PDA

View Full Version : Carth would be a great Rodian.


¥ameon
07-13-2006, 08:37 PM
Good evening all.

I have a question as to how doest one change the
apearance of a Party member ... lets say i wanted
to make Carth apear as a Rodian
(And possibly eaven speaking Rodian as well*)

I tryed to change his Apearance in [KT] and save
to Override but Rodian Carth never show's up.

*If he would be speaking in Rodian
(I'E changing his sound set) could i still keep his
Dialouge Tree intact and will it be dubbed in Rodian ?

Havent found any tutorial covering this yet ...

Thanks in advance for any information.
Keep up the good work all.

Fiestainabox
07-14-2006, 09:24 AM
Just open up Carths .Utc file in Kotor Tool, its under .Bifs-templates-Charecter-p_carth.utc (I actually don't have Kotor Tool on things computer, so I'm doing this from memory.) they're should be a drop down menu labelled appearance, change that too one of the Rodarian appearances. Sound set is in they're two, I believe under advanced. Change it to Rodarian.

To change his in game voice, open up Carths Dialog under Bifs-Template.Bif-Dialog-And change All of the sounds played when Carth says something, to The Rodarian sound. But I wouldn't suggest it, since it would be one Long boring adventure.

Also, I believe there's a .2da called Alienvo.2da that has a list of all of the voice overs and what to put for them. Its quite handy.

¥ameon
07-14-2006, 11:35 PM
Thanks for the Reply:

I did change his apearance in the Bif/Template/Character/p_Carth.utc folder
and saved the new p_carth.utc to OverRide... seemed like an easy enough
operation ... if not for the fact that Rodian Carth refuses to show up .. same
for when i change his sound under advanced .. hmmm.

Im no stranger to long and boring adventures as long as progress is made ...
it's the being stuck part's that get's to me ha ha .. thank's for the info on
the dialouge ... will have to dig in to that as soon as i can get Rodian Carth
to show up for work.

EnderWiggin
07-15-2006, 06:10 AM
Thanks for the Reply:

I did change his apearance in the Bif/Template/Character/p_Carth.utc folder
and saved the new p_carth.utc to OverRide... seemed like an easy enough
operation ... if not for the fact that Rodian Carth refuses to show up .. same
for when i change his sound under advanced .. hmmm.

Im no stranger to long and boring adventures as long as progress is made ...
it's the being stuck part's that get's to me ha ha .. thank's for the info on
the dialouge ... will have to dig in to that as soon as i can get Rodian Carth
to show up for work.

The file you edited was Carth's blueprint. It is the file that the game uses to create Carth when you first see him in the game. If you edit the blueprint, but the game has already spawned Carth, the changes will not take effect. Try starting a new game.

_EW_

Kha
07-15-2006, 07:38 AM
Well if you do change Carth's appearance, don't forget to change Dustil too. :D

¥ameon
07-19-2006, 01:17 PM
Yes .. starting a new game yes .... did that ... Rodian Cart
still refuse to show up for work.

Yes .. Dustil ... I envision that Dustil was allways meant to
be a great ... Jawa ^^

Princess Artemis
07-19-2006, 02:03 PM
In K1, a quick search for "carth" in .utcs with Kotor Tool turned up 15 Carths. I know the one on the Endar Spire isn't the same as the one in your party, which, IIRC, is spawned on Taris--I was recently messing with p_carth.utc and he only showed up the way I expected on Taris. If you didn't go through to Taris, your Rodian Carth wouldn't show up. If you did go until you could get him in the party, I don't know why he wouldn't show up as a Rodian. Just...don't expect him to always show up as a Rodian unless you change his appearance.2da row, not with 15 Carths running around, and some with the same .utc filename.

Edit: He might show up just his clothes, too, since Rodians don't have any models or textures set in any row but 'unclothed'. If you want all instances of Carth to always look like a Rodian, look at the appearance.2da row for a Rodian, and change in Carth's .2da row all the modela, texa - modelj, texj to N_Rodian. You'll probably have to change racetex to a specific kind of Rodian (N_Rodian02, for example) so that the game knows which color of Rodian to make him. You also might have to change his race to N_Rodian.

There are other columns you might have to change, too if what I just mentioned doesn't work--compare the Rodian row to Carth's row, and what's different other than label, change it to what's in the Rodian row (except you'll have to add all the model and tex I just mentioned.) Then change his .utc back so he's using his own appearance. Just that now, his appearance will be Rodian.

That should get him to look like a Rodian all the time.

¥ameon
07-19-2006, 05:08 PM
A thousand thanks .... will try this out. ^^

[If it dosent work ... i will turn him into an Ronto Grrr]