PDA

View Full Version : KotOR1- Shininess to transparency: How with alpha map?


Mr. Chu
08-08-2006, 04:43 PM
Hi, I've searched the forums, serached on google on how to change a model's alpha map from being shiny to transparent, but I haven't found out how.

EG: Shininess occurs on the alpha map where things are less than white, and I want to change a certain model's alpha setting for it to display transparent instead.

Someone help me out here? :)

I got revan's CG robes from a mod, and I wanted to make the cape fully transparent so it was non-existent.

ChAiNz.2da
08-08-2006, 05:11 PM
Depends on what the model's initial shader is to be honest.

While not always.. some models shader is defined in the appearance.2da column "envmap"...

However, since you mentioned Revan's armor, I don't know for sure if it's possible. T7nowhere physically went into the model and cut the cape off entirely for his Revan's Mask+ mod...

Keep in mind, that if you change the envmap setting.. you lose "shinyness" for the entire model.. just not certain areas.. and well, it'll loook goofy depending on what model you change.. :)

Welcome to the Forums! :waive1:

Darth333
08-08-2006, 05:30 PM
Seprithro once made the robes with a transparent cape but unfortunately his site is dead now.

This old post which links to one of svösh's posts may also help you: http://www.lucasforums.com/showpost.php?p=1520773&postcount=2


Btw, you can find t7's mod without the cape here: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=139157

Darkkender
08-08-2006, 05:31 PM
The shiny is produced by the cm_baremetal texture being used in alpha. However if you are using the default envmap texture then when you apply alpha to different areas it will become Transparent. Good examples would be Svosh's Good/Evil Bastilla clothes. If you remove the reference in envmap to cm_magnun and change it to default it will be transparent.

Mr. Chu
08-08-2006, 06:29 PM
Thanks everyone!

you guys you really helped me out here. :)

Mav
08-08-2006, 07:43 PM
I voted impossible, but I think I didn't understand the question :xp:. As far as shininess vs. transparency, I believe you can only have one or another, not both. As in you either apply a shader for some shiny or you can use the alpha with nothing for trasparency, an example I can think of is when svösh made Atris' saber for the USM, he built a model inside a model and made the outside model trasparent with the alpha channel, by doing that he couldn't have any shininess in the model, but it didn't need it ;)

T7nowhere
08-08-2006, 10:14 PM
You would have to make only the cape black on the alpha channel and use "blending punchthrough"in the textures TXI file.

Mr. Chu
08-08-2006, 10:54 PM
>_< I'm very bad at understanding all this, because I just picked up KotOR up yesterday from 2 mod-free years ago. I've made a request thread in the proper forum, if anyone would like to help me. But thanks to all you guys actually replying! :)

Right now I'm trying to cut off Revan's cape by use of alpha channel, but I don't know how to edit the appearance.2da to switch it. I don't see anything in the .2da forum for KotOR 1.

T7nowhere
08-09-2006, 09:39 PM
You don't need to edit the appearance.2da, just make the section of the texture black on the Alpha channel where the cape is mapped. and use blending punchthrough in the txi. The down side to this is that you will have to make the rest of the texture white, if you don't then you will see alot more than the cape gone.

By using this method you will loose the CM_Baremetal shader.

Kainzorus Prime
08-09-2006, 09:44 PM
Could that method be used in reverse, I mean to give shiny effect to something that shows up in game as transparent? I have TSL Master/Knight robe in mind.

T7nowhere
08-09-2006, 09:57 PM
^^^
It should but, I think CM_Baremetal can only be used on the defualt robe variations, as far as I know all tests that tried that with a custom texture varitation just made the model transparent regardless of what you have in the txi.

SO for it to work properly you will have to overwrite a defualt texture var. However its been a long time since I've messed around with this in KotOR, It might be different for TSL.