PDA

View Full Version : KotoR II - Technique to creating a new PC Head ? (reskin copy of an existing head)


PsiKnife
08-01-2006, 04:54 AM
Example:

Let's say I want to change an existing PC head to Anakin Skywalkers but without adjusting poly anchors in a 3D app. Couldn;t I simply find a way to wrap/stretch a custom Photoshop surface (a painted photo of Anakin Skywalker) over that PC's head?

I've looked around at the tutorials, and I'm unclear on the path to take to simply change a PC's face with no modeling or adjusting of the poly's.

I have 3D S Max and Photoshop, I'm noob at 3D, but semi-pro in all things Photoshop.

What steps do I take?

1.Get the head model?

2.open it in 3dsmax

3. import my custom skin/face for the head from photoshop?

4. apply it to that head somehow? - How to make it fit?

5. export back out and throw the new one in the override?

6. how about make a copy of that head model and save it under a new name and adding that instead of overriding?

- These seemingly common questions have been my stonewall for the past few days if anyone can explain the steps involved in making a new character face with minimal to no modeling.

Mav
08-01-2006, 05:17 AM
first of all, I'm kind of surprised you have 3dsmax if you're a noob at modeling, didn't that cost you quite a bit?

Anyway, if all you want to do is reskin an existing head model, all you would need to do is find the model which you want to reskin and then extract the corresponding texture using KotOR Tool. Reskin it to your desire and then plant the new texture file into your override file. That wont make a new head but it will change the texture of whatever model's texture you chose to reskin. If you want to make a new selectable PC head with a custom reskin that is a longer process that requires .2da editing and the like. However, neither process would involve importing a head model into 3dsmax as a mandatory step. The only reason you would need to import a head model into a 3d program, would be if you wanted to edit verts, or if you wanted to see how the texture wraps around the model or if you wanted to view the uvmap.

Hope this helps some.
Mav

PsiKnife
08-01-2006, 05:31 AM
first of all, I'm kind of surprised you have 3dsmax if you're a noob at modeling, didn't that cost you quite a bit?

Anyway, if all you want to do is reskin an existing head model, all you would need to do is find the model which you want to reskin and then extract the corresponding texture using KotOR Tool. Reskin it to your desire and then plant the new texture file into your override file. That wont make a new head but it will change the texture of whatever model's texture you chose to reskin. If you want to make a new selectable PC head with a custom reskin that is a longer process that requires .2da editing and the like. However, neither process would involve importing a head model into 3dsmax as a mandatory step. The only reason you would need to import a head model into a 3d program, would be if you wanted to edit verts, or if you wanted to see how the texture wraps around the model or if you wanted to view the uvmap.

Hope this helps some.
Mav


Well back in my graphics school we had a class using Lightwave, so modeling isn;t totally foreign to me no. I actually did better at that than at animation.

It's just that each app like that has a pretty heavy UI and there is a lot to know before you set out * not like point and click and find your way around in Macromedia MX or Adobe CS2 apps.

The 3DSMax 8 app didn't cost me a dime. But that's for another forum I think.

- That does help volumes yes thanks. It lets me know a bit more of the general options I have.

Are there any step by step tutorials at making a new selectable PC head?

Ie: exact way to find the head file, finding the corresponding texture/skin, and then the 2da editing needed to be done to make it all work?

PsiKnife
08-01-2006, 06:04 AM
Nevermind that last Q. I just found it in the 2da editing section. here:


http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=149992

Thx


-

oldflash
08-01-2006, 08:28 AM
I saw this a little late this thread.
Best way to edit a head model is to use taina's replacer tool and all you need to know about editing model is in read-me.txt file. Using 2da files you can only change heads betwen pc's / npc's. However, you need to know how to edit those 2da files if you want to add a new head (edit existing one and make unique) to the game.
So, good luck and if you need help don't hesitate to ask.