PDA

View Full Version : Quick question: TemporaryForcePoints effect??


darthrevanrlz
07-22-2006, 08:00 AM
Mmm...

Was working on a consular buff and tried to mimic the Rage/Fury's HP bonus...

EffectTemporaryHitpoints thus became EffectTemporaryForcePoints. And it went downhill from there. :D

For starters, punch in any multiplier value and you get the *triple* of that amount plus the default value of the character's level. Meaning they scale up insanely fast and, you know, WRONG.

Also, recast the thing more than once (with a value other than 0) and you'll start to LOSE the FP, lol. Weirdest thing is you lose an amount equal to your lvl and you can repeat it over and over and... well, you get the pattern.

Oh yeah, and when the buff's over, your FPs drop in the negatives. And if you reactivate it, your FPs get the wrong bonus and instantly fill up to the MAX. :D

Just... W - O - W. :D

Couldn't find any thread discussing this, but oh well...

So... The effect is completely broken beyond all repair, isn't it????

It's not that big a deal since, you know, FPregen bonus work fine.

Still, I was just wondering...


EDIT: Oh, and btw, just so we're clear, this isn't me making scripting mistakes. It's ONE LINE. I tried it with a *0* multiplier value... Seemed to work okay then (FP bonus equal to PC's level), but the catch is that it's the ONLY instance it does so. The second you punch a number or nValue, it gets crazy...


P.S. Oh, and I just can't be bothered about caring weither or not I'm rendering that bloody awful Force Form useless. AS IF we'd ditch dmg/duration for, huh... regeneration. :D

stoffe
07-22-2006, 10:12 AM
EffectTemporaryHitpoints thus became EffectTemporaryForcePoints. And it went downhill from there. :D

EffectTemporaryForcePoints appears to be broken, so very very broken, from what I could see when making force powers. I would not recommend using it, since it potentially may corrupt things (and it is, AFAIK, never used in the standard game).

Like you said, for no obvious reason characters affected by it may end up with several hundred or even thousand negative FP in their force pool, taking them forever to regenerate back up again. I observed some other rather peculiar side-effects from using it as well, if I remember correctly.

If you want to temporarily give a character a boost to force points I'd use Get/SetBonusForcePoints(). It's not an effect so Breach powers won't remove it, but at least it seems to work if used under controlled circumstances. :) (If it's not (like when used on party members outside of combat) its highly exploitable, but I don't think there is any problem-free alternative.)

darthrevanrlz
07-22-2006, 10:38 AM
EffectTemporaryForcePoints appears to be broken, so very very broken, from what I could see when making force powers. I would not recommend using it, since it potentially may corrupt things (and it is, AFAIK, never used in the standard game).

Like you said, for no obvious reason characters affected by it may end up with several hundred or even thousand negative FP in their force pool, taking them forever to regenerate back up again. I observed some other rather peculiar side-effects from using it as well, if I remember correctly.

If you want to temporarily give a character a boost to force points I'd use Get/SetBonusForcePoints(). It's not an effect so Breach powers won't remove it, but at least it seems to work if used under controlled circumstances. :) (If it's not (like when used on party members outside of combat) its highly exploitable, but I don't think there is any problem-free alternative.)

Eh, eh.

So it's not just me... ;)

Let's just say I had a good laugh when testing it. It wasn't an angry "WTF?" that crossed my mind... just a highly AMUSED one... :D

Oh well, as was said in first post, I'll just bite the bullet and go for a FP regen kind of thing...