PDA

View Full Version : Graphics Artifacting?


MrToilet
05-24-2006, 09:20 AM
I just installed Empire at War, but when I start the game, the opening "Lucasarts" and "Petroglyph" movies have artifacts all over, and when I get to the menu screen, the text and movie are all blocky and corrupted.

I have my video card overclocked, I turned the speed back to normal, still artifacted. My video card is a AGP 6800 OC, and it runs perfectly on all the rest of my games (Half Life 2, Doom 3, Quake 4, etc.) I ran 3dMark to stress the card and it ran perfectly. Any ideas?

DarthMaulUK
05-24-2006, 10:15 AM
Get yourself the latest drivers for your card AND install the direct x9c that is on the CD with EaW - reboot and all will be fine

DMUK

MrToilet
05-24-2006, 10:23 AM
I tried reinstalling DirectX, and I have the Forceware 84.21 WHQL drivers installed, still artifacts.

DarthMaulUK
05-24-2006, 10:30 AM
Try a full re-install of the game but make sure that any anti virus software is turned off - including zone alarm (for example). You might need to post yr dxdiag so we can have a look

DMUK

MrToilet
05-24-2006, 10:35 AM
Okay, I was able to get into the game and change the resolution to match my monitor, everything worked- that is, until I got the NV4_disp BSOD. Grr.

MrToilet
05-24-2006, 11:16 AM
Argh. Now the game won't start, and I get an error message "Unable to reset Direct3D Device." How do I fix this? I just want to play the game! :(

DarthMaulUK
05-24-2006, 12:13 PM
I think you will need to totally remove your graphic card drivers and install free new ones from the nvida site. Forceware drivers are a fussy thing. Sometimes you have to do a clean install for them

DMUK

Draja
05-25-2006, 05:10 AM
I am having the same problems as the original poster. I also hang and stutter on the logo screens along with artifacts. The main screen is big blocky textures and artifacts.

I have a Nvidia 6800 XT

I have tried the 8198 and 8421 drivers using clean install.

Can't load up game menu screen even running it in game safe mode.

Thanks in advance for your replies.



------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 5/25/2006, 02:00:36
Machine name: AMD643200
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: NVIDIA
System Model: AWRDACPI
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Memory: 1024MB RAM
Page File: 194MB used, 2265MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
Display Tab 1: No problems found. DirectDraw test results: All tests were successful. Direct3D 7 test results: All tests were successful. Direct3D 8 test results: All tests were successful. Direct3D 9 test results: All tests were successful.
Sound Tab 1: The file ALCXWDM.SYS is not digitally signed, which means that it has not been tested by Microsoft's Windows Hardware Quality Labs (WHQL). You may be able to get a WHQL logo'd driver from the hardware manufacturer.
Music Tab: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.
Network Tab: No problems found.



---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 XT
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 6800 XT
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0048&SUBSYS_81E41043&REV_A1
Display Memory: 128.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: ViewSonic E90-4
Monitor Max Res: 1792,1344
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.8421 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 3/9/2006 15:29:00, 3968512 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: nv4_mini.sys
Mini VDD Date: 3/9/2006 15:29:00, 3650368 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-4308-11CF-1653-EEA100C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x0048
SubSys ID: 0x81E41043
Revision ID: 0x00A1
Revision ID: 0x00A1
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_B ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D
Deinterlace Caps: {212DC724-3235-44A4-BD29-E1652BBCC71C}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{212DC724-3235-44A4-BD29-E1652BBCC71C}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{212DC724-3235-44A4-BD29-E1652BBCC71C}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
{212DC724-3235-44A4-BD29-E1652BBCC71C}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
{335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled
DDraw Test Result: All tests were successful.
D3D7 Test Result: All tests were successful.
D3D8 Test Result: All tests were successful.
D3D9 Test Result: All tests were successful.

Draja
05-25-2006, 06:55 PM
I seem to have fixed it, I took the vsync and flipped it from app control to on.

mrk
06-08-2006, 12:45 AM
I have a similar issue. I managed to get past he BSOD using the vsync (thanks draja), so i only in-game artifact now. Not too big of a deal except that I crash hard when I exit the game. Monitors won't restore the desktop, and I always have to restart the machine.

I'm running 2 7900GT in SLI
2gb Ram
X2 4200+

Thanks is advance for any help.