PDA

View Full Version : Indigenous Affiliations?


redfox34
07-16-2006, 12:25 AM
I have looked through the XML files but I have not found a way to change the affiliations of the indigenous forces. Can anyone tell me how to change which side controls the indigenous forces on a planet?

redfox34
07-17-2006, 01:51 AM
Bump

redfox34
07-18-2006, 11:05 AM
I won't bump this topic again, because I don't want to be a pest, but doesn't anyone know how to solve this issue? I am trying to make a mod where you play as the pirates in place of the rebels, and I need to change the rebel relationship to some of the indigenous troops like Ewoks and Bothans to help make it more accurate.

Mike.nl
07-18-2006, 12:50 PM
There is of course the <Affiliation> tag in GroundIndigenous.xml.

However, it does not seem to do a lot. At least, not in GC mode.
As an experiment, I switched Jawa_Scout from Rebel to Empire and invaded Tatooine as the Empire. The Jawa's were still on the Rebels' side.

I then opened the map _LAND_PLANET_TATOOINE_02.TED in the editor, changed the owner of the Jawa vehicle from Rebellion to Empire and removed the modified GroundIndigenous.xml. Now the Jawa's were on my side, despite the Rebel affiliation in the XML.

So my guess is when you play a land map, indigenous units are affiliated with the faction that owns their spawn building.

So what use is the <Affiliation> tag you ask? I don't know, but if I had to guess I'd say it's there so the GC AI can determine what side indigenous units belong to without actually opening the map.
For example, in Planets.xml, for Tatooine, it says:
<Potential_Indigenous_Power>Jawa_Scout, 50</Potential_Indigenous_Power>
<Potential_Indigenous_Power>Desert_Civilian_A, 200</Potential_Indigenous_Power>
<Potential_Indigenous_Power>Rancor, 1000</Potential_Indigenous_Power>
<Potential_Indigenous_Power>Sand_Person_Sniper_A, 50</Potential_Indigenous_Power>
The AI can then look up those units' affiliations and properly calculate how much of a help (or nuisance) they're going to be. Which could influence the decision to invade or not.

redfox34
07-18-2006, 01:56 PM
Thanks a bunch, that helps a lot. Now I should be able to fix those planets up! =)

jedi7000nathan
07-18-2006, 02:16 PM
good idea now ryloth's twi'lek will be allied with some side

redfox34
07-20-2006, 07:44 PM
Hey, I now have one last problem before I can finish playtesting the campaign: Chewbacca can't hijack Rebel vehicles, and for this campaign it would help if he could. I tried making a captured clone, but it doesn't work. Is there some piece of code I am missing to allow him to hijack, say a T-2B?

usul
07-20-2006, 08:24 PM
for the chewie thing you need to make special chewie captured versions, and add a behaviour that it can be captured. And new icons.

PoiuyWired
07-30-2006, 08:28 PM
Any idea how to make a Rancor Healable?

Right now for some reason Friendly Rancors can't be healed by becta nor can they be repaired?

ImpElite
07-30-2006, 09:17 PM
Any idea how to make a Rancor Healable?

Right now for some reason Friendly Rancors can't be healed by becta nor can they be repaired?

If you used Force Corrupt on them then you can't heal them or any corrupted unit.