PDA

View Full Version : converting XSI. to glm. error


Alexander1988
03-04-2006, 10:37 AM
heya people,

ok when im converting an xsi file with humanoid file etc, into a gml file with assimilate and carcass im getting an error:

"bone mc5 cant be found"

but it is there, and connected to the right bones!

so can anyone help me?

Psyk0Sith
03-04-2006, 01:52 PM
Remove mc5 bone from the skin modifier, its not in the new skeleton structure and carcass reports this bone as missing in the .gla.

Alexander1988
03-04-2006, 02:26 PM
ok i did it

but now i get this

http://www.ra-creations.nl/tuts/wtf.JPG

Alexander1988
03-04-2006, 06:27 PM
ok i did it

but now i get this

http://www.ra-creations.nl/tuts/wtf.JPG

Psyk0Sith
03-05-2006, 01:12 AM
Im guessing you want to rig the "face anims"?

Usually you only need 9 of the facial bones, so keep only the bones in this list:

"cranium" "ltlip2", "lblip2", "leye", "reye", "rtlip2", "rblip2", "ceyebrow" and "jaw". That's it.

(Note that face anims arent required to get the glm compiled.)

Alexander1988
03-05-2006, 06:23 AM
ARGH!

now im getting this:

http://www.ra-creations.nl/tuts/wtf2.JPG

i think im doing something wrong :(



EDIT: btw i dont wanna skin the face bones to the mesh, i completly removed those bones from the skin modifier.

Psyk0Sith
03-05-2006, 01:34 PM
Ok obviously you didnt read any of the tutorials on my website :P,

That error message is very common and easy to fix, you have to link a bunch of crap together (aka the hierarchy, for when you saber body parts)

Thankfully there's a script that will automate the process:
http://psyko3d.50webs.com/tools/autolink.zip

Be aware that object01 and box01 arent valid names, you have to respect the naming convention.

When naming non standard body parts (or accessories), the extra part will always contain the name of it's parent mesh. For example, if i've made a pair of sunglasses, it will inherit the parent's name like this: head_sunglasses. This naming convention cannot be changed, and you have to select that mesh and link it to the head (its parent in this case).

Alexander1988
03-05-2006, 01:47 PM
how do i use the script? and where are those tutorials you speak of?


EDIT: i need to remind you that im making a model for jk3!!! NOT jk2
cause i saw in the script it was for jk2, i dont know if it makes any differnece?


anyway i wanna thank for your help so far :)

Psyk0Sith
03-05-2006, 07:01 PM
-Use maxscript tool in 3D Max,
-The tutorials are located right here (http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat)
-It doesnt matter, Jedi Outcast and Academy use the same process for rigging player models.
-No problem ;)

Alexander1988
03-09-2006, 12:25 PM
Alright now im REALLY frustrated!!!

error (www.ra-creations.nl/tuts/wtf3.JPG)

its says in cant find the MC5 bone, really strange cause i deleted it form the skin modifier, and the rest of that list!!!

IM CONFUSED!!!

Psyk0Sith
03-09-2006, 12:55 PM
-Make sure none of the tags are weighted to some of these bones.
-Try deleting some of them from the skeleton, see if the error message changes...if so then delete all found in the list.

(I simply left them out of the skin modifier and it compiled fine)

Alexander1988
03-09-2006, 01:57 PM
ok i deleted al bones in the list from the skin modifier...
i still get an error that he cant find MC5

so i deleted the bone from the scene.
then i get that bolt_l_hand has no weigths.
so i deleted that thing.

and then i get the this error (www.ra-creations.nl/tuts/wtf2.JPG)
the same i got a few days ago....


i used the kyle katarn model from your hompage, and i opend it in max 7! should that be a problem?

Psyk0Sith
03-09-2006, 03:54 PM
You CANNOT delete tags!

Simply reweight the tag to another bone :P

The reason you see same errors is because carcass will keep showing one type of error at a time, once you fix something you will see other "stages" of errors until you fix everything.

Alexander1988
03-09-2006, 03:55 PM
OMG!


well cya next year!

Psyk0Sith
03-09-2006, 04:02 PM
LOL, just take one step at a time, i agree, carcass is a real bitch...but the process is a big part of the problem.

If not already done, you should do the following:

-Rename the "lhand_tag_bone" to "lhang_tag_bone".

-The l_hand and r_hand tags have to be weighted to the l_hang and r_hang bones respectively.

Botch
03-12-2006, 01:51 PM
I followed the tutorials on Psyk0Sith's page step by step, and my model went through carcass perfectly. :)