PDA

View Full Version : Editing a Merchant's Inventory


Stormzarel
06-26-2006, 07:08 PM
Hi, I'm relatively new here (I signed up a while ago, but I haven't posted until now), and I'm currently working on a small mod that adds a new Jedi robe to the game. I'm putting it in two locations, inside the footlocker in the Player Character's room on the Harbinger (which I've already accomplished), and for sale from Dendis Dobo (the more moral of the two merchants in the Entertainment area of Citadel Station). I put the robe in the inventory of the store using Kotor Tool, though for some reason, when I play the game, the robe doesn't show up in his inventory!
So, is there anything I'm doing wrong?

Mono_Giganto
06-26-2006, 07:44 PM
Have you spoken to the merchant at all during the save your testing your mod with? Merchants' inventories are loaded the first time you speak with them, not the first time you access their shop. If you've already spoken to him, you'll need a save where you haven't spoken to him yet.

Stormzarel
06-26-2006, 08:10 PM
Well, I've tried that, but the item still doesn't show up in the inventory. Is there anything else that needs to be taken into account to make the new inventory appear?

Jackel
06-26-2006, 09:56 PM
A basic question I am sure you have already done .. have you got the merchants utm file in your override folder?

Stormzarel
06-26-2006, 11:22 PM
Yes, it's in the Override folder. In fact, I've reviewed the file a dozen times from the Override folder.

Well, thanks for the help, anyways, but I've decided to release my mod without the edited merchant anyway, since I can't really figure out how to get it to work out. Thanks, anyways.

RedHawke
06-26-2006, 11:34 PM
I have had some merchant files load only when you enter a level/module the first time, so try a save from before you enter the area the first time.

Admittedly this was with KotOR I, so I haven't tried this in TSL with the random item function... this randomised items for the merchants possibly could be what is interfereing with your edit here, your edit might be good just the item isn't appearing.

Just my guesses. ;)

stoffe
06-27-2006, 06:33 AM
I have had some merchant files load only when you enter a level/module the first time, so try a save from before you enter the area the first time.

Admittedly this was with KotOR I, so I haven't tried this in TSL with the random item function... this randomised items for the merchants possibly could be what is interfereing with your edit here, your edit might be good just the item isn't appearing.


Stores that are pre-placed in the area (like other objects placed in the area GIT file) are first spawned into the game world the first time the player enters the area where they are located from the UTM file. After that the UTM file is not used any more, since the instance in the save game is used instead.

The Random loot system is just a script that adds more items to an existing store object, which is usually done the first time you talk to the merchant who uses the store.

So, if you add an item to the inventory of an UTM template, the item will only show up if you haven't already entered the area where the store is placed.

Yoda121
06-27-2006, 07:11 AM
Try add the robe with KSE. :)

Jackel
06-28-2006, 03:17 AM
Try add the robe with KSE. :)
UNfortunately this wont help. While a good idea if he was trying to get it in his own inventory what he is trying to do is make sure it spawns in the inventory of a merchant.