PDA

View Full Version : Tharagon server disconnect issues


rgamble
04-17-2006, 01:08 AM
I've removed the password on this server recently, and I've noticed a few people have been trying to log in. They keep getting disconnected.

If any of you happen to be here, I'd appreciate details regarding the disconnects so that I can resolve the issue.

Thanks!

JRHockney*
04-17-2006, 02:17 AM
I've removed the password on this server recently, and I've noticed a few people have been trying to log in. They keep getting disconnected.

If any of you happen to be here, I'd appreciate details regarding the disconnects so that I can resolve the issue.

Thanks!

Wow its an admin from the mysterious tharagon server?! We greatly appreciate you running enhanced from time to time.

I hardly know anything about servers as far as the technical aspects; however, most of the time people get disconnected from Enhanced, its because they don't realize that they need the client side version of Enhanced and they think its just an ordinary server with an interesting name.

Without actually having enhanced, they will crash and disconnect because of the huge changes to the gameplay (different saber system code, etc.). Most of the time they get frozen or time out, but sometimes they make it on to the map and then crash as soon as they try to hit an enemy. If you see a new person on the server, stop him before he hits anything and ask him if he has the mod (Enhanced 0.0.9). If he says no, or has no idea what your talking about, send him here: http://ojp.jediknight.net/ and tell him to down load the mod and its patch.

And you should also tell him to read the manual first so you don't have to take forever explaining the saber system to them! LOL. If you ever get complaints about the saber system, tell them its suppose to be more like the movies and its alot of fun once they learn it well. It is still a work in progress and feedback is always welcome at this forum.

I hope that answers your question. If it doesn't and its really a technical issue, you'll have to ask Razorace about that one. If you Ever want to get together with someone from this forum on your server to play around, you can say so on the schedualing thread or ask for peoples IM's or something. Anyways, welcome to OJP forums!

Oh yeah....and HAPPY EASTER EVERYONE!!!!!!

razorace
04-17-2006, 02:32 AM
Right, like Hocky said, it's due to those players not having OJP Enhanced running.

rgamble
04-17-2006, 07:14 AM
Okay, that sounds fair. I wrote that up about two minutes before I went to bed. I've discovered that 36 hours with no sleep doesn't equal a very good thought process ;)

Well, anyone who wants to hop aboard, feel free to do so. Just be careful what you do with the sabers if you're playing a team game... It can get your team mates killed very easily if you get too wild.

It's probably slightly excessive... but the damage multiplier for sabers has been increased. Somewhere around 200 if I'm not mistaken.

Sushi_CW
04-17-2006, 01:29 PM
When I see the server in the list, it shows the map as ffa_3 or something like that. However, when I try to connect, it wants to download some other map (academy_v2 or something). Two questions:

1) Why is it trying to download a map that apparently isn't being used?

2) If I do need the map, where can I get it? The auto-download is way, way too slow. :)

I definitely appreciate having more than one OJPE server around to play on. Thanks!

JRHockney*
04-17-2006, 01:46 PM
Well, anyone who wants to hop aboard, feel free to do so. Just be careful what you do with the sabers if you're playing a team game... It can get your team mates killed very easily if you get too wild.

It's probably slightly excessive... but the damage multiplier for sabers has been increased. Somewhere around 200 if I'm not mistaken.

Actually, the HP damage threshold doesn't really make a difference and is important to the why this combat is designed. The DP (dodge point) meter not only allow you to dodge when your vulnerable, but it also acts as a blocking meter (kind of like MB2 with several exceptions). So basically, the DP meter is your life, not HP. Even if friendly fire is on, the DP should prevent any instant kills.

For more information on DP and how and why it works, look in our saber system manual that is in your Enhanced Folder. Remember, the saber combat in this mod is meant to be mostly toe-to-toe and not based on running and jumping all over the place (which is penalized btw) and not anti-blocking like it is in Base JKA. I'll be available for playing eventually, but I have alot of work to do at the moment.

When I see the server in the list, it shows the map as ffa_3 or something like that. However, when I try to connect, it wants to download some other map (academy_v2 or something). Two questions:

1) Why is it trying to download a map that apparently isn't being used?

2) If I do need the map, where can I get it? The auto-download is way, way too slow.

I don't have that map yet either, but I assume you can find it at pcgamemods or jediknight files. I'm busy at the moment, but give me a link if you find it.

Vruki Salet
04-17-2006, 04:02 PM
http://www.taddia.com/vruki/the_academy_v2.pk3

It's not the fastest but it should do for the few ppl here who'll want it.

ensiform
04-17-2006, 04:53 PM
its some-what hacky but me and dumbledore here got http downloads working in jka without needing to restart jka. however it would be nice to have it so it stops the connecting (so you can use the console or abort it if needed) with a few returns but thats even more hacky. lets just say... cuz the host used on wild jedi has been tested to be quite fast, it downloaded a 20 mb file in about 7 secs. for me and the other admin at wild jedi. i'd like to move it to a configstring though because then its less hacky because clients can currently type sv_wwwBaseUrl or sv_wwwDownload due to CVAR_SYSTEMINFO flag. and this would only work for players with the client / ui. if razor wants me to contribute it to ojp i can.

sry guess that was a little off topic but u guys were talking bout map downloads, so i figured id bring it up.

razorace
04-17-2006, 10:00 PM
Well, I'd like to have something like that but I think most of the effectiveness is lost due to the mod requiring a new client side in the first place. However, it might work great for supporting new maps on the Enhanced servers.

rgamble
04-17-2006, 11:11 PM
when I try to connect, it wants to download some other map (academy_v2 or something)

*sigh* I was afraid of that... the server uses quite a few custom skins and maps. So far it's been mostly the base JA maps that have been loaded as of late. I don't know why it would try to send that one. But if it's going to send the academy, it'll probably try to send all the skins as well. I'll turn off allowdownload for now. Please let me know if it still lets you connect with that option disabled. If it does, then I won't worry about having it on.

JRHockney*
04-18-2006, 02:28 AM
Holy crap rgamble, you turned off the dodge on your server! LOL! It's a fun way to play, but it is very hard to learn with. No wonder you complained about the damage being too high. Playing with the dodge turned off is a death sentance for gunners and we haven't really started any work trying to balance the game that way. I personally love playing with the dodge off, but its very unforgiving to new players who can just get kicked over when their stunned because they don't know that you can hold jump to avoid that.

ensiform
04-18-2006, 02:23 PM
*sigh* I was afraid of that... the server uses quite a few custom skins and maps. So far it's been mostly the base JA maps that have been loaded as of late. I don't know why it would try to send that one. But if it's going to send the academy, it'll probably try to send all the skins as well. I'll turn off allowdownload for now. Please let me know if it still lets you connect with that option disabled. If it does, then I won't worry about having it on.

you do know that if the server isnt pure and you have cl_allowDownload (i think thats the client cvar) off and as long as the academy isnt in use, you should still be able to play there..

rgamble
04-18-2006, 10:42 PM
Holy crap rgamble, you turned off the dodge on your server!

Oops! I meant to turn that back on :) I was testing it out to see how long I could survive by taking cover and shooting from longer ranges. I actually did not too bad until all six bots had guns (disabled the pistol to keep the sabers going until they got something better). Then.... yeah, no where to go. Everytime.

I was actually hoping there was a way to disable dodge when someone was holding a gun, and keep it for sabers / melee. Maybe setting a second variable for ojp_allowbodydodge (0, 1, 2) so that it would only be allowed under certain circumstances (ie, sabers/melee, but not against ranged attacks). Only because it was terribly annoying getting a headshot and then watching a stormtrooper pull a Neo :)

In regards to the saber damage multiplier, though, I wasn't complaining. I set it that way on purpose, since to me... well, sure a lightsaber might not kill if you nick someone... but in this game you're chopping off arms and heads and... well, it doesn't make sense to survive the lightsaber when it hits and just keep fighting. To me, it's always been one good hit should be the end. A pair of good duelists can still make quite a wicked fight. Marius and I can vouch for it :)