PDA

View Full Version : [Kotor 1] New Head model issue


tygaran
07-10-2006, 08:48 PM
Greetigns all. I'm getting close to releasing a Kotor 1 Head mod (5 new selecable female heads). Everything's been going well, but i hit a snag/bug.

For the 5th head, I choose to modify the original Asian Female 01 head; making her more caucasion and with blue eyes. I also added the four Dark Side transition textures (changing hair and eye colors only).

Now, the Dark Side textures work just fine. The problem, however, is that the lightside (base) texture is defaulting back to the original Asian Female 01 texture. I've double and triple checked that my new texture is in place, so there must be somthing inside the .mdl or .mdx files I copied from the pfha01 versions.

Using Kotor Tool, I can see the there are several references inside the ascii version of the mdl which reference PFHA01. I've tried simply editting these references to my texture name and using the gui of mdlops v0.5 to recreate the binary files.

This only works to a point. It does use the new texture, but there must be an error in processing the section where hair falls over her right eye. In-game her hair in that area is a kind of "explosion" effect, radiating rather far outward in all directions.

Is there a newer version of mdlops ? The mdlops.exe included with Kotor Tool seems to be command line driven (and the Kotor Tool readme says it's version 0.5 anyway).

Any help appreciated!

oldflash
07-11-2006, 04:01 AM
Hint: for heads use "taina's replacer tool" (http://www.pcgamemods.com/mod/11335.html). Instruction for how to use are in read-me.txt
Good luck.

mjpb3
07-11-2006, 01:54 PM
Did you hex edit the model files?

Darkkender
07-11-2006, 02:07 PM
Hint: for heads use "taina's replacer tool" (http://www.pcgamemods.com/mod/11335.html). Instruction for how to use are in read-me.txt
Good luck.

Actually to resolve his issues in this case Oldflash he needs to use a hexeditor or the Renamer function in mdlops. The renamer function would be the prefered method as your less likely to mess things up by renaming something that is not a texture reference. In K1 unlike K2 many of the head models require you to edit the mdl files directly to point a new texture at them.

So fire up mdlops. Make sure that the K1 button up top is in the down position. Find your binary model and click the read model button. we don't need to read write as when you read the model in and then click the renamer button it will retrieve the binary model data. With the renamer screen you will see a list of all of the texture files that the model references. Find the ones that match the main head texture file and rename it to your new texture name. Then click write model. Mdlops will create new binary models so that they won't overwrite your existing model files. Now simply rename your model files to match the texture files like you would in the creating new appearances tutorial and your set.

The Source
07-11-2006, 03:42 PM
Actually to resolve his issues in this case Oldflash he needs to use a hexeditor or the Renamer function in mdlops. The renamer function would be the prefered method as your less likely to mess things up by renaming something that is not a texture reference. In K1 unlike K2 many of the head models require you to edit the mdl files directly to point a new texture at them.

So fire up mdlops. Make sure that the K1 button up top is in the down position. Find your binary model and click the read model button. we don't need to read write as when you read the model in and then click the renamer button it will retrieve the binary model data. With the renamer screen you will see a list of all of the texture files that the model references. Find the ones that match the main head texture file and rename it to your new texture name. Then click write model. Mdlops will create new binary models so that they won't overwrite your existing model files. Now simply rename your model files to match the texture files like you would in the creating new appearances tutorial and your set.
I thought I was missing something. I couldn't figure out why the new head texture I made was not working. Damit!

It pays to read. Lol...

tygaran
07-11-2006, 04:59 PM
Thanks for the advice. You know, that's just the process I did, using mdlops's renamer function. When I do, however, it may use the new texture but it ends up glitched; with large planes of black sticking in the head like the corner of a building. Weird.

Then I tried Hex editting like was mentioned. First try didnt work, but then I figured that might have been because the name I was using for the new texture was longer than the original. Trying that crashed the game.

So, I changed my new texture to have a filename of the same length, used hex edit, and that worked! :clap2:

Thanks all for the advice. Now, a few more tweaks and I can release.

By the way, I'll be using TSLPatcher for installing. Is there a sort of standard info text I should include in the readme file about how to use that and any acknowledgements I should make?

Thanks again.

Darkkender
07-11-2006, 05:18 PM
I thought I was missing something. I couldn't figure out why the new head texture I made was not working. Damit!

It pays to read. Lol...

The problem with K1 heads is sometimes my tutorial on appearances works exactley how I wrote it other times it doesn't. I have yet to figure that one out. Thats why My tutorial I note that it works with K1 with some exceptions.

The Source
07-12-2006, 07:05 PM
I added an entry to heads.2da and appearance.2da. After I did that, I changed the texture names. I couldn't figure out why the newtextures were not picking up. Gr...

Do I need 3D-Max to use mdlops? Or can I make the necessary changes without the program?

Jackel
07-12-2006, 08:13 PM
Shouldn't need 3d-max or g-max to use mdlops. Should just be able to open the head mdl and change the texture names to your new ones (aslong as they are the same length so nothing funny happens).