PDA

View Full Version : Simplifying Galactic Conquest


IonFizzle07
07-15-2006, 03:28 AM
Hey all.

My rig is as follows:
P4 Northwood @ 2.8Ghz
1024MB PC2100 DDR
Geforce 6600 GT 128MB

Obviously not a cutting-edge rig, and obviously somewhat slow, but even on all settings lowest the Galactic Conquest map CRAWLS. Is there any way to streamline that, or smooth it by modding, by making the map less aesthetically appealing or something?

popcorn2008
07-15-2006, 09:08 AM
This is without a modded game? You shouldnt be running into any problems... What are your graphic details set on?

>> Moved to Tech Support

srr
07-15-2006, 12:01 PM
You can turn up the Galactic speed in game options, then days are faster and you get $ quicker.

srr
07-15-2006, 12:09 PM
You are talking about the pace of the game being slow, or poor framerates/graphics issues?

MDN14
07-15-2006, 02:58 PM
probably poor framerates. I have:

Athlon 3700+ at 2.2 GHz
1gig of dual channel PC3200 RAM with 2-2-2-5 timings
GeForce 7800GTX

and in space battles my game will even sometimes get quite bad framerates. I like playing with 6 players, and maybe we just have WAY too many ships out or something, but when I start attacking their station the game lags up ALOT. I have experienced a small bit of slowdown in GC when I have everything set to high settings. So in my opinion the game does need to be fixed in this area somehow.

DarthMaulUK
07-15-2006, 04:13 PM
Read through this thread first - http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=155333

When the galactic map does go down to a crawl, its mainly due to the movement of units in space. The AI builds stupid amounts of units sometimes, just to send between planets.

DMUK