PDA

View Full Version : Scripting in the editor


Telephius
08-03-2001, 12:59 AM
I have AOE and played the AOE2 demo and I am guessing they are virtually the same AI concept. The thing I like about the AOE games is that they have to find you before they know where you are and there is less AI cheating isn't there? anyways I use the AOE editor and it doesn't have the scripting of StarCraft will SWGB programmers add in more scripting options?

Paragon_Leon
08-03-2001, 05:54 AM
Telephius,

welcome..

i don't think they'll 'upgrade' the scripting, but will go with what they have.

AOK does cheat, however.. AI-players get free resources from time to time. that's how they get those fast age-times in higher difficulty levels.

Tie Guy
08-03-2001, 02:12 PM
Well, i don't know about AOK specifically, but most games do cheat. I know that in RA2 i can watch an enemy base pump out troops every 3 or 4 seconds, when it takes more like 10 or 15 to make one. They also seem to have unlimited resources, even when i destroy all their harvesters and steal from them.

Compa_Mighty
08-03-2001, 02:18 PM
AoK AI only cheats on Hardest. Believe me I've seen the scripts.

I think that's great, because you have more chances to win, if the AI doesn't cheat.

DarthTenor
08-03-2001, 07:59 PM
Only thing really is that AOK AI is OK. Not the best if you're interested playing online against real opponents. I only wish that AI could at least attack in larger forces; rather than a group of twelve or eight units attacking. Another thing the AI doesn't realy know how to retreat. I just laugh when the AI brings in an attack force, goes buy a castle (who is firing at them) and lose half their number when they reach their destination. It's also funny to see them continually attack a Town Center with melee units and lose half of them as well. If only they can actually make the AI attack specific buildings. Such as lumber/mining camps and important buildings with the right kind of unit balance (siege for buildings) supported by pikes and arbalests. Of course we are talking about SW equivalant. Maybe we will be surprised. Who knows.


:atat:

Compa_Mighty
08-03-2001, 08:49 PM
Oh, that could be done. Let's see if LEC does it.

Darth_Rommel
08-03-2001, 10:50 PM
The AI was pretty bad, I agree. Try a 1 vs. 1 match the computer is a bit better then, I find. ;)

Telephius
08-03-2001, 11:54 PM
Emperor: Battle for Dunes AI is ok but where it take vantage points it doesn't conserve its units all the time to make a mass army and some times trickles small units into a defnsive line. The one thing I like about it is they will actually try to airlift units in the middle of the base even though it usually get detroyed by AA or when it lands the unit I have a good anti vehicle group waiting.

Garry_M_Gaber
08-20-2001, 11:35 PM
As far as "Scripting in the editor," we have made definite improvements to the AI, as well as supporting our new units and strategies, particularly Air, Power and Shield Generators. And yes, you can script in the editor. This opens up many possibilities for scenarios that you can create.

Garry M. Gaber
Director - Star Wars Galactic Battlegrounds