PDA

View Full Version : would like some help with level cap stuff


randman22222
05-14-2006, 05:04 AM
I'm trying to stretch the level cap to 60 (a la WoW) and make it MUCH harder once you get to level 20. I've managed to do that much, and I've been able to make the xp requirements work out, but once I get enough xp at level 20, for my new level 21, the Level Up/Auto Level Up buttons don't show up... I'd like to know which .2da file edits that kind of stuff. I have a suspicion that it's xptable.2da, just because I haven't been able to add more columns, and they seem to be labled according to levels...

This is what I mean when I'm talking about xptable: I can add as many rows as I want, but not as many columns... (http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/randman22222/kotortool2da.gif)

EDIT: This is NOT TSL, just to be sure (You should've guessed that :p)

Pavlos
05-14-2006, 05:07 AM
I'm sorry to inform you that in KotOR I, the level cap is hardcoded into the game engine. This means that we cannot progress to any higher levels.

Welcome to the forums :).

randman22222
05-14-2006, 05:14 AM
Thanks, but at this website, someone asked if such a mod existed, and they were told yes, and given links (the links are a bit out of date though...): This here website. (www.gamebanshee.com/forums/showthread.php?p=657591)

RedHawke
05-14-2006, 05:55 AM
Well, no matter what you have read, those posters are... seriously mis-informed to think this is possible. ;)

Like Pavlos states it is hard coded and cannot be done without violating the EULA for the game. (Read: Messing with the exe, and we do frown on that here.)

Level 20 is all we get... sorry. :(

@ randman welcome to the forums! :waive1:

stoffe
05-14-2006, 06:34 AM
I'd like to know which .2da file edits that kind of stuff. I have a suspicion that it's xptable.2da, just because I haven't been able to add more columns, and they seem to be labled according to levels...

This is what I mean when I'm talking about xptable: I can add as many rows as I want, but not as many columns... (http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/randman22222/kotortool2da.gif)


The exptable.2da file governs the amount of XP needed to reach a particular level, while the xptable.2da file determines how much XP you are rewarded for beating opponents at a particular level. You can add new columns to (some) 2da files, though you'll need to use something other than KotorTool since I believe it doesn't have that functionality.

But, as said, it's moot for KotOR1 since the level cap is hardcoded at level 20 (like it was in the original Neverwinter Nights game, which the game engine is based on, before expansion packs were released).

Darth Manus
05-15-2006, 10:07 AM
Well, I was curious... Is the level cap in TSL also hardcoded?

Darkkender
05-15-2006, 12:51 PM
From what I recall they also have hardcoded a cap however I believe there's was more like level 50. This far exceeds anything you should even have to be running into. Unlike NWN which needed the Epic level capability the KOTOR games only really need the capability to go to 25-30 levels on average. K1 only really needs the ability to go to level 24. Thats because even if you load all of Redhawke's scary mods and some of the other mods out there you only would gain enough experience to hit level 24 on average.

Darth Manus
05-16-2006, 09:43 AM
Well, what can I say? I happen to love some of the custom Force powers I've seen out there, and so each level up is a chance to add it to the fun. Of course I tend to end up with a really huge power list at the end of the game, but that's another story.