PDA

View Full Version : Editing Weapons


Starkiller96
01-29-2006, 04:02 PM
How do I edit the strenth and type of weapons on a ship, it would be so awsome if i got the Xwing to fire missles,hehe

Hurby
01-29-2006, 05:13 PM
X-wing firing missiles? no problem :)
GameData/Data/XML/Spaceunitsfighters.xml
find "X-Wing"
find <Projectile_Types>Proj_Ship_Small_Laser_Cannon_Red</Projectile_Types>
change to
<Projectile_Types>Proj_Ship_Diamond_Boron_Missile</Projectile_Types>

Now it will fire high explosive missiles used by Broadside Cruisers

Starkiller96
01-29-2006, 09:13 PM
awsome, thanks, the same sort of thign goes for cap ships right?

Imgnryflgdotcom
01-29-2006, 09:22 PM
awsome, thanks, the same sort of thign goes for cap ships right?

No, on capital ships, you have to change the hardpoints it has

Starkiller96
01-30-2006, 06:29 AM
Excellent, i have it now, thx :D

NinjaSokudo
01-30-2006, 04:56 PM
Is there a way to edit the XML files where you don't have to keep the same number of characters in the file?

toro45
01-30-2006, 07:30 PM
How do you edit the hardpoints on say the star destroyer so i can have like 50 guns?

Starkiller96
01-31-2006, 06:15 AM
i thk u just copy and paste em over and over and over again

MDN14
01-31-2006, 01:56 PM
but how would the game know where to put the hardpoints to show the player in game? There has to be something that tells what location to put the hardpoint at. Maybe it uses vectors and the zero point for those vectors is the center of the model?

baraghIV
01-31-2006, 06:20 PM
I have tried the copy & paste method and it just overlaps the hardpoints. Also, I've tried adding an additional hardpoint with mixed results. eg, as suggested by another forum member, I tried putting an Acclamator fighter bay on a Venerator and for some reason that one shows up on its flank I think where one of its turrets is.

Alternativly, I've somehow messed up my calamari cruisers so that they don't have shield generators. not sure how I did this, seeing as the hardpoint is listed in their HP tag... also, I couldn't get a fighter bay to show up on those things at all. weird.

Ali1392
02-01-2006, 11:37 AM
mon cals dont have sheild generatars any way