PDA

View Full Version : The Missing Bit of Korriban


Darth InSidious
05-25-2006, 04:29 PM
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/KotOR0004a.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/KotOR0003a.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/f339ae25.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/KotOR0002c.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/KotOR0001g.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/KotOR0000m.jpg

First question: What was the plot for this area? (If and what we know?)

Second question: What to do about the lightmap/texture problems?

Third question: Who would be interested in helping to put this back in-game?

Darkkender
05-25-2006, 05:05 PM
That looks alot like the main dreshdae base on korriban from K1. Is this pertaining to K2? if so where did you find these resources so that I could take a look. Or if it's k1 what are these titled?

Pavlos
05-25-2006, 05:19 PM
Woah! Darth! How long did it take you to get everything aligned properly in the *.are?! Phew, don't want to think about that. Cool pictures...

I'm going to have a sift through the .TLK file to find anything - I doubt there will be, but it is worth a try. Would you mind uploading the file so that everyone can have a wander around and have a look at the area?

@ Darkkender, that is the cut part of Dreshdae from KotOR I. There are some pictures on Star Wars Knights if you want to have a look. I just can't believe that Darth InSidious has managed to put it back together.

The Source
05-25-2006, 07:16 PM
How does one get to this in game?

Edit::
I keep looking at those pics. They almost look like KotOR II levels. Am I wrong?

I wonder if Obsidian Ent used the original modules from KotOR I, and then just disconnected to stuff they didn't want to use on Korriban. They look pretty cool.

If you lead the way, I would love a chance to contribute to someone elses mod. :)

rictus135
05-26-2006, 03:25 AM
I would be willing to help with dialog and voice overs, as well as .utc and .uti files. However my modding skills are pretty thin otherwise. I have a little bit of experiance with placing things as well.

Pavlos
05-26-2006, 03:32 AM
How does one get to this in game?

Edit::
I keep looking at those pics. They almost look like KotOR II levels. Am I wrong?

I wonder if Obsidian Ent used the original modules from KotOR I, and then just disconnected to stuff they didn't want to use on Korriban. They look pretty cool.

If you lead the way, I would love a chance to contribute to someone elses mod. :)

A while ago Darth InSidious found some models lying around in the game files. They still seemed to have a walkmesh and lightmap. All that remained to do was make a new *.are for the module.

EnderWiggin
05-26-2006, 04:57 AM
Not sure whether you want/need my help, but I would be willing to help with dialogs, characters, items, scripting, reskins, etc. I would not, however, be able to do any modelling whatsoever.

_EW_

Darth InSidious
05-26-2006, 05:34 AM
Um...wow! Thanks for the enthusiastic response, first of all :)

This is for KotOR I, and is the part of Dreshdae in this screenshot (http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/jimspriggs33/shot0012.jpg)

The model names are the m21aa_##a group (where ## is the number in the name, from 01-12).

The .are editing turned out to not be so difficult after all, on closer inspection, and I have now got a roughly working version of this level.

I have run into another problem, though. One room has an incomplete walkmesh, on top of the lightmapping problems in a couple of the rooms, the place is pretty unusable...

First things first, though: How do we fix the lightmaps? I have tried fiddling with the brightness of the dark bits and the darkness of the bright bits, but since I basically am playing around with something I really don't understand...Any suggestions?

Second: The room with incomplete walkmesh: We could just fill it with junk up to the point that the walkmesh is, or try and reuse the walkmesh from a similar room next door...I'm going to experiment with that later.

Third: What do we do about plot for this area? I'd like, if possible, to stick to the original as much as we can, but the only thing I know about it is that it's guarded by assassin droids and that there is a console in a room off the entrance chamber. I'm gonna check for threads on the subject at the bioware forums...If not, I assume we shall devise a plot.

As far as I know, you have to steal something from the head honcho's office, which is protected by a forcefield...Or that's what the room design seems to suggest. Deactivating the forcefield, however, requires you to run around finding computers and shooting droids...I'm guessing, anyway. Check back with you on that one.

My instinct is that there should be a couple of Sith artefacts lying about - ready to be shipped off to wherever they get shipped off to.

Pavlos
05-26-2006, 07:52 AM
I'd post a question on BioWare if I were you. They answered questions about Sleheyron, so I can't see why they wouldn't about this.

Walkmesh issues: Fiddle with it, and if it cannot be fixed then block off the room with an unopenable door.

Edit: And can you please post the module file you have created for it? I want to have a look around.

Arįtoeldar
05-26-2006, 10:54 AM
Looks great Darth InSidious. I'll be patiently waiting to see what you do with it. :drool:

The Source
05-26-2006, 12:59 PM
"My instinct is that there should be a couple of Sith artefacts lying about - ready to be shipped off to wherever they get shipped off to."
I agree. Something that will make the non-walkable rooms feel like they are not a mistake.

I will reinstall my KotOR I tonight, and take a peak around. Could you make your .are file available, so we are all on the same page?

Edit: Add -
I could not find the module m21aa_##a anywhere. I tried to warp there, and I looked in the KotOR Tool, but I could not find any module with that name. Could I be missing something?

Edit: Add -
Nevermind, I found the level. There is only room that I cannot walk into. All the other rooms work fine. Czerka logos are everywhere. At the moment, I don't know how to get rid of that problem. Everything seems to be lighting up fine.

Darth InSidious
05-26-2006, 06:25 PM
Really? On mine it comes out all odd, particularly the end room.

The model names are m21aa - the module seems to have never been compiled.

Re the idea of replacing walkmeshes, I tried it and it didn't work, so I think we'll have to scrap that idea, and find something to fill that one room you can't walk fully into.

@Pavlos: I'm gonna sign up tonight and ask.

edit: I can't sign up it seems due to my #!"$£%:L£"T^ browser not accepting cookies no matter what I do...

The Source
05-26-2006, 07:17 PM
Really? On mine it comes out all odd, particularly the end room.

The model names are m21aa - the module seems to have never been compiled.

Re the idea of replacing walkmeshes, I tried it and it didn't work, so I think we'll have to scrap that idea, and find something to fill that one room you can't walk fully into.

@Pavlos: I'm gonna sign up tonight and ask.

edit: I can't sign up it seems due to my #!"$£%:L£"T^ browser not accepting cookies no matter what I do...
Are you tallking about the computer console room?

I had no problem in converting Korr_m31aa's modules to Korr_m21aa. Did you add all the room lables into the .are file?

Darth InSidious
05-27-2006, 09:00 AM
Yes, but I meant the lightmaps. The m21aa lightmaps all come out odd in the rooms at either end of the module in the one I did. See the penultimate shot in my first post...

The Source
05-27-2006, 02:14 PM
I also noticed that some of the level is not stitched together 100%. In some of the corners, you can see the outside of the module.

If you don't moned these issue, do you think it will be worth pulling together a new mod? We can attatch the level to the door that is not in use on Korriban. I like the design of the level.

Darth InSidious
05-27-2006, 02:28 PM
I haven't had any problems with seeing outside the module, myself, but I do have problems with lightmaps. Would you mind posting a couple of screenshots, particularly of the big octagonal foyer with the glass Czerka sign in the middle?

I think we could make a go of it, and it'd be worth doing if it added something to the game, in my opinion. Maybe you could meet an alternative to Juhani (if you kill her) there?

rictus135
05-27-2006, 03:23 PM
Is this a czerka or sith area? thats the big question. If it is a sith area, you could meet a sith in there who could join up with you, but if it's czerka, your options are far less interesting (imo) even if they are more diverse.

Here is one idea:
How about a sith who found a sith holocron/holobook in the ruins, and you need to find a way to decipher it. If you bring her (it has to be a her) the tablet Jorak Uln (the former headmaster) had, she will agree to help you steal the holocron. Using the tablet, she is gradually able to dicipher it and teach you sith powers. These could be the class powers from Jedi Consular or Sentinel, or extra attributes like str, con, etc.
It fits in quite well with the rest of the level i think. here is the description from the sith tablet:
This thick stone tablet is covered with ancient runes of an unknown language. It is extremely cold to the touch and has almost a sinister aura about it.
Recently carved into the side of the tablet appears to be a primer... no doubt intended to provide a means to translate the runes.

Darth InSidious
05-27-2006, 04:34 PM
It's definitely Czerka. First of all it's offices, computer rooms and storage rooms, and secondly there are Czerka signs everywhere...