PDA

View Full Version : Create a new head!


STARWARSKOTOR2
07-02-2006, 09:06 AM
can someone write or direct me to a tutorial on how to make a new character head for kotor 1! someone please help!

Arátoeldar
07-02-2006, 09:55 AM
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=149992

EnderWiggin
07-02-2006, 11:17 AM
Please check the tutorial forums before you post asking for a tutorial.

The tutorial forums are clearly marked with Tables of Contents at the top of Holowan Labs.

This tutorial that Arátoeldar directed you to was the same one I was going to.

_EW_

STARWARSKOTOR2
07-02-2006, 02:31 PM
these are to do with kotor 2 not kotor 1!

Darkkender
07-02-2006, 02:34 PM
As said in the tutorial it works in K1 as well. I was using K2 as that was the game being most modded at the time. But all of the processes work fine in K1.

STARWARSKOTOR2
07-02-2006, 03:28 PM
i followed the tutorial and the head doesnt work!

Kainzorus Prime
07-02-2006, 03:40 PM
Then maybe you post what you did step-by-step.

'IT DOESNT WORK!!1111!!ONE11!!' doesnt really help to determine your problem.

Princess Artemis
07-02-2006, 03:43 PM
What exactly did you do? The only thing I can see in the tutorial that would cause problems for K1 is renaming modela, texa, modelb, and texb because there aren't TSF in K1, not sure about the first though. Find other in-K1 names to give those.

It's also possible that the line numbering didn't work because there are fewer lines in K1. When you edit the .2das and add rows, number them ascending from the last number listed. So if the last number was 20, renumber the new row 21.

EnderWiggin
07-02-2006, 06:20 PM
these are to do with kotor 2 not kotor 1!

But since your request was one line, and not detailed, we had no idea. It just so happens that we were right anyway. Go figure.

:rolleyes:

_EW_

STARWARSKOTOR2
07-03-2006, 07:20 AM
i studied each step before doing it! when i finished i selected the head, the picture was a white box but i had created the picture and renamed it to the specific head, the character selection screen only showed the body/shouldes with a invisible head and the same happened in game(invisible head)!

Darkkender
07-03-2006, 10:54 AM
the characters portrait file must be exactley 128x128 in dimensions any other dimensions and it likely will not show up. As to the invisible head this has been known to happen in K1 with some heads. Other heads work fine with the method used in the tutorial. sometimes this to is caused by the tga file not having the proper dimensions. When this happens the game will make the head invisible. The dimensions of the head tga file should be 512x512 if I recall properly. If the dimensions are off then you will have an invisible head. Also some of the K1 head models require you to edit the mdl file to point directly to the texture file. Use mdlops renamer function and look for references that match exactley with the old heads texture name. Then rename the references to the new texture name.

STARWARSKOTOR2
07-03-2006, 01:53 PM
i have done everything you say and still the head wont show up!

Niwram
07-12-2006, 12:59 PM
Are there any other ways to make a new head? Something less advanced?

Kainzorus Prime
07-12-2006, 01:02 PM
Less advanced? Darkkenders tutorial gives the most basic and easiest way of creating PC's.

Darkkender
07-12-2006, 04:38 PM
Are there any other ways to make a new head? Something less advanced?

The simple answer is no. Creating heads and appearances that are unique and don't overwrite existing heads and appearances are a advanced modding subject. If you just want a new skin for your favorite PC or NPC then all you do is retexture the texture file.

Here is a basic breakdown of modding skill level for different types of mods.

Basic/Beginner level:
Changing Item "UTI" files to have extra capabilities or creating a new item using existing resources.
Retexturing skins and items.
Changing stats for a creature or NPC "UTC" files.

Moderate/Intermediate level:
Dialogs
Creating new simple characters & monsters.
Creating new 2da entries and referencing them. Such as new heads and appearances.
some scripting(simple scripts)

Advanced/Expert Level:
New areas
Indepth Characters and recruits.
Larger scale scripts.
creating new models.
editing existing models.

Some of the above could be reclassified depending on the persons own skill level. The above is reference guide is for somebody who has never done anything relating to modding ever.

Mono_Giganto
07-13-2006, 10:16 AM
Are there any other ways to make a new head? Something less advanced?

They would've given it to you already if there was. DarkKender's thread was recommended because it is the simplest walkthrough you're going to find.

EnderWiggin
07-13-2006, 12:23 PM
~snip~

Second of all, I did want to say that the chart-type thing that DK wrote can be interpreted in different ways, and that it won't be like that for all modders. Basically, results may vary.

_EW_

took care of the spam post.. edited yours so ppl don't think you're crazy.. hehehe ;) ~ ChAiNz.2da