PDA

View Full Version : Placeables list


blawk
05-14-2006, 08:14 AM
I'm looking for a list of placeables with images of each one, better if it's in-game. Maybe it doesn't exist (in such case, yikes, time to get one! :) ). I'm looking for a placeable that looks like an oil tank/shield generator/other heavy duty machine.

Many thanks in advance!

stoffe
05-14-2006, 10:39 AM
I'm looking for a list of placeables with images of each one, better if it's in-game. Maybe it doesn't exist (in such case, yikes, time to get one! :) ). I'm looking for a placeable that looks like an oil tank/shield generator/other heavy duty machine.


I don't think anyone has gone trough the trouble to make a "product catalog" of all the placeables in the game since there are hundreds of them. Your best bet is probably to search the placeables.2da file since most placeables have fairly descriptive labels.

Grindel
05-15-2006, 02:33 AM
Humm I think we should have a compleat catalog. If some of us took more time to do tedious things like this it would help the comunity greatly.
I suppose everyone is thinking that since i have made such a statement, I shouldn't be casting stones since I have offered nothing to the community.
Well to back up my words I will start this simple project.
The COmpleate Object Catalog.
I'll be posting about this later.

Grindel
05-15-2006, 06:25 AM
Okay I have a start on the project.
Here is a link http://www.freewebs.com/grindel/COOC/COOC.htm
Recursive link to the new thread. http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=164901

blawk
05-15-2006, 07:42 AM
Okay I have a start on the project.
Here is a link http://www.freewebs.com/grindel/COOC/COOC.htm
Recursive link to the new thread. http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=164901

Great, I think I might be able to help a bit, and I also "push" other's to help you on this project. Little suggestion, try to order them by categories once you've got ALL the placeables listed.

I'm in the way of re-designing my website, I may be able to to create a CSS for the catalog so it looks more "pro" (hey, I'm not saying it's cr*p, but a nice design helps, and more if you add a hover/alike approach so images stay hidden until you click/mouse over the ResRef of the placeable.

This project is certainly important for all of us, so, let's try to get it done! :)

Cheers!

Grindel
05-15-2006, 09:38 AM
Great, I think I might be able to help a bit, and I also "push" other's to help you on this project. Little suggestion, try to order them by categories once you've got ALL the placeables listed.

I'm in the way of re-designing my website, I may be able to to create a CSS for the catalog so it looks more "pro" (hey, I'm not saying it's cr*p, but a nice design helps, and more if you add a hover/alike approach so images stay hidden until you click/mouse over the ResRef of the placeable.

This project is certainly important for all of us, so, let's try to get it done! :)

Cheers!

Hey if you would like to host once you get your web site settled tis kewl with me. Give me more time to take screen shots and prep them. It sure is time consuming to change the my mod, load the game, warp to my mod, run to the area, get the screen, open it in PS, crop it, adjust levels, and repeat. All the picts I have posted took about an hour at least. I really need to learn how to add a camera to my mod and then access it via a console or something.

blawk
05-15-2006, 10:19 AM
Hey if you would like to host once you get your web site settled tis kewl with me. Give me more time to take screen shots and prep them. It sure is time consuming to change the my mod, load the game, warp to my mod, run to the area, get the screen, open it in PS, crop it, adjust levels, and repeat. All the picts I have posted took about an hour at least. I really need to learn how to add a camera to my mod and then access it via a console or something.

OK, first off, to avoid running to the place where you spawn the placeables, place the module start point next to it. Also, you could use an armband which executes the script for spawning the objects. For example, whereami armband. Edit the d3_location.nss script and add to the end of the file (right before the }):


ExecuteScript("mycatalog_spawn", OBJECT_SELF);


Create a mycatalog_spawn.nss script and add the spawning code to it. Make sure Location used to spawn placeables is the one of your PC. This way, you can move whereever you want and spawn the placeable you want. Then, you take the screenshot, and after that you edit mycatalog_spawn.nss and change the resref to the next object to be captured.

After you've got a few, then you can start processing the screenshots.

Don't do one-step-once style of work for this project. Focuse on massive style :D

Cheers.

BTW, I can host it. Or probably the fellows at starwarsknights.com. I will work on an improved design soon ;) (for the catalog)

Grindel
05-15-2006, 03:11 PM
If I spawn the object at my location wouldn't that cause a problem of some type?? I mean if a spawn a metal box and it falls from the sky and beans my PC in the head I would loose VP wouldn't I ??

Grindel
05-15-2006, 03:20 PM
Oh by the way can we move posting about this stuff to the thread I started for this project.

stoffe
05-15-2006, 03:56 PM
If I spawn the object at my location wouldn't that cause a problem of some type?? I mean if a spawn a metal box and it falls from the sky and beans my PC in the head I would loose VP wouldn't I ??

There's no object physics in the game that affects placeables. If you spawn a placeable hovering in the air, it will remain hovering in the air until it's destroyed. Placeables cannot be moved from the location they are placed or spawned.

Placeables can't damage the player unless they run a script that does so. :)

blawk
05-15-2006, 04:12 PM
If I spawn the object at my location wouldn't that cause a problem of some type?? I mean if a spawn a metal box and it falls from the sky and beans my PC in the head I would loose VP wouldn't I ??

Maybe the metal box will deform. Hey, it's a jedi after all! You know, all those powers and tricks. I thought that was going to happen when my influence skyrocketed with all the girls in the game (well, except Kreia, of course! No offense to older women, they just aren't my taste).

Now seriously, don't worry about that. The object will get spawned right next to you. Check out the 'frecuently used script functions' thread in the scripting forum.

Cheers.

Darkkender
05-15-2006, 05:54 PM
While there is no object physics stoffe. There is however programming physics. Simply put an object cannot exist within the same location in which you currently are. So programmically it gets spawned right next to you. In the world of games we call these things bounding boxes. :p