PDA

View Full Version : Rcon map bug and Jedi Master team chat request


Lathain Valtiel
04-02-2006, 01:26 PM
The bug:

Use rcon map.

You'll notice that you get a message in the console that goes "

PLAYERNAME connected with IP:

But there's no IP. That can't be right.

---

The request:

OK, this should be simple.

On Jedi Master you have 3 teams.

The Jedi Master (duh)
The Mercenaries
The Spectators

I want the second team, the mercenaries hunting the Jedi Master, to be able to have Team Chat. I mean, they're affected by whether team damage is allowed, so why can't they team chat?

Kurgan
04-02-2006, 02:45 PM
Good point. As long as this doesn't open up an exploit (like joining the JM team before the saber is grabbed or something).

Lathain Valtiel
04-02-2006, 04:45 PM
It should be easy to prevent a weird join exploit from happening if it doesn't already... After all, it appears that the Mercs and JM are made into the teams the second someone grabs a saber.

ensiform
04-02-2006, 05:28 PM
the ip problem exists because it doesnt save... you need to can the cvar way of storing session and put some hacks in to keep ips over gametype changes... i posted that a while back using jkas mem hacks. oh and rcon is bugged because it cannot accept changing cvars with more than 1 word. + you cant like clear a cvar by doing rcon cvarname "". it just displays the current setting. you really cant fix that prob though without the engine :(

*bugs raven to release*

razorace
04-02-2006, 05:30 PM
uh, what is rcon map supposed to do? I don't understand.

Anyway, the player IP issue is due to the bots. bots don't have IPs so they don't connect with one. :)

ensiform
04-02-2006, 05:38 PM
http://www.lucasforums.com/showpost.php?p=1995841&postcount=4

ensiform
04-02-2006, 05:49 PM
Good point. As long as this doesn't open up an exploit (like joining the JM team before the saber is grabbed or something).

you really wouldnt have to make it team games, just modify the say functions ... pretty easy to do.

Lathain Valtiel
04-02-2006, 10:13 PM
...Razor, it happens to humans too.

---

Jedi Master is already a team game.

When someone picks up the saber, it appears everyone who doesn't have the saber who is not spectating is instantly converted onto some kind of 'non-JM player' team. Kill the JM, it turns off and you can kill your former allies for... no points.

ensiform
04-03-2006, 01:59 AM
they arent really a team... the game just fools it that way. your all still team_free even the jm. i have improved on some of the things to check for if jm allies and such which helps a bit but client side is still fubared, at least with npcs anyway and it relies on the config string ...

Kurgan
04-03-2006, 10:18 PM
Fake teams? Like maybe in coop? (can't hurt each other, but can't team chat each other) But then I'm not a coder, so maybe I just don't understand how it really works...

ensiform
04-04-2006, 05:55 PM
lololol the code in base just checks whos ps.isJediMaster and who isn't. and most of the teammate code is broken and doesnt check that.

i use this function for checking allies in JM on server.

/*
==============
JM_Allies
Returns qfalse if enemies or not in jm.
Returns qtrue if allies.
==============
*/
qboolean JM_Allies( gentity_t *ent1, gentity_t *ent2 ) {

if ( g_gametype.integer != GT_JEDIMASTER ) { // who cares if not in JM
return qfalse;
}

if ( !ent1->client || !ent2->client ) { // ent1 or ent2 isn't a client
return qfalse;
}

if ( !G_ThereIsAMaster() ) { // no master so everyone is an enemy
return qfalse;
}

if ( ent1->client->ps.isJediMaster || ent2->client->ps.isJediMaster ) { // if either ent1 or ent2 is the JM then not allies
return qfalse;
}

return qtrue;
}

make sure G_ThereIsAMaster is declared above this or in g_local and make sure you declare this in g_local so u can access it in the other places on server.