PDA

View Full Version : [TSL] Adding stormtroopers and clonetroopers


blawk
04-29-2006, 12:27 PM
Hi,

I'm adding clonetrooper and stormtrooper NPCs as of my mod work (Retro-Mod for TSL) and have some doubts about the appearance changes:

Why Kotor Tool shows me only the apeparance 2da entries of the game? (it doesn't allow me to use one I've added myself). It seems like I need to use GFF edior for this.

Also, why my NPC is unable to start a conversation even if it's properly defined in it's template properties? It shows us as blank after editing the entries Speaker tag and setting it to 'n_fdroid' which is the resref of the template for the NPC. Does having a non-English version of the game change how dialogs are managed? Without the Speaker tag set, it simply shows the replies and no entries of the NPC. I changed the delay to '1', I suppose that has nothing to do with it though.

Cheers and many thanks in advance.

LiquidZoo
04-29-2006, 01:50 PM
To answer your first question:

In KT (can't remember where atm since I'm at work) there is an Options or Preferences menu. In there, there is the option to load 2da files from Override. Once you check that, restart KT and you should be good to go.

Jackel
04-29-2006, 02:02 PM
Also are you just opening the appearance.2da file that is in Kotor Tools lists (BIFS\2da Bifs\2d Array) or are you opening the 2da editor and loading the appearance.2da file your override or where you saved it?

LiquidZoo
04-29-2006, 02:29 PM
I believe he's referring to changing the appearance via the KT character editor window. Unless you have that option checked to read 2da files from Override, it will only show what's in the default in terms of appearance options.

blawk
04-29-2006, 08:31 PM
Thanks, first issue solved. Any idea on the second one?

Thanks again!

LiquidZoo
04-29-2006, 09:11 PM
Why are you editing the speaker tag? If it's left blank, anything in red (DLGEditor default) will default to whomever has the dialog listed in their utc. Entries in blue (again, DLGEditor default) will be responses chosen by whomever triggers the dialog.

blawk
04-30-2006, 12:23 AM
Hmm, found the issue. I need to change dialog Language setting to the game language, it won't load English dialogs. This leaves another, even worst issue: how can I solve this so any game "version" can load the dialog? Right now it won't work for other game translations.

I've been playing with the stormtrooper and clonetrooper mods by Prime but the first isn't working on TSL (I created a new utc template for stormtroopers, then added a line to appearance.2da and heads.2da). It crashes badly, someone could tell me how this can be done? (adding new custom appearance for a custom character, for example using stormtrooper/clonetrooper models like those by Prime).

Also, for my foreign droid NPC (core of the Empire related quest), how can I make the droid to carry weapons and use them effectively? actually I added two blasters to it's inventory but that just comes up after killing it and "looting the corpse".
It doesn't even chase the PC, just stands still in "attack position" (BTW, that animation is certainly funny...). Any idea on how to improve the situation?

Cheers and many thaks in advance.

blawk
04-30-2006, 01:46 PM
Second ping on this one. Someone else?