing at everything--Lisa
redstormvfa87@icqmail.com

TK421
06-05-2000, 12:44 AM
Yeah I reckon it would simply not play them - it says you can delete the big movie files later in the instructions that come with it (note the instructions say to copy WAVE from CD1 only - do this and you miss all mission special speech from battle 1 onwards so copy WAVE from CD2 as well!). Just dont copy them the crack dosent check for them, just checks that XWINGALLIANCE.EXE is right version.

It is legal if you own the original. File is on its way. http://www.xwingalliance.com/forums/smile.gif

Oh crud, almost forgot I think I had problems with NCA - If you use NCA install it and backup the modified XWINGALLIANCE.EXE to a new directory - that way if it stuffs up you can go back. The changes to the registry can be undone by executing that RUN ACE.reg file I said about earlier.

Nute Gunray
06-05-2000, 01:00 AM
Do you think it's possible to listen to an audio cd during the game?

------------------
keep dreaming your dreams and never stop trying, even if you do feel that you keep failing at everything--Lisa
redstormvfa87@icqmail.com

TK421
06-05-2000, 01:29 AM
Dunno, I prefer the music of XWA anyway - the way it changes according to the situation

------------------
"No no son, you gotta hit 'em in the head so they stay down, like this! *WHACK*"
TK's OPT Factory (http://www.ozemail.com/~richtersg/)

Nute Gunray
06-05-2000, 01:33 AM
I've been playing Jedi Knight with a different audio going (The Matrix, Rage Against the Machine, Prodigy, etc.) and it's better.

------------------
keep dreaming your dreams and never stop trying, even if you do feel that you keep failing at everything--Lisa
redstormvfa87@icqmail.com

TK421
06-05-2000, 01:44 AM
Well seeing as how XWA takes its music from a coded list of files I dont think it will work, what I mean is the music for XWA is in data format not Audio format so XWA wont be checking for Audio tracks on a CD.

I know XWA music is in data format because I dont use the CDs and I still get music.

------------------
"No no son, you gotta hit 'em in the head so they stay down, like this! *WHACK*"
TK's OPT Factory (http://www.ozemail.com/~richtersg/)

Nute Gunray
06-05-2000, 01:49 AM
Suppose you delete all the music files from the Music folder and just leave the CD player going. that's what i do with JK.

------------------
keep dreaming your dreams and never stop trying, even if you do feel that you keep failing at everything--Lisa
redstormvfa87@icqmail.com

TK421
06-05-2000, 01:58 AM
You can try Nute

But I think it may not work, the files would probably be called by XWA by name.

I could be wrong though, try it.

Fel Crynyd
06-05-2000, 05:05 PM
try replacing them with music. If you have a certian CD recordable software (i don't know what it is) you can take songs off Cd's and save them as Wav files or other types. Like when i play JK i hear the Matrix sound track! (Du Hast is the best one!) Besides you can always turn off the music and listen to your CD player!(this is what i do for XWA)

------------------
Commander Fel Crynyd
XO of Hope Squadron
New Republic Marines
And I Keep Telling People,
A Inverted Half Imbalmen is not a Sex Posistion!!!!

[This message has been edited by Fel Crynyd (edited June 05, 2000).]

schizo
07-05-2000, 09:32 AM
Jedi Knight and XWA use different formats for their music. JK uses redbook audio, which is the standard cd format used all over the world. XWA uses a special format made by LucasArts which allows the music to change depending on the situation. Since JK uses a standardized format, you can put in another cd and it'll work just fine. It's also why you can put your JK cd in a regular cd player and listen to it. XWA's format isn't standard and is very different from the redbook format, so you can't put another cd in and listen to the music. It just won't work.

HOWEVER... if your cdrom has a play button on the front, you more than likely could put a cd in and hit the button on the drive itself, and it SHOULD work. It depends on how the drive is wired.

Zedran
07-06-2000, 02:35 AM
TK.....I must say, I Admire a guy who sits around and hacks things to pieces and puts them back together again. http://www.xwingalliance.com/forums/biggrin.gif Usually when i get done they are still in pieces! http://www.xwingalliance.com/forums/tongue.gif

------------------
When last we met I was but the apprentice,.."Now I am the Disaster"

Click,Click,Click,......Damn Light Saber!.....AAAAAUUUUGGGHHH.........
http://www.wordsmithdigital.com/saber/images/my_saber-green.gif

TK421
07-07-2000, 06:11 AM
LOL! http://www.xwingalliance.com/forums/biggrin.gif

yeah but trust me when I say that many a program has gone to the digital abyss thanks to my meddling.

Wedgey
07-08-2000, 06:27 PM
Where can I get that crack? I've tried looking everywhere for it and I can't find it.

Zraii
07-10-2000, 05:55 PM
You should check out: http://www.gamecopyworld.com
they have cracks for almost every pc game to play.

/Zraii

------------------
"Control unruly portions of the Galaxy through a fear of force, rahter than actual force itself."
----------------------
http://opt.alliacehq.org

TK421
07-11-2000, 03:26 AM
A note to those would use this crack:

this crack does not appear to be compatable with the NCA addon, if you have NCA installed the crack will report you have the wrong version of XWA or something like that.

I am currently investigating the crack and the executable so that I can make a NCA-compatible crack, please be patient as my Computer time is rather limited these days.

------------------
"No no son, you gotta hit 'em in the head so they stay down, like this! *WHACK*"
TK's OPT Factory (http://www.ozemail.com/~richtersg/)

Wedgey
07-11-2000, 04:31 PM
I hope you get it working - I've had to uninstall/reinstall XWA 5 times today because I found that out the hard way http://www.xwingalliance.com/forums/frown.gif
I did get it to run with both installed but then it started crashing back to Windows each time I loaded a mission http://www.xwingalliance.com/forums/frown.gif