PDA

View Full Version : BIG Mod for Kotor 2


SithRevan
07-03-2006, 08:51 PM
I had this idea just a few days ago and I wasn't able to put out a post on it till just now I propose a huge mod, like new planets for kotor 2 and bring back some old ones from kotor 1 then mod some of the story line to fit the game so it all runs smoothly, the only thing is that I am kinda new at this but I am learning quickly, the point is that I would need some help if anybody is interested.

-SithRevan

RedHawke
07-04-2006, 12:52 AM
like new planets for kotor 2 and bring back some old ones from kotor 1 then mod some of the story line to fit the game so it all runs smoothly
Well, we cannot port things between the games (due to legal issues) and we cannot make levels from scratch either. (Yet! ;) )

So seeing the planets from Kotor I in TSL that are not already present is not going to happen.

I know this isn't what you likely wanted to hear, sorry about that, but we do not have any sort of official support for modding these games, so we have limitations on what we can do. :(

jencatti
07-04-2006, 01:04 AM
and we cannot make levels from scratch either. (Yet! ;) )
No you can't really make levels from scratch, but there is a team thats trying to restore and remake the droid planet that was supposed to be in the game, and another that is restoring the game to what it was supposed to be... i cant wait till it gets finished.

btw redhawke im a huge fan of your work and you are the reason i started modding.:roleyess:

SithRevan
07-04-2006, 01:29 AM
I know it's not in our legal right to do this but what if we got so sort of permissions to do so, or maybe just tried to make the levels from scratch with sort of a twist?

RedHawke
07-04-2006, 03:06 AM
I know it's not in our legal right to do this but what if we got so sort of permissions to do so, or maybe just tried to make the levels from scratch with sort of a twist?
There will be no 'permissions' from LA, Bioware, or OE to do this... trust me. ;)

Lit Ridl
07-04-2006, 03:56 AM
No you can't really make levels from scratch, but there is a team thats trying to restore and remake the droid planet that was supposed to be in the game, and another that is restoring the game to what it was supposed to be... i cant wait till it gets finished.

btw redhawke im a huge fan of your work and you are the reason i started modding.:roleyess:
Maps, models, walkmeshes and layouts for droid planets are already in game, they just try to restore storyline (triggers, cameras, scripts, dialogs, etc.). They are no modeling.
About new level creation: I tried several times to create new areas, they didn't worked.

Darkkender
07-04-2006, 01:12 PM
I have started to meet with limited success of recompiling area models that have had Vert coords moved. Now if I can figure out NWMax's WOK walkmesh import feature I might be able to put together some basic instructions. There will still be issues with ingame textures though.

Pavlos
07-04-2006, 01:28 PM
Sounds like good news, Darkkender. :). Hopefully your tool (When finished) will allow us some limited editing of areas.

Darth InSidious
07-04-2006, 01:31 PM
^Not to mention the dreaded lightmaps...

Darkkender
07-04-2006, 01:34 PM
Actually this was a backdoor I discovered with the original mdlops 0-6alpha4 release. As far as vert coords being moved and being able to recompile back a couple of area models. It's kinda neat raising the floor of Goto's Yacht to have a platform and then walking through the platform and seeing just your upperbody. It's also neat coming around the corner in the module where that model links up to and seeing just space there untill you walk into the models area itself.

As for my editor I keep coming up with features I want to include. Such as a 3ds model preview feature, A vert coord replacer function like Taina's tool, or the actual ability to Hex edit the model right from the tool itself instead of using a seperate hex editor. Of course I overestimated my ability to translate Perl to C++ when it comes to creatiing structures and the different ways you can handle this in Perl.

Pavlos
07-04-2006, 01:45 PM
Have you thought of contacting Chuck himself? He was, after all, the original creator and he may be able to help you in the construction of your uber tool.

Darkkender
07-04-2006, 02:03 PM
I'm actually trying to force myself to learn C++ and Perl better by doing it myself as too frequently In the recent past I've asked for help on things and have only remained ignorant. So my best medicine is to force feed myself the knowledge.

However Chuck is on my contact list once I complete the project for a confirmation of permission before release. Even though the GPL would allow me to do so it would be bad form. Not to mention I might shoot him the first copy to see what he has to say about it.

Pavlos
07-04-2006, 02:07 PM
Well, I hope you succeed, as it seems that your tool is going to be pretty powerful :). I understand about doing things yourself - I tend to do that too... sure it's harder but you do learn a lot in the process.

SithRevan
07-04-2006, 02:59 PM
I just kinda wanted to see a huge good looking mod for the kotor series out there thats all, but think about it, it would be pretty cool to see all of those world after the sith bombed them, but I guess that will never happen.

Torthane
07-06-2006, 12:52 PM
I am working on an extra content mod right now. It won't have any new planets but it will change GOTO into a humanoid andrioid with multiple personalities and a different (less annoying) voice. I will also add in a bunch more bounty hunters (more comedy and fighting) and some more sith hunting you down (more chances to get light/dark points and maybe some influence with party members). It will also include a mod that changes the music (it's legal, I got premission from the composer.) Anyway I hope it will extend the gameplay a bit more and add back a little of the KOTOR charm. I thought the sith lords was perhaps a bit too dark.

SithRevan
07-06-2006, 07:42 PM
Well that seems like it's going to be very good so I wish the best of luck to you and I will help if you need any.